We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Best Thing to Bob Newhearts Place!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge & Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Next Best Thing to Bob Newhearts Place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I and two of our friends stayed here just a few weeks ago. I have to say I was extremely impressed. I am not sure what it would take to make some of the complainers on this site happy. If you were looking for a brand new Hilton then stay there. This place is for everyone who loves the nostalga of a true vermont inn. Think circa Bob Newheart! You will not find anyone friendlier than at Summit Loge. From top to bottom, Billy all the front desk staff and Peter and Danny even to the amazing doggies none of them are a disappointment. for skiers and boarders the shuttle is so easy and convenient, then a nice soak in the hot tub on return from the slopes- cant beat it. The rooms are "older" but i think it only adds to the charm of the place. Everything was really clean. Food and drinks were great. Sometimes you get chinced on the drinks, but not at this place. Danny and Peter will make sure you are well taken care of. And if your lucky you might even see Peter on the slopes! The breakfast was great, July and Gigi are dolls. and how can you have a bad time when you have 200lbs of fur greeting you everytime you enter those doors. Fantastic! In my opinion this place is great for families and just couples too. We even found everyone else staying there to be really nice and friendly! You definitely walk away from this place with the warm fuzzies and sense of family, and in this day in age, to me that is priceless. If you haven't yet definitely book a stay at the Summit Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    71
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
108
84
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We think The Summit is the greatest, we were there with the family and it was a lovely place to wake up to and come back to. The perfect Vermont hotel, I'd agree. The Summit Saint Bernards are legendary - we were so pleased to hear today that there is a new Saint in the house - Welcome Teddy!

The Saints pub is great and this is a pleasant family friendly place, run by really nice people. Our children also really liked it, the dogs are always a big hit. I'd love to share our photos of The Summit in the snow, and I'm going to post some below, so if you've got a moment, check out this beautiful hotel. thanks guys xx

(oh BTW while we were there they retiled the hot tub and I think I am unique in having the only before and after shots of this job. The hot tub was adored by our family, mum and dad even got locked in there one night, but that's a long story ... :) Thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippymister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have been going to the Summit lodge for thirty years and it only gets better with time. We go there a couple times each ski season and it is a great place in the summer. The staff under the guidance of innkeeper Billy is friendly and helpful. Our family knows the building with its many short hallways and assorted sitting rooms so we do not hesitate letting the little ones wander around. The outdoor heated pool in the winter adds an experience we will never forget. In the summer we enjoy the tennis courts, the outside pool, the patio bar, and the beautiful grounds surrounding the Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My finace and I stayed at The Summit Lodge the fist week of January and cannot wait to return. There is a cozy quaintness that starts at the big red doors that welcome you and doesn't leave you. The staff was welcoming and remembered you each time you interacted, the food in the Saints Pub was delicious, and the amenities met every need we had. There was no reason for us to leave once we got back from skiing. Whether I was sitting on the floor playing with the dog, curled up on the couch reading in front of one of the fireplaces, or relaxing sore muscles in the whirl pool there was not a single minute of our trip that I wished I was anywhere else. I cannot begin to say enough about them. If you are going to Killington stay here..You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I have had many fantastic visits over the years as a guest at the Summit Lodge. The hotel is the quintessential Green Mountain getaway, offering a comination of old and new. The hotel's barnboard and beam construction and rustic decor take the visitor back to an earlier time, while the hotel sports many modern amenities. It boasts an indoor whirlpool and outdoor heated wading pool, a perfect way to unwind after a day on the slopes. The Saints Pub is a fun place to relax by a fire on a snowy night and enjoy food, drinks and entertainment. In the summer, the outdoor swimming pool is a great way to cool off after a game of tennis on the hotel's clay courts. The staff is always friendly and attentive and what's better s better than a greeting from a friendly Saint Bernard in the lobby at check-in, unless it's the panoramic views of the mountains of Killington from the Summit's living room. I'm looking forward to my return to the Summit in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killington hotels
2.9 km away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.9 km away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#7 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.3 km away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.1 km away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.3 km away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Property: Summit Lodge & Resort
Address: 200 Summit Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price range (per night): $86 - $282
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge & Resort is situated high on a knoll, just minutes from the slopes of Killington and Pico. Enjoy our commanding views of Killington Peak and the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont. The lodge's decor of antiques, hand hewn beams, barnboard, and fieldstone fireplaces all combine to provide a warm and friendly ambiance. The Summit Lodge is built for comfort, with two restaurants on premise, two lounges, two swimming pools (one heated for year round use), a large hot tub, and clay tennis courts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington
Summit Lodge & Resort Killington, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing