We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
127
97
33
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
97
33
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake round of golf lake morey lakeside room lake activities every summer ice skating couple of nights kayaks and paddle boards relaxing getaway indoor pool bit dated housekeeping staff board games great weekend game room skates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2020

Wapanachee Cottage exceeded our expectations. The house is well appointed for families with a large playroom with cable tv, assorted board games, and jigsaw puzzles. located in the walk-out basement. This came in handy on a rainy day. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans and condiments in the cupboard. The private dock was perfect to sit and watch the children who could wade in the shallow water or walk out further to swim and play. The living areas were comfortable and gave our two families ample space.

We signed out Paddleboards, kayaks, and canoes from the main hotel, which we accessed by simply walking over through the shallow and warm lake. Ezra, the captain of the boat for tubing made the kids' first experience thrilling.

Due to COVID-19, we chose not to go to any of the onsite restaurants. The grounds were nicely landscaped and there was a bald eagle and blue heron that we watched daily. The limitations of visitors created an unusually peaceful environment and we look forward to going back when the resort is in full swing!

We couldn't have had a better time! If there was one minor complaint, it would be that the beds are soft...very soft. But, after a day on the lake, sleeping is not a problem.

We look forward to going back!

Room tip: We stayed at Wapanachee Cottage and recommend it for multiple families traveling together with a range of ages of children.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank datwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Avery, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Wapanachee is a wonderful property.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Enjoy,
Mark Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2020 via mobile

We loved our getaway weekend! Hotel is a bit dated but charming. Rooms were clean, extra amenities like Kayaks and paddle boards are great. Lake is beautiful! We also had a great dinner at the dining room. We will be back!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Life_is_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Avery, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to your return trip, and until then-
Be well,
Mark Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2020

Spent two days at the resort. The location is beautiful. Really quiet area, the lake is so clear, and the sounds of Loons is amazing. The staff could not have been nicer. Comfortable beds, nice rooms, and excellent water pressure in our shower. I really enjoyed the food, and they have a good beer selection.

Room tip: Ask for a water view and open the windows to hear the Loons.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Avery, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for your comments.
Stay safe,
Mark Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2020

I have been sitting here in California, looking at photos and reading the reviews and mourning that this July 4th, COVID 19 has blocked our annual family vacation at Lake Morey. We have been coming to Lake Morey for about 10 years. It is a hidden gem in the mountains of Vermont. I was shocked to read some of the complains and would like to address them, as I found them unfair. The Avery family who owns this resort, takes their hospitality very seriously. Every person who works there is like a family member and treats their job as if they were the owner. Over the 10+ years we have been going we have had some problems, as anyone would when they vacation, but the staff was more than gracious in resolving every one of them. The place is old and rustic but in excellent repair and has charm that you will not find at the Hyatt or Hilton or any upscale resort. The rooms and decor are country style. The spa is beautiful and very modernized. The cost of staying includes the use of canoes. Kayaks and paddle boards (here in California the lake resorts charge upward of $50 per day to take out a kayak) the amenities in the room include herbal soaps, mint shampoo and conditioner And bath gel and body lotion. The housekeeping staff is very thorough and are happy to bring extra toiletries and towels. There are refrigerators that can be requested. There is entertainment in the evenings, bands, family game nights and on July 4 an amazing fireworks show that is comparable to that at Disneyland. There are movie nights in the hotels theater and all of this is free of charge. To the Avery family: we are heart broken to be missing this year with you. Wish you the best and good health and look forward to seeing you next summer.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Avery, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Judy,
Thank you for your note; and we all here at the Resort truly missed your family this year. However next year is around the corner, and hopefully the trials of year 2020 will be in our rear view mirror.
Be well,
Mark Avery and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

This was our second year to go to Lake Morey Resorts New Years Event. First year was a good time. Second Time 2020 we had a Great time with good friends. Definitely recommend Lake Morey, beautiful location, and great staff.

Room tip: looking towards the lake
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for your words. We are pleased you find Lake Morey welcoming as our staff is what defines who we are.
Be well,
Mark Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews