We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain”
Review of Snowdon Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowdon Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Certificate of Excellence
ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't complain”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This Inn is what it is. It is an older motel in a nice setting. Older does not mean it is not as clean or as comfortable, just that its old, The owner does a great job making it nice for his guests. He takes pride in his Inn and it shows. The price is nice and the location is great. If you need a place to rest and relax on your journey this fits the bill. Don't expect a 5 star, it is not, it is what it is and is good at it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is an older inn. However, it's very clean, the beds are comfortable and the place is cozy. The owner is very welcoming and friendly. The price is great and the location can't be beat for Bromley or probably Stratton Mountain. We had booked one night so we could spend the day at Bromley Mountain for the Alpine Slide. We had friends staying in the area. Breakfast is provided with toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We happened upon the Snowdon Motel as we were passing thru. We really lucked out with this pick. The rooms were so clean, freshly painted, and had such pretty added touches to make you feel right at home. This is a family owned business and believe me when I say you are treated like a VIP during your stay. The owner has an amazing hydroponic greenhouse and graciously gave us a tour. Ours was just a overnight stop on our way to the White Mountains but ended up being a very fond memory and great start to our vacation. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque nm
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I liked everything about it. It was not a chain, it was furnished with cute shabby chic furniture (absolutely NO offense meant with this term, I loved it all!) Not one but TWO rocking chairs in the room. So comfy! I hope to be back! Location was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparkill, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Went for a last minute trip up to VT. Based on TA reviews we stayed at the Snowdon. When we pulled up I thought the outside looked a bit raggy and could use quite a bit of sprucing up and was perplexed by the fine reviews I had read. However, as I got out of the car I was warmly greeted by the manager who throughout our 2 night stay could not have been more accomodating as was the rest of the staff. Upon entering the room I could concur with fellow reviewers that the decor could use a bit of updating but the extreme cleanliness of the room, refrig, micro impressed me. Bed was quite comfortable as well. The only suggestion I would have is that they should replace the pillows as they were rather flat and uncomfortable. So it goes to show you can't judge a book by it's cover.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itinerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
14.8 km away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
22.0 km away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
0.5 km away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
138 reviews
5.8 km away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
55 reviews
1.0 km away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon Chalet

Property: Snowdon Chalet
Address: 4071 Rte 11, Londonderry, VT 05148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Price range (per night): $112 - $193
Hotel Class:1 star — Snowdon Chalet 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon Chalet offers affordable lodging in the heart of the "Golden Triangle" of southern Vermont's ski areas including Magic, Bromley and Stratton and Okemo. This Alpine Chalet style motel offers simple accommodations in 12 guest rooms, each with private baths and large windows overlooking Vermont woodlands. Located off Route 11 in Londonderry, means easy access to all your year-round Vermont adventures! Snowdon Chalet located in Londonderry, Vermont, has panoramic views of Glebe Mountain AKA Magic Mountain as our backdrop in the middle of the Taconic Mountains and the Green Mountains. Guests eager to get close to nature will appreciate Snowdon Chalet's park-like setting on 5 acres, with several lakes nearby including Lowell Lake State Park. Snowdon Chalet Features: Air Conditioning, an Energy Star 32 inch Flatscreen Cable TV, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave, an ensuite bathroom with eco friendly toiletries, recycling bin, along with retro charm and large windows overlooking the Vermont woodlands. *The Budget Room (#9) is a smaller guest room without a/c or large windows. Complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7am - 9am in the lobby/breakfast nook area. Including: Coffee, tea, hot chocolate bagels, english muffins, toast, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, OJ, and hard boiled eggs. BBQ Grill and picnic tables (in the summer & fall months) Covered terrace area with seating area Things to Do nearby: Magic Mountain Ski Area, Stratton Ski Resort, Bromley Ski Resort, Okemo Ski Resort, (each ski resort has tons of activities all summer long) Lasser Ceramics, The Weston Playhouse, The Vermont Country Store, The Weston Priory, Lowell Lake State Park, local Farmer's Markets, Taylor Farm, horseback riding, Tater Hill Golf Course, Green Mountain National Forest, Mount Equinox Skyline Drive. Nearby restaurants: The Garden Cafe & Gallery, The New American Grill, Jake’s Restaurant and Tavern, The Maple Leaf Diner, Grandma Miller’s Pies, The Red Slate Restaurant, SoLo Farm to Table, JJ Hapgood General Store and Eatery. Towns Nearby: Weston, Windham, Jamaica, Peru, Manchester, Ludlow and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snowdon Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing