We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Grace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waxahachie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaska House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Waxahachie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Louis and Linda bring a charm and grace reminiscent of the Best of Southern Hospitality. The house is perfect, comfortable and spacious, and the food is as my Aunt Ruth always said, start the day with elegance. For those in town for events, it is convenient to everything in the area.
This is a "must visit" for those who consider traveling well to be better than arriving.
It was a pleasure, thank you!
Teresa M

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally amazing, yummy linens!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Chaska House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We spent one night at the Chaska House, in the Shakespeare room. We arrived late and were greeted by the friendly owners, the place was hard to locate at night as there is no particular sign on the house (at least we didnt notice any). It's within walking distance to the old center where the shops are and very close to the Catfish Plantation restaurant where we had a wonderful meal. The room was gorgeous and even better than on the pics on their website, the bathroom is HUGE and has a big walk-in shower, a tub, a dresser and a wash-basin. There are plenty of towels and a robe, good quality too. The actual room had excellent bedding, very comfy, the decoration was beautiful. The whole place (living area, corridors, staircase) was beautifully decorated, it was like going back in time, which added to the magic. Breakfast was homemade by the owner himself, two slices of bacon and a hot banana cake. It was very tasty but I thought it was a little light and if you dont like sweet breakfasts there are no other options. But that's really the only thing I was disappointed about, I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed over night in the Retreat and it was very clean and cozy. I was very impressed witht the room and the Hosts were great, very friendly. I highly recommend Chask House.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a lovely visit to Waxahachie to visit with our family. The rooms at Chaska house are beautifully restored . Its so hard to choose the best room ... but we stayed in the Margaret Mitchell room. They all are very special as they have been named after famous authors.We got a tour of all the rooms the day after we stayed our one night . This B & B is in the historical area of Waxahachie and the owners have paid close attention to great details of their restoration.. We really enjoyed visiting with the owners and our breakfast was wonderful. They have a really nice library

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bapmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We got married in Waxahachie in April and rented the entire Chaska House so our family members could stay together and in something nicer than a 2 star. Louis and Linda Brown were exceedingly gracious, accomodating and friendly. The house is absolutely stunning and luxurious. The rooms are all beautifully appointed. The breakfasts served were delicious.

Our only regret is that we didn't get to spend more time at the Chaska. In fact, we plan to stay again when we make our next trip to Texas. It truly was a 'home away from home'--better than home because somebody else cooks and makes the beds-- and being in it makes one want to just snuggle in with a good book.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedwillingwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waxahachie hotels
3.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Waxahachie
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Waxahachie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
#4 of 11 in Waxahachie
176 reviews
4.8 km away
Best Western Plus Waxahachie Inn & Suites
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Waxahachie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Waxahachie

Been to Chaska House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaska House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 716 W Main St, Waxahachie, TX 75165-3240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Waxahachie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waxahachie
Price Range: $206 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Victorian Splendor," Texas Hospitality. National Register Listed, full of pedigreed antiques subtly blended with luxurious amenities and modern technology. Rooms and suites celebrate authors and their works including Twain, Fitzgerald, Mitchell, Shakespeare, Roosevelt and Hemingway. Historic town square, great shopping and choice restaurants nearby. Only forty minutes (and 100 years) south of DFW Metroplex. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing