We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new "go to" place in Middlebury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
On the Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We stayed at On the Creek when we dropped our daughter off at the college. On the Creek is immaculate; tile floors in the bathroom and wood floors are spotless; bathroom has plenty of hooks and the rooms have lamps where you want them with good light for reading. Very comfortable beds and sheets that have the wonderful aroma of being hung out in the sun! If you like dark rooms that are cluttered, this is not the place. Breakfasts were delicious with a focus on fresh fruits and vegees. 15-minute walk to town and less to get to campus. Given its close location, you'd think it would be noisy, but it's not. Both Gary and Zelia are gracious and kind hosts and when asked, provided us with many options on local activities.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at On the Creek Bed & Breakfast this past week. Zelia and Gary were terrific hosts. We arrived after a long drive in the rain and were greeted warmly with and offer of tea and biscuits. Zelia sat down with us and provided information about the area and the Middlebury College. We had a comfortable room in the front of the house and shared a bathroom with 2 other guests. Breakfast was delicious-from the homemade scones to the wonderful coffee. We ate breakfast on the porch and enjoyed conversations with the hosts and other guests. I only wish we could have stayed in this lovely spot for a longer visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2013Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Gary and Zelia are the nicest, most lovely hosts. The breakfasts were A+ and we have high standards from living in Berkeley. Zelia will cook within your dietary prefs and we had three very different but excellent breakfasts. The house is on a quiet lovely street that allows access to downtown via a newly restored covered bridge. The rooms are beautiful, beds very comfortable, and breakfast is served outside on their porch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: the cottage is good for a family but does not include Breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this charming New England home. Gary and Zelia run this lovely B&B which is walking distance to and from Middlebury College. The house itself is comfortable, quiet, and clean. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. Gary and Zelia are very accommodating to their guests in all aspects; especially with any special dietary needs and also what time breakfast is served. The back of the house has a beautiful, picturesque garden that slopes down to Otter Creek - they even have a canoe for guests to use.

Both Gary and Zelia are very friendly and offer good insight to the local attractions including hiking, biking, and all the great local eateries. There are a variety of lodging options around Middlebury, but you really do get a 5 star experience here.

Room Tip: Both rooms are upstairs and furnished the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend On the Creek B&B to anyone who may be visiting Vermont. My husband and I stayed for two nights in early June. We were in town to scope out schools and homes for a planned move to the Middlebury area. Zelia and Gary were extremely helpful resources. They provided lots of great local information that we wouldn’t have gotten if we had stayed in a hotel. The room was bright and airy and we had the bathroom to ourselves as the other guest room was unoccupied. Breakfast was delicious! It was so relaxing to sit on the back porch overlooking the flowerbeds and enjoy the heavenly meal with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly ground coffee. Although we did not have our children with us this seems to be a family-friendly place. The rooms are simply decorated and I would not have to worry about my children knocking over a nick-nacky antique of some sorts. If we are not able to accommodate future houseguests we’ll be recommending On the Creek to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlebury hotels
1.4 km away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
650 reviews
3 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
233 reviews
1.2 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
4.7 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 284 Pulp Mill Bridge Rd, Middlebury, VT 05753-9560
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: $125 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handsome, 1827 brick Federal-style house on Otter Creek with spacious grounds to relax in. 15-20 minute walk to college/town center. Breakfast using fresh, organic ingredients. Self guided bicycle tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
On The Creek Bed & Breakfast Middlebury, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing