We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Reviewed 26 December 2011

If you stay in Van Horn, stay at the Days Inn. It was a very nice stay with clean rooms. Sam was very nice and the hospitality was excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

Would really rate it 2.5 but that wasn't an option. First impression was arriving at the Super 8 where the confirmations came from but we were indeed booked at the Days Inn several miles away off the main highway. That was sorta my mistake but the confirmation was confusing. The trains rambling through town actually sorta quaint... a little "My Cousin Vinny"ish. The bed was great and we appreciate being able to park just outside our room since we travel with 2 small pets. That however is where my compliments end, unfortunately. The room was not very clean, coffee filter from previous occupant still in coffee maker, a few stray hairs in the bedding, carpet smelled of urine, carpet wasn't thoroughly vacuumed (dog hair on the floor behind the chair) and cigarette burns in the bedspread. I wanted to keep my sox on all night. In the bathroom there were areas on the door frame with splashes of coffee and some of the paint was peeling away. No clock in th room. Not sure what happens with the pet fee, but it wasn't spent sanitizing the room. Probably would try something else next time through.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Illegal construction by owner. Foreign owned. Family run. Owners are trying to update rooms, but are putting old furniture and appliances back in the rooms. These businesses are required to obtain permits and inspections and hire legal licensed contractors for all work on the premises. This motel is a horrible concoction of non-professional construction and decorating.
The rates are higher than other hotels in this town and the owner did not give me a discount on my AAA card as he said he was going to.
A miserable night in a town with many trains barreling through town all night!

Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly before you pay for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is an OK hotel for an overnight stay. It appeared that the room we were in had been remodeled to some extent. The only problem was that the same “old” furniture was put back in the room. The air conditioner was very noisy (heater) but I guess it kept some of the train noise from creeping in. It really took away from the work that was done to upgrade the room. The other problem was the bathroom door was so crooked on the hinges it would not close. The microwave and fridge were nice, but placed behind the bathroom door. So the door that wouldn’t close all the way had to be closed to use the equipment. We would probably find another hotel in Van Horn if we stopped here again.

Room Tip: Inspect the room they are putting you in first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My family and I have stayed at this motel many times while traveling between Texas and Arizona, all I want is a clean room with AC or heat as needed, a hot shower, a comfortable non-buggy bed, and quiet. We stayed in room 124. They are in the process of remodeling replacing the carpet and the bathroom has been updated with new granite sink tops and bathtub surround. The rooms have allways been clean and neat. Everything works from the coffee pot to the TV. Front desk clerks have been helpful and courteous, even with travelers who are having a bad day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

thank you so much for your kind comments, and we very apriciate you buisness. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. we look forward to serve you with same service in you future trip. thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#3 of 14 in Van Horn
628 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
3.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
67 reviews
2.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
55 reviews
3.3 km away
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Quality Inn of Van Horn
#5 of 14 in Van Horn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Van Horn TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Van Horn TX

Address: 600 East Broadway, I-10 @ Exit 140 B, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Van Horn TX 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Van Horn TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Van Horn TX Texas
Van Horn Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing