We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent experience, to crosss one time... is ok! just to know what it is.

EXTREMELY NARROW! there is only room for your body, and YOU MUST BE SURE IT IS NOT GOING TO RAIN... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2018
Cristina B
Short slot but beautiful

Beautiful slot, but very short compared with Peek-a-boo and Spooky. No water to wade through in... read more

Reviewed 1 July 2018
janeP5724CD
,
Edmonds, Washington
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
28
12
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slot canyon great hike keep an eye rock road miles round trip peek a boo easy hike parking area tunnel stripes trial wash guard rocks trailhead hole knee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Zebra Slot Canyon can easily be visited when you are staying in Escalante or even better when you stay in Boulder with their fabulous lodge. There is no guide required and you can go there on your own. It is very good but Antelope Canyon is more spectaclular. However it is a nice alternative if you are not going all the way to Page,AZ.

Thank hcettengruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

EXTREMELY NARROW! there is only room for your body, and YOU MUST BE SURE IT IS NOT GOING TO RAIN. when you enter to the canyon, you must keep going in one direction until the end, it is an hour and a haft to go all the way to the end. Never enter if you think it may rain, the canyon is flooded in a couples minutes, if you are in when is raining... there is no way to get out. Sorry! but that is the truth.

1  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Beautiful slot, but very short compared with Peek-a-boo and Spooky. No water to wade through in June.

Thank janeP5724CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

The most amazing landscape I have ever seen (and I've been around! )! It took my breath away. We went April 1 and encountered about 20 other hikers during the day. The hike in, on BLM land, was scrubby desert landscape, but you will know when you have arrived! Not a very long canyon. It took us about 10 minutes to go as far as we could. Mid-calf deep freezing water for about 15 feet at the entrance (water shoes are best because of tumbleweed shed spikes in the sand). It is very narrow so best to skip the extra donut for breakfast and passing other hikers is a little bit challenging. Sometimes straddling the canyon walls and going up and over is the best option. We saw 4 year olds and a guy brought a golden retreiver on a harness and said he was going to carry him through, but that sounds ridiculous to me. Didn't stay to watch that. Stay hydrated! Bring a camera! The drive in is a long bumpy rock dust road and GPS connection was lost so route it in paper to be safe. Zero cell service. Also very worth the drive is Little Wild Horse Canyon and Bell Canyon (longer and just as amazing.)

2  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This extraordinary hike & ultimate slot canyon is not at all markedl! Canyon Country Lodge staff gave us directions & we still made a small error. This hike is a MUST. The slot canyon at the end of the hike is incredibly gorgeous. And once there - you will understand the "zebra" designation. Be warned: backpacks and hiking sticks must be left at entrance to the slot canyon. Only you can pass through the spaces. Claustrophobics need not apply.

3  Thank ivoryspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This trailhead was not easy to find since there was not any signs telling you that it was the one. The way I found it was by using Google maps on my phone. The trail was easy to fallow until you reach 3/4 of the way and then you just fallow the footsteps. Its not hard to find the slot canyon. I did not go far into the slot canyon because of the stagnate, bug infested water but I did see bare footprints. It is a great hike!

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is a beautiful hike to an equally beautiful slot canyon. The trailhead is approx 8 miles out on Hole in the Rock Road. There is a parking area on the right (West) side of the road. The trailhead is across the road and immediately starts downward toward Harris Wash. It is an easy hike of about 4 miles round trip. Once you have passed through the swinging gate it is another 1/2 mile to Harris Wash. When you come to the banks of Harris Wash, and the bottom of the hill, look straight ahead and slightly to your left (at about the 11 o'clock position). The giant rounded rocks, about 1/3 of a mile out, are the entrance to Zebra Canyon. Walk toward the rocks, across Harris Wash, you will enter into another wash. This is the Zebra Canyon drainage. Keep your eyes peeled for the small black, or dark brown, half spheres in the sand. These are called Bucky Balls, and they come from Zebra Canyon. Bucky Balls are an indicator that you are in the right drainage. Follow this wash upstream, to the giant rounded rocks, and you will see the entrance to Zebra. When we got there this year, the canyon was full of water right at the start, so we didn't enter. But it was a really nice hike. There is another slot canyon about 1/2 mile downstream in Harris Wash, on the same side as Zebra, called Tunnel Canyon. It to was full of water on the 6th of October 2017. The hike back up the trail was equally beautiful as the sun was setting lower in the sky and the shadows were longer. Hopefully things will have dried out by the time you get there. Good Luck, be safe, take plenty of water especially on hot days, and keep an eye on the weather.

4  Thank Gleason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

It was alittle difficult to locate and the trial isn't marked well.. some balanced rocks mark some of the way, we couldn't get into the slot because of the water but the hike was beautiful.

Thank vtgirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We hiked to the slot canyon only to discover no one in our party of three could fit through it! What a disappointment after the LONG hike in the hot sun. Unless you are 100% certain you can slip through it, I would not attempt the very long walk. Water was ankle high and canyon was filled with pesky flies!!

Thank xxSUZQxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Zebra is very wet and gets very tight. I suggest not going in if the water gets up to your neck. there's a few pinch points that you can get stuck in.
The hype is the 50ft section that's reminiscent of a Zebras stripes. Amazing colors.
Can be a hot hike in summer. Go early.

2  Thank noparamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews