We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to relax”
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to relax”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This resort was exactly what we were looking for. We were carrying our lab with us so our choices on the island were limited. La Quinta wanted $250 a night which is ridiculous so I started doing research and choose here.

The room was ready when we arrived a couple minutes before checkin so that was a bonus. The room was exactly as pictured on the website besides the TV. The TV's here are about 19 inches and very old, we had to go somewhere to watch the Women's World Cup final, which was fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they even brought us a bottle of champaign for our anniversary. The beach access is great and very close. The restraunt was also good and the bar tender was very friendly, you can get a good view of the ocean while dining if you get there soon enough to enjoy happy hour. I would recommend this hotel for couples in their late 20's on. This is not a party spot and was quiet and relaxing with several older couples and small families. The pool is a bit small but the beach is so close it really doesn't make a difference. We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Only the king suite has a decent TV I was told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    57
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
93
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you are expecting the Mandarin or Four Seasons, this is not the place. If you want to be on the beach in Padre and require a clean, simple room for the family, this is the place. The staff is really friendly and they have perfected a nice Motel model here. The Cafe on the Beach is attached to the property and the food there is wonderful. If you have kids, you probably wont be spending much time in the rooms because they will be in the pool the entire time or in the ocean. Not that it matters, but the kids complained about the TV not being very nice. I was actually glad the TV was not very nice. Good excuse to keep it off. They have WI-FI and everything else you could expect for around $120 a nite (at least in the summer rate). Grab the family and Go Now !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGVcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Wounderful place by the sea. Very convenient if you bring your car with parking just outside your door. The Cafe is one of the best places to eat on the island and comes with a great view. Loved the very access to the beach. Nice people running the place made the stay relaxing like a good vacation should be.

Sunny Side

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sommarkul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was one of the first resorts on the island and it shows it in a good way. The place was simple and not like the look of your usual hotels. It had the resort feel that someone staying on a island would want. Staying in the Palms on the Beach really completed the whole trip. One piece of advice. Ladies, bring a hair dryer. When me and my boyfriend went, I was thinking there was going to be one, but there wasn't. I didn't mind much, but other people might. Just a heads up.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. They are have windows facing away from the beach. But all rooms have a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach_Bum1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Right on the beach with a great restaurant/bar. A little old compared to newer chains and definitely pricing but if what you want is a convenient place with comfortable rooms with refrigerator, sink and microwave this is a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennish35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.2 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,554 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,490 reviews
3.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
618 reviews
1.7 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
205 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 3616 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Palms Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing