We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I love Mark and Mary!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs
Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Dinning Area and Kitchen: 
table seats 6; counter seats 2
Great Room: TV & stereo cabinet; wine cabinet; entrance to Bedroom
Bedroom: queen size bed faces TV and book shelves
Bedroom: writing desk and chair; french doors open out to patio
Bedroom: ceiling fan; TV and books
1st floor Bath: vanity; 2 person shower; window seat
Great Room: 
stairway to Loft
View from Loft: Dinning Area; Kitchen; Great Room
Loft: 3 twin beds; 2 ceiling fans
2nd floor Bath: vanity and claw foot tub
Roof Porch: think morning coffee; evening wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Waco, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nrcbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Mark and Mary!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is the most beautiful and well kept place I have ever stayed. I have been to Washington, Maine, Alaska, and Boston and this cottage exceeds anywhere I have stated before. The owners are the sweetest people I have ever met and staying there was a blessing for me and my friends. I would recommend anyone to stay here! Mark and Mary are so sweet and kind!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Natalie,
Are you sure you're not a long lost daughter? Yours are the most touching, the most personal of thoughts.
Our guests always leave a distinctive impression on us - unique as the individuals themselves. In your case, you're a quiet, selfless servant to your friends in the truest of ways. As the organizer of your group, we listened to your special hopes for this occasion as the days approached. All you cared about was that your time here be a blessing to your friends and the bride-to-be. So it is that you left us with more than a memory of 5 whacky, fun, beautiful women. You touched our hearts.
Thank you. And God be with you and your family in the days to come. Mark
P.S. Remember, Paint!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the country is perfect for romance and relaxation.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The owners, who greeted us on our arrival, made the stay even more memorable by providing beautiful vases of flowers, meeting our dietary needs with delicious breakfast servings, and treating us like new found friends. The cottage was fully stocked to meet all our needs, and the interior design was amazing. A great place for bird-watching, star gazing, and chair-rocking! We will definitely be returning for another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Marla,
It was a privilege to have you and Jim choose to celebrate your anniversary here at out cottage. It's such a pleasure now to read your reflections. You have a way with words that compel Mary and me to look a little more often into the night sky. And although we'll be leaving the rocking to our guests, we keep thinking, "We'll have our day." We look forward to the time when we can once more host you and Jim. Until then, thank you again for your gracious thoughts.
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrgcpa
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expections”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booked this cottage based on reviews and boy they were spot on! The owners ask what we would like as a refreshment upon arrival and met us at the door. Carried our luggage in and gave us a tour of the house. Then brought us some quiche that evening for breakfast the next morning! The place was absolutely perfect in all aspects! We would recommend it to anyone! And we will stay there anytime we are in the Waco area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Randy,
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. Coming from a widely traveled B & B patron your words are particularly prized. As is so often the case, Mary and I enjoyed not only meeting you, but getting the opportunity to trade notes with our old Jacksonville football rivals. Ours is good heritage, is it not? To have grown up in a small town in Texas, knowing the privilege of lifelong relationships: Life doesn't get much better than that. So thank you, once again for being our guests. Thank you for sharing with us a piece of your lives. And thank you for your thoughtful comments. They're valued more than you know.
All our best,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkneedham
1 review
“Owners as Amazing as the House!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife stayed here with friends a month before I took her. She couldn't stop talking about the house, the service, but mainly she couldn't stop talking about the couple who runs the place, Mark and Mary. Everything she said was true! Wonderful peaceful property. Clean. Secluded. Peaceful. Great homemade breakfasts. And Mark & Mary lived up to the hype as well. The type of folks to give you the shirt off their back. I'm not only taking my wife there again, I'm booking the place as a surprise for my parents soon too. A real hidden gem of Waco.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Jimmy (and, of course, Kelly),
Here is the melody of Mary's response to your review: "Oh, my gooodnesss. Oh, my gooodnesss." sung to a tune that sounded like a lullaby. When we read your review together, we were once again reminded that it is serving people that makes life meaningful, challenging, enriching, and best of all, fulfilling. And it is our Lord and our God who roots these things in our hearts. Thank you for your beautiful thoughts. We look forward to hosting your folks. Oh, and by the way, what size shirt do you wear? All our best, Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina c
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beyond our Expectations, True Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Mark and Mary have created a quiet, beautiful, and restful B&B for one or five. This was our first time staying at a B&B and we were very impressed. After a long day of travel from Ky, we appreciated not having to make a grocery run. The kitchen and fridge was stocked with goodies. Our boys ages 17 and 22 traveled with us and enjoyed the Direct TV and large selection of movies on DVD. But what really won their heart was waffles and bacon. They also accommodated my husbands diabetic diet. The house went above and beyond our expectations. They spared no expense in the furnishings. The yard and trees remind you of a park setting. Short 15 minute drive to Magnolia but easy to find a GPS. True Southern Hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outside of town, quiet, peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Tina,
You and your family were the real blessing: Salt-of-the-earth people from an "old Kentucky home." Honestly, Mary and I never cease to be surprised by the true wealth of our guests. You and Ben left a sweet trace on our lives. From your stories of 4th generation farming to tobacco harvesting to turtle fishing to pictures of magnificent white tail bucks, to family cemeteries to your wedding barn - the list goes on and on. We were the one's blessed. Perhaps now you can understand how it is that this place is named Tell Story Walk. Thank you for being an unforgettable part of this continuously unfolding story. All our best, Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing