We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad but not great”

Ludlow Colonial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Two nights in Ludlow, two motels. Both the cheapest places I could find at the last minute. The Colonial was $129.00 (inc tax) I wouldn't call it luxurious but for a cheap place?? It was OK. Please recognize this is in the category of cheap places to stay. If I were comparing it to the 4 Seasons it might a 1. It's 3 because I have stayed at some worse and some better cheap motels. The other motel I tried this weekend was the Happy Trails. The Colonial was cleaner and better maintained, but I don't think it was worth twice the price. Location obviously counted. From the Colonial you can walk to the restaurants. The Happy Trails required a car. My chief complaint was that it's and old wood frame building that has loosened up over the years. The downstairs bedrooms picked up every sound being generated upstairs. Would I stay there again? Sure, but they are at a pretty competitive price point and I might be willing to try someplace else first. Yelp has it listed as a Best Western. I didn't see any sign that they are and I would be surprised if Best Western would accept this level of polish

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

No breakfast as advertised. I woke up to no hot water. As it was 6am, there was no one to call. When I complained about no hot water, hotel staff did not believe me. I followed to maintenance guy to the boiler which had tripped off the night before. There was no apology or reduction in rate. Older property. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mdjkiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here with some friends during the motorcycle rally this past weekend. I was pleasantly surprised with our accommodations and we all agree that we would definitely plan a return trip. What really made our stay outstanding was the graciousness and hospitality of Rob & Tonya Fales. This couple maintains the facility and went over and above to ensure our stay was memorable. They had a fabulous bonfire every evening, set up a wash station for our bikes, and even brought us up to the top of the mountain for a bonus 360 degree amazing view of the area. They certainly went out of their way to make sure we were all happy and content. What a great family, even their daughters made homemade muffins for our breakfast. We are already planning a fall hiking trip with our kids. Thanks so much Rob & Tonya.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frauhmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We where here for 3 nights for a motorcycle rally. This was mot the host hotel. But it served the purpose. Room was clean, plenty of towels. Bathroom older but clean. House keeping very friendly. Front desk friendly as well. Breakfast was your usual, cereal. Waffles. Yougart, toast and muffins. Juice, coffee etc. Only draw back is, office did not open until 8am, and the same for breakfast. You do have a Dunkin Donuts and Cumberland Farms in walking distance. We will stay here again. Also very clean pool.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank catcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Just stayed here while skiing. Room was clean and a good size for twin queen beds. Bathroom was clean as were the towels and linens. The room was booked through Bookings.com which was well priced, and at the time included breakfast. Well, when I checked in I was informed breakfast was not included after March 15....hence the discount. I called Bookings and they confirmed breakfast was included but the owner neglected to inform them and or change the add. I was told to save receipts for breakfast expenses and they would try to get me reimbursed. I will be surprised if that happens. A good hotel manager should have offered us something, or even a discount for another stay. Additionally, there was no binder as told for information for t.v. channels, so that took a while to figure out. Also, wifi was terrible, but did not need to rely on it. Without the above issues I might have added another star, but for now will leave it as average. I might consider staying here again...depending on how things work out.

Room Tip: Double check that breakfast is or isn't included, and do not rely on the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveldog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
3.4 km away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
4.1 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.7 km away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
94 reviews
21.7 km away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
15.2 km away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludlow Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow Colonial Motel

Address: 93 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel)
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $117 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ludlow Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ludlow Colonial Motel! No trip to New England is complete without some skiing, theater and fine dining, which are all easy options from our Ludlow hotel. Visit the Okemo Ski Resort, one of the most beloved skiing destinations in Vermont. During the summer months, a trip to Echo Lake is a must for water recreation, swimming, boating and picnicking. Any time of year is a great time for an event at Weston Theatre or Weston Priory, conveniently close to Ludlow lodging. Whether you’re here to take advantage of the sunshine or visiting us during the winter months for a holiday season our friendly staff makes your stay special. Okemo Valley is home to Fletcher Farm School and the Okemo Mountain Resort. Just a short drive away is Okemo Valley Golf Club, a favorite destination for those looking for a relaxing escape. Whether the Bromley Ski Resort or hiking along the local trails are more your speed, you can enjoy everything this region has to offer when staying at this cozy, charming Ludlow, Vermont hotel. Business travelers in town with Mack Molding, Luzenac, Jeld-Wen® and Okemo Medical Center count on our Ludlow hotel to provide the best service in town. If you’re lucky enough to be here for work, staying at a supremely located property ensures that you can make the most of your down time. With Killington and Stratton Ski Resort 30 miles away, and Woodstock, VT and Manchester, VT drive-able, even a work trip can be a great vacation. Popular towns nearby for tourists make our Ludlow hotel a traveler’s favorite. You can drive to the bigger towns for special events, shopping and dining, but stay at our property to enjoy peace and quiet. We offer 38 deluxe rooms with a microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. A seasonal complimentary breakfast starts your morning off right, complete with hot waffles, sweet pastries, fruits and yogurt complemented with 100% Arabica coffee. Reserve a relaxing stay at Ludlow Colonial Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ludlow Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ludlow Colonial Hotel Ludlow
Best Western Ludlow
Ludlow Best Western
Ludlow Colonial Motel Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing