We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I went for a long Thanksgiving weekend. We had the Library room, and it was well-equipped with all standard amenities, and the library consisted of a wall full of books, with a really fantastic variety -- everything from the latest Dick Francis, through Hardy Boys mysteries, old encyclopedias and National Geographic, to essays of Plato. In addition, there is a larger library, as well as a well-equipped board game room and bar in the main building.
Food was great, everyone was helpful, everything was perfect. The biggest thing to complain about was a small squeak in our door.
There are few places I'd plan a return trip to, as I like new things a LOT. I'm already planning my next trip here, it's that good.
It's 15 miles from Fredericksburg, and just a little closer to the smaller town of Johnson City -- this is not the place for night life. But for a weekend away or as a base for day trips with a luxurious evening, it's really great.

We ate dinner at the restaurant twice, and that was excellent, too. All in all, this was a good experience

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    10
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
144
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have stayed several times at the Rose Hill in Stonewall Texas. We have also enjoyed dinner/ wine paring at their small restaurant "Austin's". I you are looking for a quiet, beautifully kept Bed and Breakfast near Fredericksburg Texas, the Rose Hill is the place. Great views, immaculate rooms, great food and wine selection, Breakfast is included. They also offer free wine tasting coupons to a winery within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Rose Hill offers Rooms in the main building or more private cotages. Both are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Rose Hill Manor looks like my idea of a plantation home. The decor is traditional, but the facilities are thoroughly modern. If you like elegance, convenience, large porches, and scenic beauty, you will enjoy Rose Hill Manor. You might even see a herd of deer and llamas - we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Austin Suite and thought it was beautiful and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I made that not-so-long drive from Austin, into a dark & starry hill country night, ending up at our very own cottage house, Oak Grove, at Rose Hill Manor. The cottage was even more lovely & relaxing then I'd envisioned it from pictures on the interweb. A gorgeous king-sized bed, brimming with cloud-like pillows, a spacious, pristine bath area, and lovely hardwood floors polished to a shine. I loved how the tv was tucked away in an armoire for emergencies (e.g. the NBA playoffs, in our case). I felt subliminally encouraged to shut off electronic devices and enjoy the beautiful silence, take a bath, play cards, or just sit outside in our cottage's Adirondack chairs and look at the stars. Paying a little extra to have the full breakfast room-serviced was well worth it, as we were able to eat al fresco, looking at hummingbirds in the garden, taking in the sweeping pastoral scapes around us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doryAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My partner and I have been travelling round Texas on holiday from England, and chose Rose Hill Manor as a luxury treat towards the end of our vacation. We were not disappointed! We stayed 2 nights in the Green Suite, comprising of a large bedroom and separate sitting room, all very tastefully and comfortably furnished. The staff were all very polite, welcoming and helpful, breakfast was gorgeous, and the setting was fantastic...a long driveway up to the Inn surrounded by plains and trees, with alpacas and deer grazing. We watched the sun setting before driving into nearby Frederiksburg ( about 15 miles away) for evening meal. ( though you can eat at the hotel). On our first day , we visited the Pacific War Museum in Frederiksburg, which was extremely interesting, ( went right back to the origins of Chino-Japanese feuding, and through history to the dropping of the Atomic bomb). Also a great place to visit nearby is the Lyndon B Johnson ranch/birthplace. And for wine lovers, Frederiksburg and the surrounding Hill Country has a growing no of quality vineyards/wineries ( dont miss Becker Winery for fantastic mellow red wine "Iconocast Fascination". Guests at Rose Hill receive discount/free vouchers to a variety of local places including a distillery, winery and shops. Great service and great value for money, tho at the upper end of our budget!

Room Tip: As far as we could make out, the rooms/suites in the main house were pretty much identical to the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
21.9 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
4.2 km away
The Italian Place Bed and Breakfast
21.8 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#6 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
36.9 km away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 81 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.0 km away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#16 of 81 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Property: Rose Hill Manor
Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Region: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price range (per night): $201 - $323
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing