We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an ethnic lunch”
Review of Sherpa Kitchen

Sherpa Kitchen
Ranked #33 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepalese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The menu/food a nice blend of ethnic food and spices. Waitstaff very friendly and helpful. Have returned and will do so again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 687larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

This was such a wonderful find. Great dumplings. Mange lychee is such a sweet treat. Chana masala was amazing! The vegetable sampler plate is fantastic. This is the first time I had Himalayan food. Similar to Indian food and I was ecstatic.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Z3546UWsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The place is very close to Church street and we went here for lunch. There are many veg options. We had Momo, Dal soup and fresh lime juice and also noodle and everything was above average.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Siva_Parsippany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Went there on a very warm day. It was early evening and the restaurant was not full. We were seated quickly and given menus. Some of the appetizers were of Indian origin - samosa, pakora, chat. One of us tried the lentil soup. It was rather bland and watery. Adding salt and pepper made it more edible. We considered Mo-Mo (dumplings) but the description of 12 pieces in tomato sauce was off-putting.

We asked one of the waiters for a main course recommendation. He suggested Palak Paneer, a classic Indian dish consisting of spinach and cheese. It was served in a small copper pot with rice and papadum on the side. The presentation was excellent and we eagerly sampled it. It was very creamy and somewhat sweet (too much so for our taste). There was very little Palak (spinach). So the sauce was reddish yellow, not the classic green of authentic Palak Paneer. Some of the Paneer (cheese) pieces were burnt and tasted like cardboard. The waiter said theirs was the Nepalese version while the green sauce was the Indian version. The menu also had “thali platters” - assortments of vegetarian and non-vegetarian items served in small containers on platters. Thalis are popular items in Indian restaurants. The waiter told us that their Thalis were Nepalese versions and different from Indian thalis. We decided to pass on them. For dessert, we asked for the homemade Khulfi, another Indian item. The waiter said they did not have khulfi and offered rasmalai or rice pudding (also Indian items). We did not try them. On the whole, it was an underwhelming experience. The two waiters were pleasant but clearly had no particular knowledge of Nepalese cuisine other than the food in Sherpa kitchen.

In summary, this restaurant serves a few Nepalese items but most of the menu consists of modified Indian or Chinese dishes. To us, the food seemed bland and unseasoned. Some condiments such as chutneys may have enhanced the taste of the food. We asked the waiter about this. He said condiments were available as “sides” on the menu. But by then we had finished our meal. We had missed this when we looked at the menu. Suggestion - the waiters could inform guests that raita, roti and condiments are being offered as “sides”.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank walhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We eat here once a month, and love just about everything here.
The owners are very nice, and it's a very pleasant atmosphere.
Another "Must Try" when in downtown Burlington!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank GlennCo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherpa Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sherpa Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing