We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive but unforgettable experience!”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2018

In terms of sheer beauty of its surroundings and how the resort's architecture compliments the landscape, there's is not a lot of properties that could match what Amangiri has to offer but take note that the whole experience will be an expensive one.

Just as I have experienced with other Aman properties, the prices are relatively high but Amangiri takes it to another level especially with room rates starting at around $2,000/ night. For what its worth, food and non-alcholic drinks are included.

The tours and spa treatments, I believe are over priced. Antelope tour was offered at $800 for two persons, whereas we booked our tour online with another provider for $50.00/person. We also inquired for a scenic flight over Bryce Canyon, one of the many tours offered by the resort and we were quoted $5,000.00. Should we have preferred to do an air+ground tour then it would have been $9,000.00. As for the spa, do expect to pay double other Aman properties in Asia. I cant say it was a lot better but it was good and a nice way to spend an afternoon.

As for the service, again it was good but certainly there is plenty of room for improvement. I believe the attention to detail wasn't there. When you know and have paid extra to have kids ($250-$350/child/night) in the room, you would expect a resort of this level would prepare accordingly but it was no different to our other room except for the extra bed. I expected at the very least to have extra provisions like slippers (better yet, children's-size slippers) but there was none.

We spent some time in the pool (10am and 3pm) and at no stage did I see a single member of staff to assist us or offer us any refreshments.

Despite its shortcomings, the positives clearly outweigh the negatives. Again, I cannot emphasise the sheer beauty of the resort; its architecture and its surrounding landscape. From the moment you enter the nondescript gate, you will be treated to such visual feast that would be hard to forget! And the staff are generally accommodating, friendly and warm.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sydprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to several beautiful hotels, and even a few Amans. All are unique and special, but this Aman was like stepping back in time 100,000 years into a time when glaciers still cut the landscape and Pleistocene era great saber tooth cats and woolly mammoths roamed the landscape. When you are here you’re on the edge of great tectonic plates crashing into each other and you can feel that you are at the energetic center of something far greater than yourself. The hotel is a masterpiece, nestled artfully into the rim rock and ancient review beds. You look out onto only landscape and the understated balance is there accentuate and uplift the natural world around you. All is restful and peaceful and if the highest quality. It is fineness without unneeded flourish or gluttonous excess. We left here better than we came - well rested both mentally and physically. (Note, we stayed in feb 2014)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Everything about this place was amazing. Granted we just went for lunch and didn't stay, but wow.

The drive in was surreal. It was an adventure in an of itself, as it is quite discrete and almost secretive. And the property covertly emerges from the landscape as you approach. Staff promptly greet you and take your car. And you are escorted to a gorgeous main room with views extending to the horizon.

Lunch was lovely. A tasty buffet of salads, pizzas, and salsas. And the wine pairings were great.

I'm so happy we visited and look forward to our return. That said, the place was serene so may not be appropriate for children.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rwr_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Amangiri is arguably the most stunning, surreal and remote luxury property in the U.S. It's also located within the proximity of some of the most iconic Southwest USA locations, including Lake Powell/Glen Canyon, the numerous Slot Canyons, Zion, Bryce Canyon, Sedona, Arches and Grand Canyon, some of which we explored on our own. What surprised us about Amangiri was its sheer size - it's huge, gorgeous and chock full of places to explore that it can be considered a destination all by itself. One could spend more than a few days availing oneself to the numerous hikes and other activities on offer within its premises. Make sure to hike the Hoodoo Trail as well as to Broken Arrow Cave. And do not miss out on trying one of the guided Via Ferrata hikes at Amangiri - it's exhilarating!

We stayed for 5 nights during Thanksgiving week, meaning it was the first time that we stayed at an Aman property that was at 100% occupancy. Despite that, the entire Aman staff was friendly and helpful, always going out of their way to help us best enjoy our stay. Some meal orders were unfulfilled (we asked twice on several occasions), and at times they seemed a bit overwhelmed with the number of guests they had to deal with at any one time. What they lacked in polish was made up by their sheer enthusiasm, making the minor service flubs easily forgivable. While service levels here are not comparable to the best Asian Amans, it's definitely top-notch by American standards. One weak spot (which can also be said of quite a few Amans) is in the area of food & beverage. For those staying longer than the 5 nights we stayed, the menu will get repetitive quite fast. The quality was also inconsistent - some of the dishes were fantastic, while others were decidedly mediocre. I'm guessing that Amangiri's remoteness contributes to staff that do not last long; we are aware that there's been a steady churn of executive chefs in recent years, which probably had something to do with the variable quality of the F&B.

The vastness, sheer beauty, luxury and serenity of Amangiri is what allows it to command the kind of prices it charges. To us, it was money well spent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KI-NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at Amangiri in February. We have stayed at 7 other Amans, and this is one of the more dramatic. We also went to Zion National Park which is a bit more dramatic but obviously not as luxury.

The property is amazing and massive. We spent a full day just hiking around their property, on our own, and could have kept going for longer. A lot to explore.

We did a few trips on our own to Page, where there are some great sites (Horseshoe Canyon and Antelope Canyon) worth checking out.

Unlike other Amans, the food was all included, which is just a better experience.

The price is nuts (I think we paid $2000+ per night) for rooms which aren't that exceptional. The way I think about this hotel -- if you are someone who literally can throw $1000 bills around and not get stressed, then this is an amazing experience. The excursions to Page are crazy expensive as well. We just went on our own.

I was told not to fly my drone on the property, which I respect, but was disappointed by as there is a lot of totally isolated areas where it would have had no impact on privacy or safety.

Overall an incredible holiday that you certainly pay for.

Room Tip: Don't think it's worth it to spend up for a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
16.2 km away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
16.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
16.8 km away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
17.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
16.9 km away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Region: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price Range: $2,158 - $3,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amangiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing