We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
228
13
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
13
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house pedernales cellars texas hill country sunrise suite sun room lbj ranch the cottages carriage house lovely bed and breakfast lavender suite johnson city large bedroom b bs relaxing weekend peace and quiet an easy drive anniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Our visit to the Rose Hill Manor was absolutely amazing. I could not ask for a better stay. We stayed in the Lavender and Lace room, our view was spectacular, the service couldn’t have been exceeded our expectations. Patty, Bob, Chris, Glen, and the rest of the staff truly made the stay exceptional. The breakfast that was served was so tasty and fancy! This trip was magical from the beginning to the end, I can not wait to go back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Whitney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thanks so much for your review of Rose Hill Manor, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We're very glad to hear you liked the service, we try very hard to create a warm family atmosphere. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We wanted to try a different B&B then our usual for our anniversary weekend. We had never been to Fredericksburg, and decided to give Rose Hill Manor a try. We stayed in the Library Loft, which looks just like the photos online. The property is beautiful, and the staff are very accommodating. There are wineries everywhere, and they even give you card for a free wine tasting for two and Pedernales Cellars, which is within walking distance, if you chose to do so. If I had any complaints it would be that the bed was a little soft (feather topper, but most B&B's have them), and breakfast is only served from 8am-9am, but was very good. All and all it was an excellent stay, and we will return again.

Room Tip: Make sure you read up on your room choice. Ours had stairs, and if you have mobility issues, this would not suit you.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Rose Hill Manor, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We've stayed at Rose Hill many times over the years, most recently in Hilltop Cottage, one of the original cottages on the property. We've also stayed in the main house and in some of the newer cottages; all are splendid in their own ways. Over the past 20 years, we have traveled all over Europe, the USA, Canada, and much of Asia and have stayed in everything from modest AirBNB apartments to palatial Relais & Chateaux properties to decadent high-rise metropolitan hotels, and yet Rose Hill has a special place in our travels because it's a uniquely enjoyable country inn that combines the best of European-style lodging with Texas hospitality. We've really not seen anything quite like it in our USA travels.

We love Rose Hill for the incredible setting in the Pedernales River Valley; for its proximity to the burgeoning Texas Wine Trail; and for its high standards of comfort and service. The buildings and grounds are immaculate. Every room we've ever stayed in has been lushly appointed, scrupulously clean, and sumptuously comfortable. The beds and bedding are divine.

Although "breakfast" is part of the B&B name, the truth is, breakfast at most American B&Bs is a total crap shoot. Sometimes you're lucky to get a mediocre pastry and perhaps an apple. But at Rose Hill, a full hot breakfast is always served, in quantity, complemented by, in recent visits, fruit smoothies that themselves constitute a meal. In the evening, the recent implementation of a heavy hors d'oeuvre buffet during cocktail hour makes perfect sense for us: sometimes we grab a few nibbles, then head into Fredericksburg for dinner; other times, we fully indulge in the hors d'oeuvres and watch the sun set from Rose Hill's porch, along with a glass (okay, two or three glasses) of wine from their wide selection, then roll into bed for the evening.

We've brought various friends here over the years, some of them from outside Texas, and Rose Hill is something they invariable talk about long after they return home.

Room Tip: Sunrise & Sunset suites in main house are only ones with access to 2nd-floor veranda, with killer views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Just a beautiful elegant place. We stayed in wonderfully appointed separate cottage. Spectacular view over the Pedernales valley. You can walk to adjacent winery. Delicious hot breakfast. Friendly and attentive staff. Short drive to the LBJ ranch.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Rose Hill Manor is very charming. The cabins are romantic and lovely. Just don’t let the looks fool you. The site is beautiful, but our stay there was very disappointing. We had a siblings reunion at the Inn, we were greeted cordially by Glenn who explained the policies and breakfast. They need to do a better job describing breakfast as it was not at all as expected. First said it was a buffet which it wasn’t. They first brought out one type of pastry and a fruit bowl. At eight the waitress serve the one hot plate entry for each person. There was no choice nor did anyone know in advance the days hot plate which for each of the days we where there meal was very poor. There were no buffet choices. Don’t even consider the evening dinner which you have to order five days in advance which is fixed price and can’t be canceled. Also you have no choice on menu. The Inn management is very inflexible with very strict policies. So much you are constantly uncomfortable. The location is okay for visiting the wine country vineyards. But the towns with shopping, restaurants and attractions are a 40 mile round trip. In addition your car will be dirty from the long unpaved drive from the gate.

Do not recommend and will most definitely will not go back.

Management needs to reconsider their policies and be more flexible.
Need to be more hospitable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Rose Hill Manor. We no longer offer choices at breakfast and have not for a while, the breakfast menu has been crafted from 10+ years of customer feedback on their favorite dishes. Like almost all B&Bs in the US, we don't have choices of breakfast items unless there are dietary restrictions, which we are almost more than happy to accommodate. We're also sorry if there was confusion regarding a buffet, we used that to describe the piece of furniture that all the coffee, tea, etc. is placed on. Yes, the dinner is a pre fixe menu, and is totally optional as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews