We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Sweet and Accommodating”

Roy Black's Guided Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We provide exciting and fun Horse Tours Deep in the Valley in restricted areas where you will see amazing arches, high mesa's,ancient petroglyphs and dwellings. Roy Black built this company from hard work to bring our visitors the Amazement which is Monument Valley. Customer service excellence professional guides to help you with the riding and horsemanship also photography taking pictures when needed.Riding or taking one of our Jeep Tours can cover more ground not just down in the Valley. Mystery Valley is also on our tour package take a trip back into time and explore the traces of Anasazi dwellings and petroglyph art that will have you scratching your head. Mystery Valley is pretty awesome very underrated but so totally amazing I personally love how from one stop to another gets better an better. The House of many Hands OMG the art work itself is wonderful so many people have their own take on it, So if you take our Tour remember to bring your imagination to our universe. RBGT.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My sister and I went here about two weeks ago. Our 2 hour ride was scheduled for 5pm but we were running late after checking in for camping so we went to check in by the shack in the parking lot and thought we'd be fine, but the actual horse stables is down into the valley on the Valley Drive so it took us about 20 minutes to get to the stable. We were afraid it would go against our 2 hour time and we'd but cut short. So we ended up about starting at 5:30 and since my sister and I were late we weren't with the rest of the group but we had Jeremy and Gerald, our guides and they were great! They still showed us around everywhere and showed us all the rocks and structures. I actually ended up losing my phone on the trail and realizing it about halfway in, and Gerald went to go back and look for it and found it!! He was so sweet and definitely saved me a lot of time and money!! They also still had my sister and I out for 2 hours as well so I'd definitely recommend them!!
Also 2 hours was amount of time for feeling like you really took in Monument Valley. We're very happy we did the tour.
Tips would be that I recommend coming 30 min prior to time scheduled. And during March it gets pretty chilly out once the sun goes down so bring a jacket!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank cassieflagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavar b, General Manager at Roy Black's Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

love this review our sweet professional guides appreciate the gesture hope you guys come around again the RBGT team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback riding"
in 21 reviews
"hour tour"
in 30 reviews
"wild horses"
in 12 reviews
"navajo guide"
in 16 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 8 reviews
"two hours"
in 11 reviews
"great riding"
in 3 reviews
"amazing guide"
in 3 reviews
"took pictures"
in 4 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 6 reviews
"incredible experience"
in 3 reviews
"visit monument valley"
in 3 reviews
"great pictures"
in 4 reviews
"visitor center"
in 10 reviews
"rock formations"
in 8 reviews
"dirt road"
in 6 reviews
"sand dunes"
in 5 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We did a 2 hour tour with 2 children aged 9 & 11, none of us very experienced. All of the guides were wonderful in their knowledge of the horses, culture, the area, and were just so helpful and thoughtful. It’s an amazing way to see Monument Valley and learn about the history. Totally recommend it!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kellym8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavar b, General Manager at Roy Black's Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Were honored to give you a great tour of our valley the RBGT team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We arrived in Monument Valley with no plans or tours reserved. When we inquired about horseback rides we were told to check out Roy Black's Guided Tours. We called in the morning and they were able to accommodate us immediately. When we arrived at the stable we were greeted by friendly staffers who chose perfect horses for us (we are novices) and we set out on our 90 minute ride. Our Navajo guide, Carla, was fantastic, friendly, helpful, knowledgable of the area and told us great stories about the region and Navajo customs and culture. I highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DCTravelerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavar b, General Manager at Roy Black's Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

thank you for your awesome response I'm glad you had a great time come again the RBGT team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We did a two hours horseback riding tour and it was absolutely amazing! We had booked the tour online and drove first to the visitor's centre where we got further information about how to reach the stables. The site lays deeper in the valley but is easy to find. It takes about 20 minutes to get there and on the way we already could enjoy the spectacular views.
Once there we were introduced to our horses Zorro, Copper and Cortez and then the ride could begin! Our guide Carlos was really nice and made us feel comfortable, since we were unexperienced with horseback riding. He took us to the John Wayne trail and talked passionately about the different rock formations and the native american way of life. In our enthousiasm we even went in galop for a while, which was the ultimate Wild West feeling!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank UlriekeS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavar b, General Manager at Roy Black's Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

thank you for enjoying our tour come see us again the RBGT team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

When planning our trip to monument Valley, my family of four wanted to make sure to include a horseback riding tour as one of our many activities. We really were looking for an outfitter that would give us a more "exciting" ride that would also cater to our varied riding abilities. We chose Roy's Black Horse Ride Tour and all I can say is that they didn't disappoint. Billy and Carlos took care of our group and they were very thorough and attentive to our needs. Some members of my family weren't that comfortable on their horse and they made sure that everyone was having the best time. The horses were kind and obedient. They showed us the most beautiful spots of the valley and helped us experience the Native American lifestyle, telling us stories and ancient myths. We won't forget this incredible experience and definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for an immersive experience and a good thrill!

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank lea924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavar b, General Manager at Roy Black's Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

awesome response come see us again the RBGT team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy Black's Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to Roy Black's Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing