We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
Kent,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We recently travelled from the UK to spend a week at Sundance. Every single member of staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The rooms are lovely, well equipped and in a great location. The food in the grill room is wonderful and the sunday brunch is amazing and not to be missed. Our two young children went to ski school everyday and it is the best ski school out of the many we have encountered across the world. It is a very small resort but this only adds to its charm. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We're thrilled that you traveled all the way from the UK to stay with us at Sundance Resort. Our highest priority is to provide our guests with exceptional service to enhance their overall stay; so it is delightful to learn that your experience was so wonderful. We can't begin to tell you just how thrilled we are to learn that you found our ski school to be the best out of the many across the world you have encountered. Our instructors are certified professionals that really understand the need for a blend of fun and for improving performance skill in their lessons. Everyone at Sundance Resort thanks you for your review and we will be looking forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    68
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
113
146
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while skiing at Sundance and visiting relatives in nearby Linden. The staff was excellent and we really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. If you're looking for a mellower ski trip than Park City, check out Sundance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
We’re so glad that while visiting relatives in Linden you and your wife chose to stay and ski at Sundance Resort. Our multiple ski programs and packages allow us to offer something for every member of the family at every level. We do hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in the area and when you do we hope you can join us for brunch again as our menu changes often to offer a variety of delightful choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It has taken me a few months to write this review. I'm glad I waited. It helped me reflect on the whole experience at Sundance. First off, we had booked our trip in March, 2011, but my Mom got sick and I had to cancel literally at the last minute. The hotel rebooked our trip to September 2011. The purpose of the trip was to just "get away". No skiing. So, the time of year didn't really make a difference. Upon arrival, it is clear that this is no ordinary place. It's hard to describe. Sundance is visually stunning with the running waters and the amazing mountain vistas. Yet, it isn't insanely "commercial". It's very low key and respectful of nature. Granted it's on the expensive side, but it's worth every cent. Be prepared for lots of exercise. Getting to and from buildings is a true "up hill climb". Once you are in your room, it feels like home.....not a hotel....just home. The bed was wonderful. The room was very clean. We had a light blow out during our stay and somehow, without us knowing about it, the staff came in and fixed it. The staff are amazing. From the front desk to the waiters to the porters. Amazing. The food was delightful. The bartender spent lots of time with us and advised on an expensive but memorable bottle of red from California. The resort is steeped in history. And you could feel the history walking through each building. Oh.....and the icing on the cake? My 2 hour hot stone massage......the BEST I have ever had. Even the RMT was first rate.....she only spoke to describe what she was doing and how it related to the "history" of the area. I find myself pining to return. If you want time to yourself, no pressure, impeccable service and a place to rejuvinate, run to Sundance. The peacefulness there is priceless.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
We believe our guests at Sundance Resort are priceless and we’re delighted that your getaway was so memorable. It touches us deeply that you referred to our resort as Heaven on Earth. It’s extremely important to us to be able to not only provide great service to each and every one of our guests, but to provide a great overall experience as well. We would love to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another hot stone massage and a rejuvenating experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin/Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a wonderful, romantic getaway location. The grounds are beautiful with streaming rivers and beautiful hikes. We were there in the summer and there was plenty to do. Very good mountain biking trails. Great bar to relax at and nice dining options. We stayed in a suite with a kitchen and it was very comfortable. Could not get into the spa as it was already filled.

Room Tip: If you're local, there are specials with great room discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We absolutely love that you have compared Sundance Resort to an oasis in nature. At Sundance Resort we embrace the simple philosophy of living in balance with the land. It's a place where guests can appreciate the beauty of nature and feel at peace during their stay. We're delighted that your time here this past summer was such a positive experience; however, we're sorry that you were unable to get an appointment at the spa. When reserving your next stay with us, we would be happy to assist you in arranging a treatment at the Spa at Sundance. We do hope that you can return again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Sundance in January 2012, during a winter of barely any snow (so far). Our Mountain Suite cost us about $330/night including lift tickets. Be prepared if you go there that there are only three dining options in the evening on site, and all of them are pricey. You might consider having a car to drive down to Provo/Orem for other options - about 20" -25" away. If you're a Costco member, there is one in Orem and you can buy pre-made meals so you dont' have to eat at the resort every night, or cook on vacation. Also, as others have noted, it's not necessarily ski in/out - many of the lodging options are up a steep hill. It's walkable, but not with skis. The resort will shuttle you back and forth though with just a phone call. Our Mountain Suite was nice enough - nothing special really as it overlooked the parking area and was not "luxurious" as the photos online suggest. A downside was that when the people underneath us ran their bathroom fan (automatically goes on with the bathroom light) or used their shower, it was very loud in our bedroom. I imagine each lodging option has it's pluses and minuses. If you have certain requests or expectations, you should probably speak to the resort before booking your room. The staff were very nice all week and did their best to be accommodating. I thought it was strange (and disappointing) that our Suite didn't get the Sundance channel! Well, despite all of this, I have a feeling that when the resort is fortunate enough to get a classic Utah dump of soft powder snow, the place probably turns into a magical wonderland. Unfortunately we didn't get to experience the magic...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with us in regards to your recent stay. Feedback from our guests serves to direct us toward service or facility enhancements that will improve future experiences. We're disappointed that the mountain suite you stayed in did not meet your expectations. We do offer a wide variety of accommodation types as well as cost savings packages and are always happy to assist guests in their room selection to ensure their needs are met. We hope you will consider revisiting us as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to experience all the magic of Sundance Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
26.6 km away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
25.6 km away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
827 reviews
28.8 km away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
572 reviews
30.4 km away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
32.4 km away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#4 of 60 in Park City
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Property: Sundance Resort
Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price range (per night): $330 - $641
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing