We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis on the edge of Bryce Canyon”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2008

An unassuming road to the Inn, leads to an oasis on the edge of Bryce Canyon. The Inn was clean, comfortable and gorgeous; the inn keepers were extremely friendly and helpful. Given a little notice, they even were able to accommodate me with my food allergy to gluten. Their knowledge of the surrounding sites kept me busy for days hiking and biking. To my surprise, John, the inn keeper, was a professional guide and was able to lead me on a few hikes into the surrounding slot canyons and into Bryce Canyon. If you have never been to Bryce, or even if you have, you have to make this your next place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cliffbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 548 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

I loved this place!! It is beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable.
Loved the deck. Views magnificent. Total peace and quiet.

Breakfasts were superb. I want the recipes. Inn Keepers Wendy and John were so welcoming and helpful with info about the area. OOPS almost forgot Teegan their daughter. She also was great!!
Ask about their favorite restaurant. It was fantastic!!

Definitely coming back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigLouMtVernonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I was a little apprehensive about our arrival because there had been a mix-up (on my part) in the confirmation of our reservation. Although it had been corrected immediately, I didn't want any surprises when we got there. Also, earlier reviews expressed some difficulties with the innkeepers.
That was not our experience. Both John & Wendy were gracious, friendly and helpful. The inn itself is lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts (served promptly at 8 AM) were tasty: generous sweet roll, yogurt parfait or smoothie and entree with juice and coffee or tea. Our three-night stay was delightful. We especially enjoyed the comfortable furniture on the large deck. It was great for pre-breakfast coffee, afternoon relaxation and evening stargazing.
We would definitely return if our travels took us back that way.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank allme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and just thought this place was fantastic. So cosy and really luxurious rooms for a B & B. We had left the hub bub of Vegas and really didn't feel that the standard of accommodation had changed. (Still fluffy robes, towels, all the toiletries, TV/Cable etc). It was immaculate too and the owners were really lovely and welcoming, anybody who states any different about the whole place would need to challenged!!! We actually didn't realise that what we had booked included breakfast, so this was a nice surprise and it is 8am for all the reasons previously mentioned. It's a super spread, very very fresh and tasty and certainly wouldn't taste the same if left out for a 'couple of hours' like the dire food at Rubys' (one evening meal was enough there). The views from the terrace of the lounge and out of our bedroom window were just unbelievable.
THe owners are just great , each morning they ask if everybody is okay, and if anybody need ed any help with local walks or directions, John would also talk through the best hikes and veiwpoints. He also checked with the people checking out , to see if they were okay getting to their next destination. We also had a very nice general chat with them before we left , which almost made us feel like packing our bags, leaving the UK and the rat race which grinds us down every day!!
This is THE place to stay near Bryce, total Eutopia compared to the hum drum of the 'stack it high stodgy food, pile people in by the bus load chaos' of larger hotels in Tropic or nearby. As for the Bryce Canyon, this is just amazing!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Love the Stone canyon Inn. We stayed in one of the cabins and found it quite accomodating for two couples. The extra room was a little smaller than the master, but it worked out fine. The room may be more suitable for children verse another couple. Cabin had full kitchen, stocked! We loved this, as there is not much to the town of tropic and it was much easier to cook at our place. I would definately stay here again, its away from the craziness of "Rubys" in bryce, which is just the way we like it :]
Kind and friendly staff, with a clean place to stay....doesnt get any better than that. I actually wish we would have stayed longer, as Bryce Canyon had to be the most spectacular place on our journey. We neglected to take pictures of our cabin, however, here are a few from Bryce.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Harr7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
7.1 km away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
7.2 km away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,261 reviews
2.5 km away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Bryce Pioneer Village
13.3 km away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
559 reviews
28.8 km away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: $183 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing