We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
518
204
41
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
204
41
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand suite robert frost room mountain room private deck continental breakfast room was clean spa tub mountain view sliding door wood fireplace surrounding mountains restaurants and shopping close to town bagels enjoy the view nice pool short drive
Filter
Updating list...
643 - 648 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I decided last minute to go up to Manchester Vermont with my family and I initially chose the Equinox, however it was sold out. After reading reviews I chose the Manchester View. I called the hotel and spoke to the reservationist and I asked for a room with a view and I was told the room has a fantastic views of the mountains. She told me she worked at the Equinox for years and promised i would love the resort. I arrived late and a key was left at the door of of the office, no staff. The air conditioner was very loud, there was a noticeable odor and the decor was similar to Residence Inn from the 1990's. The next morning we looked out at the windows and there was no view, just a row of trees right outside the window. The TV in the main room had poor reception and sound. I went to the front desk in the morning and asked for another room and they said they were sold out. i told them i was checking out and they told me i still had to pay for the next night. I asked why the individual said there was a view of the mountains and they said if you step out of the room and look to your right you can see the mountains. She then said, next time book earlier. I told her the air conditioner was very loud and she said they all are. I still checked out even thought they were going to charge me $250 for the night. I went to the Wilburton Inn and had house with an unbelievable view, deck, updated furniture and TV. On a positive note, we went to Bromley and my sons and i went on a zip line, and went through the adventure aerial adventure park. The Manchester View staff lacked training and had very poor customer service and to say the least was disingenuous. The hotel is very dated.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjcalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts about The Manchester View from your visit a month ago. We are quite surprised to hear now that our professional staff treated you with anything but the utmost respect, and we apologize that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

There was no staff upon your late arrival since our office is open from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. This is clearly stated in our confirmation letters. Our letter also requests guests call us if they will be arriving after hours, but we did not receive a call from you. As we do in such situations, for your convenience, we thoughtfully placed your key with a map of the property showing the location of your room, with a welcome letter, in an envelope with your last name on it just outside the office door.

We appreciate learning that the air conditioner in your room was noisy. Although the air conditioners cool the rooms very well, we have it in our fiscal plan to replace them with newer models before next summer.

If we hadn’t been full, we would have been able to accommodate a move to another room. The Manchester View can and does fill up to capacity often. Our Grand Suites, the same type of room you stayed in, especially go fast. They are large and comfortable, and receive rave reviews (see the previous review titled “Our go-to in Manchester” as well as other earlier reviews).

We take pride in the fact that we update and upgrade the interiors and exteriors of the entire facility all year long. No, we are not brand-new or just-opened nor do we claim to be; we’ve been open continuously and in business successfully for 36 years under the same management. The Manchester View fits in perfectly in the rural atmosphere of The Green Mountains of Vermont.

We’re glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip and hope you return to Manchester again in the future. Thanks again for your constructive criticism; it’s much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Manchester View is our favorite motel in The Manchester Vermont area! We find the location convenient to restaurants and shopping, yet far enough away to make you feel like your in Vermont....with beautiful grounds and gorgeous views! Over the years we have stayed in various of its rooms and suites. The rooms/suites are all well maintained, spacious and clean, with comfortable beds and bedding. When our children were younger, we often stayed in the 2 bedroom suites which are very spacious and easily accommodate a family of four (our kids...a boy and girl...would alternate who got the second bedroom and who got the sofa bed). I do wish a 2 bedroom suite with twin beds were offered. Our last stay (over this past Labor Day weekend 2012) was in the Grand Suite, which is a one Bedroom suite. It has a spacious living room area with a desk and refrigerator. Sliding doors lead out to a private deck with lovely views. Off the bedroom are pocket doors leading to a two person whirlpool bath and a very large vanity area. A separate door leads into the toilet/shower room...the shower is a large walk-in! I have only a few reasons that I don't give this lodging 5 stars. We do wish they offered a wider array of television channels. They offer a very limited breakfast...cereal or toasted Engish Muffin (it would be nice not to have to go to the busy breakfast spots in town each day). The air conditioners in the Grand Suite are older through the wall unit models...and somewhat noisy. This is not a four or five diamond hotel which you would find in a big city (we come from Long Island, NY and have travelled in the US and Europe) and it is not a quaint B&B, but it is four diamond lodging for this area...very comfortable, spacious and accommodating. The staff are all friendly and efficient as well! Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JZ4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you so very much for making us your “go to” in Manchester! We are honored! We value your opinion since you’ve been coming for so many years, and that you’ve tried different rooms, and have liked them all.

We appreciate your comments about adding TV channels and upgrading the breakfast; these are some of the amenities we think about often, and it’s good to hear what our guests want.

Fall is just around the corner; please come visit us again to enjoy our colorful autumn views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This property is very comfortable and the views are spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Traveling with a friend, we booked a two-bedroom suite for 5 days. The first night, we had to stay in a one-bedroom suite (The Grandma Moses Suite). When we entered the suite, there is a noticeable smell - not sure but kind of a mildewy smell. Knowing what we were paying for the room, I was pretty surprised.

The next day, we moved into the two-bedroom suite and were happy that this room had no smell and was much nicer. The beds were very comfortable, as was the common area. While we were there, the hotel staff had arranged to swap out the couch and chair for new pieces.

We spent one afternoon at the pool, which was nice. The pool area needs some repair work. The carpeting and hallways definitely need to be replaced and refurbished.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gms9855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thanks for your kind words describing your comfortable stay and great views at The Manchester View.

We’re sorry to learn of your experience with The Grandma Moses Suite. We assume you reserved the suite for the first night because the Two-Bedroom Suites were unavailable. The suite hadn’t been occupied for a couple of days, and we’re sorry we didn’t ventilate it prior to your arrival.

We’re glad your stay in the Two-Bedroom Suite was to your liking and that you got to enjoy the pool. We appreciate your input regarding improvements, and take constructive criticism seriously.

Our views are spectacular, with the Green Mountains as the backdrop. Every season of the year brings more and more spectacular landscape to admire. We hope you will return in autumn for the beautiful leaf changing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The GPS directed us to the Manchester View the back way where there is no sign. My heart sank when I saw the series of older style motel buildings and shabby office. We were uplifted when we opened the door to our room. Although the building is old, the 2-queen premium room was spacious. The bedding appeared new and the mattresses were comfortable. The view is outstanding, but I felt the $200 price was a little steep for this establishment. The nearest restaurant is five miles away and there is no food available on the premises.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify "top" floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cms41762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your visit to The Manchester View. Although we have no control over the directions from GPS, we do empathize with your experience. We are actually well-located just off the main road of Route 7A, 1 3/4 miles north from the center of town. Our large signs are on the main road.

We are surprised and disappointed your initial impression of the exterior of The Manchester View was not favorable. We take pride in the constant upkeep of the buildings and grounds. While ours is not brand-new construction, we upgrade and update all year long. As you mentioned, the room was spacious and the bedding and mattress were new. We're glad you enjoyed your room.

Our desk staff could have directed you to restaurants close-by. The closest restaurant to The Manchester View is Nipper's Cafe. It is highly rated on tripadvisor.com, is just a minute down the road, and serves breakfast and dinner. The next closest restaurant is also highly rated - Ye Olde Tavern - and is about a mile down the road towards the center of town. There are other numerous and varied restaurants located within 5 minutes, as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at the Manchester View and loved it. We were in town for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show and the location of this hotel was ideal for us. Very quiet and clean place to stay. The staff is very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for giving us here at The Manchester View the opportunity to host your stay while you were in town. We're so happy to hear you loved your visit; your words of praise for our staff and rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to your visit next year, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews