We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, close to the Gondola” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Val Roc Motel

Val Roc Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Val Roc Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value, close to the Gondola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

I stayed at Val Roc for MLK weekend 2008.

Room.

The room is spacious, features a den with small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Linen and towels were clean. Mattress comfortable. Nice size TV worked fine.

Amenities.

Breakfast was very basic (frozen bagels and coffee) and served late if you want to head to the mountain early. However you have coffee maker in the room and complimentary coffee sets and a microwave oven; so best bet is to have breakfast in room.

Very nice outside hottub. It is right out of the lobby.

Wifi in the lobby and rooms close to lobby.

Location

It is very close to the gondola. Probably the best way to start and end the day at Killington, as it is the least crowded.

It is a bit far from the main apres ski area, a couple of miles. Not too bad given that it is in a main route that is well maintained. The closest restaurant is the Pasta Pot, good but a bit overpriced for basic Italian fare. Outback pizza in Killington Road is great pizza and fun. Our favorite, Heli's at Mendon Mountainview lodge, Best Snitzel this side of the Atlantic.

Service

Dan, the manager is very nice and goes out of his way to make your stay a good one. Reservation process was efficient and we got the room that we were promised.

In a few words, great value for location, clean and basic.

  • Liked — Location, value, cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We paid more than the AAA rate, before we left we requested a refund and the owner's wife got very nasty. The room was hot, A/C not working, dirty and my family will never ever forgive me for taking them there. BEWARE

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyPhilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killington hotels

new york, new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

we stayed here a few summers ago with our 3 children - we were desperate,it was late at night and the mountains were closing in on us - the owners/husband/wife were very rude - our room windows were open and did not lock - the bathroom window was broke, open and the owners would not even look at it or switch our room - there was actual blood stains on back of the front door to our room - our children and us could not sleep as we were really scared because of those broken unlocked windows and this was the ground floor with windows toward theback of the mountain - the blood creeped us all our and visions of the bates motel danced in our heads - i slept with our younger son besides me and did not let him go all nite- we left at daybreak as soon as we saw the light come over the mountains - we went to the office to check out and see what their FREE breakfast was all about and all we saw were some paper cups with a water pitcher sitting on a counter - we got into our car and pulled away as fast as we could - we did contact AA about the hotel and filed complaints with them and the owners - owners also lied about price to us on the phone and would not honor AAA rate - we have a joke in our family now - we call all hotels that look horrible valrocs!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — blood stained door, broken unlocked windows , rude owneres
  • Stayed August 2004, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hotholiday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2006

We spent a ski week here in March 2006. We were allowed to bring our dog and leave her in the hotel room during the day while we skiied. The owner was friendly and the hot tub was nice. The breakfast was very minimal and not ready for those wanting to hit the lifts first thing in the morning. All in all, a good, inexpensive, quiet, and accomodating place. Not super clean and a bit outdated, but the best value at Killington.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MassachusettsMishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2005

Well this is close to teh Gondola in Kiloington and the hot tub and game rooms are not bad, but......

We were a party of 4 staying at teh Val Roc during President's week. The "Suite" was nothing more, then a room divided into 2 with a not so well placed wall.

The management did not answer the phone when we called in the middle of the day.

I was disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jisantangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
4.1 km away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#7 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.2 km away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.2 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.6 km away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
1.2 km away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Roc Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Roc Motel

Property: Val Roc Motel
Address: Route 4, Killington, VT 05701
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price range (per night): $114 - $243
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Val Roc Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val Roc Hotel
Val Roc Motel Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing