We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Dino Amazing

Great experience with informative staff, excellent visitors center, great building at the Quarry... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Liz W
Dinosaurs lived here

Wow, a great place to go and it doesn't need to take a lot of time. You can drive in, park and go... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Denise N
Read all 851 reviews
  
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
603
184
52
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
184
52
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinosaur bones visitor center auto tour exhibit hall echo park creek road green river steamboat springs million years harper's corner split mountain box canyon the main attraction rock wall hiking trail answer questions park ranger
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The dinosaur bones are fossilized and preserved right in place in a rock wall that was once a river bed. Seeing is believing. The fact that a building was build around the bones instead of removing the bones and putting them into a building is what is so interesting here.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank 18kenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Know before you go: The Colorado side of this park has a gorgeous canyon, great trails & a wild backcountry road for high-clearance vehicles. From the Visitor Center off the highway it's a 24-mile drive to the boundary of the park, tho there's a great canyon viewpoint beforehand.

It's the Utah side of this park that has the dinosaur fossils, petro- & pictographs & pioneer homesteads. Apparently this is a point of confusion for a lot of folks, so do your research. There's a small Visitor Center at the entrance to the park on this side, north of Jensen, which is good for orientation & small tourist gifts. From there you can walk, drive or ~ in busy season ~ take a shuttle to the Quarry Exhibit Hall. Inside this large, glassed-in building is a huge panel of over 1500 dinosaur fossils, left in-situ (as the scientists found them) & exposed to our fascinated observation. You're allowed to touch some of the lower fossils, & the view is even better from the upper story where you're face-to-face with them. You can purchase a guide to the fossils in the panel ($1) but it's more fun & fascinating to talk with the ranger interpreters who have a depth of knowledge about the discovery. (And who will tell you that this huge panel is only a small part of what was actually found!) I'm told this hall can get 1000 visitors a day during The Season, so plan accordingly.

The 10-mile Cub Creek Road winds thru beautifully uplifted, twisted, spiraled & layered geological wonders near the Green River. Along the way there are interpretive trails, & lots of pictographs & petroglyphs, all worth the stop. You'll pass one pioneer homestead that's still private property run by descendants. At the end of the road is the Josie Morris cabin, where a woman lived alone for 50 years in a spot she chose for its spring & natural box-canyon corrals. There are two campgrounds (one only open in summer) as well as picnic areas.

If you want to venture further, there are more primitive roads leading to other geological wonders, petroglyphs & another homestead site.

Take everything you need, especially a LOT of water. There are no services for drink, food, or anything else, so be prepared. On the Utah side pets are allowed only in parking lots, basically, so you should plan to leave them at your lodgings or know that you won't be able to wander much because leaving them in the car can be deadly.

This is a fascinating experience, well worth your time, & we'll return whenever we can because we always feel we missed something.

Date of experience: March 2018
11  Thank JamaisVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Went in very early January - drove in through the Utah side to he visitor centre. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, helping us choose which path we wanted to visit. There are many dinosaur bones on display and the member of staff answered all our questions - they really know their stuff. The drive through the park was very quiet, there were lovely picnic spots. The petroglyphs were relatively easy to find too. A lovely day out

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank JaneN1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We visited Dinosaur with our two girls, 3 and 1, for a long weekend in March. I’ve been to the Monument from all entrances before, but this was my first time to the newly remodeled Quarry Visitor Center. It’s way better than I remember it being 30 years ago. It’s a lot of fun for the little kids and very informative for the parents. We took a skort hike on the fossil discovery trail and saw even more dinosaur bones on our own. We drove out to Josie Morris’ cabin and saw really cool petroglyphs on the way. The short hike up the Box Canyon was perfect for our young group. The weather was a mixed bag: partly sunny one day, windy with snow flurries the next, and a snow storm the next. We were there about a week before schools begin to let out for spring break and it starts to pick up. The road to Harpers Corner was closed due to snow, but we did get to see some views of Echo Park from the Canyon Overlook. We saw lots of mule deer, hawks, prairie dogs and turkey while driving around the area. The scenery is amazing. The park is open every day, so it’s a good place to do things on Sunday when everything else is closed in Vernal. Definitely recommend this for families w young children

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Come in via the Utah side, it's the only way to drive to the building which contains a 30ft high wall of exposed dinosaur fossils, which I don't think you can see many other places. The rangers are happy to explain the history of the monument and the different fossils present. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and makes for a great drive or hike. 100% worth the visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank natechertack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews