We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
10
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm to table hill country my husband and i fixings luxury retreat chef shower bed weekend
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful place that will get you close to camping but with the comforts of home. The staff was amazing and helpful. The food was amazing. My 1 and only complaint was the price of everything, I feel it's a little overpriced for what it is.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Collective hill country retreat was absolutely perfect, from the smooth check in to the amazing stay and stunning views to the breakfast that was incredible! The staff was ready to help with bags as soon as we pulled up, and were friendly and helpful during our entire stay! We recommend to everyone! :)
Thank you again!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brooke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B, Community Manager at Collective Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, Brooke. It was a pleasure having you at the retreat, and we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Don't be a stranger, and we hope to see you at the campfire again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Collective retreats Hill Country is wonderful! The staff is extremely kind and helpful. If you love the outdoors, this is the place to visit and truly relax! The tents are so cute and have everything you may need and the views are amazing!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B, Community Manager at Collective Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed yourself, Stephanie – it truly is a magical place. Please come visit us again soon and, until then, have a wonderful summer and safe travels everywhere your adventures lead you. Thank you so much for leaving us a review, we truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at Collective Hill Country to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. What we expected to be a romantic retreat tuned into a weekend of watching out for, and exterminating bugs. And I’m not talking about a few bugs, but lots and lots of bugs.

The first night, we found a brown recluse and a bold jumping spider in our tent. The second night, we caught a scorpion. The third morning, I woke up with a very large grasshopper on my pillow a few inches from my face. There were also huge nests of granddaddy long legs in the bathroom. And that’s not to mention the other, smaller bugs that we fought with the entire weekend.

The problem lies in that the tents are canvas walls and ceilings placed on top of a raised, plank wood deck. While traditional tents are made with the floor, walls, and ceilings all made in one piece, by separating the walls from the floor at Collective, the separation creates no barrier to keep bugs and other vermin out of the tents. Even if you keep the tent zipped up tight at the entrances, which we did for the whole weekend, there is no way to deter anything from entering the tent. We had to fight with insects and a scorpion, but I would not be surprised if snakes or small vermin would be able to make it into the tent as well.

There are also no amenities available on the grounds. We had to drive 40 minutes to Austin to participate in horseback riding, and 20 minutes to the nearest winery.

A plus was that the food was WONDERFUL! We did enjoy the breakfast, which is included, every morning. We also decided to splurge because it was a special occasion and participated in the farm to table meal on the grounds. However, the resort does not have a license to sell alcohol, so if you want to enjoy a glass of wine with your meal, you have to spend the additional expense to bring your own. And for the price we spent to have the meal (nearly 400 dollars with the tip!!), it was outrageous!!! We’ve had many 5 and 7 course meals that included wine pairings for much cheaper.

Another plus was that staff was wonderful. They were very helpful, especially when we found the scorpion in our tent.

Because of the negatives, we spent as much time as possible away from the tents. At the price per night that we paid to stay at Collective, I am extremely disappointed that we spent so much money on this trip and got so little out of it.

I wouldn’t recommend staying at Collective. If you are looking for a hill country experience, there are many bed and breakfasts in the area that will give a better high-end experience, and many campgrounds that would allow for a better traditional camping experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ARCsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B, Community Manager at Collective Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi there, Aubrey. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we constantly strive to improve and provide guests with the best experience possible. We've passed your notes along to our operations leadership to ensure any necessary changes are made. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for something different to do and I stumbled upon Collective Retreats! With AMAZING locations to choose from we ended up picking the one closest to us for a quick romantic get away to celebrate our wedding anniversary; Texas Hill Country. Literally what you see online is what you experience in your extravagant tent. Every detail is carefully planned out. From the minute the staff meets you at your car to take your bags, to the check in process, to the retreat tour, you are loving every second of it! Full running water bathroom, VERY comfortable beds, all the fixings for morning tea/coffee in your tent, to the FULL breakfast each morning....absolutely wonderful. We chose to do the chef prepared farm to table meal under the stars one night, and all 5 courses were comparable to a 5 star meal you would receive in the city! The retreat sits on the most picturesque all organic farm. Don’t forget to top off each evening with the gormet s’mores by the open fire pit!! Side note to the Hill Country location, you are close to several river and swimming hole options, all the Texas Wineries in Drifteood, as well as the Cutest town of Wimberley filled with shops and restaurants 10mins away! We can’t wait to check out some of the other Retreat locations!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank helencaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B, Community Manager at Collective Hill Country, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Hi there, Helen. We are so glad you and your husband had such a wonderful time celebrating your anniversary weekend. It sounds like you two had a true escape. Our team loved getting to host you and help make the weekend special. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, as well as your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you to your next getaway. Safe travels, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews