We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
55
31
16
8
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
31
16
8
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river access pecan trees san marcos river dog park great park stay awhile rv experience driving down full hookups labor day weekend quiet at night growth tumbled deluxe grandkids electricity roomy
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

My family and I stayed at Pecan Park this past weekend (Labor Day Weekend). My husband and I stayed with his brother in his RV and rented a Deluxe site. A month after we rented, my in-laws decided to rent their own spot and only Standard sites were still available. I have never been in a RV park so i can only speak of this experience. Our site (the Deluxe site) was awesome! We got #419 which is surrounded by large growth trees. We were completely shaded most of the day. Our site was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The Standard site that the in-laws got was clean as well, but it only had a small tree on it. Their site was exposed to the sun all day. We noticed that most of the Deluxe sites were covered and Standards were not. Oh well, the in-laws spent all day with us anyway, which was no problem. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. They recommended a tube shuttle down the road which we used several times. We also loved all the activities the Park sponsored. Every day was something different and we enjoyed all of them, especially the live music and dinner. The river access is awesome and we had a blast! We had ages ranging from 16 to 63 and everyone had a great time! We tubed several times each day, going to the shuttle or driving down to the low water crossing. We also stayed up one night until dusk enjoying the river. The park was very clean and the restrooms and pool area was very well kept. I read the negative reviews prior to renting and was skeptical. We are so glad we threw caution to the wind and decided on Pecan Park. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank texasgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PecanPark2013, Owner at Pecan Park Riverside RV, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Texasgirl, thank you for coming to see for yourself! Happy trails until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We booked this park after several conversations via email and messenger to confirm that the park had the amenities that we were looking for in a long term rental for the winter. When we arrived our lot was not cleaned up from leave debris. The pool area was in disrepair. The hot tub was old and in an area that required maintenance. The laundry room had 8 washers and dryers of which 2 washers worked poorly and 3 dryers worked well. The community centre was only open during business hours, 9-5 so not activities after that time. They ran a few activities during the day, cooking class etc. Which required an absorbent fee, so attendance was poor. At the pot luck dinner 3 couples showed up. I was in the laundry room one day and mentioned my displeasure, and the lady in there shut the door, and said that if you complained they would throw you out of the park. We went to the office and complained and told them we would not be staying the full 3 months and would leave after 1 month, giving the required 21 day notice. However they would not refund out deposit of $250. Plus $50 for hydro. They began to threaten us, about complaining. After that we received a warning on out trailer door. We left the park, without our deposit returned. Do not go to this park. The management are not on the property and we were not allowed to speak or contact them. The park staff ride around on golf carts all day and do very little work. This was a very sad thing to treat visitors to your country this way. This park needs some management.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Beetonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PecanPark2013, Owner at Pecan Park Riverside RV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hi, Beetonians. Thank you for your review regarding your January 2018 stay. Here is our response regarding the issues you mentioned. You arrived on a Wednesday, so our grounds maintenance team would've come the next day to mow, mulch, and clean everything up. We can't keep leaves from falling to the ground; all we can do is tidy up on a scheduled basis. The hot tub stays closed in winter, unless someone requests it to be opened, which we're happy to do. We recall 2 of our 8 washing machines being loud during your visit. Eventually the motors did go out, but we immediately ordered new motors and replaced them. Appliances inevitably wear down and require replacing or repair, since our laundry facility is used regularly by our guests. During January 2018, we had campground activities on 6 of 7 days of the week. Anyone can search our Facebook page to see the calendar we posted for that month. We did have a fee for the cooking class to cover costs (around $10), which we received no other complaints about. We did end up changing our potluck from Thursday because it didn't seem to be the best day for our guests' schedule. But we went ahead with Thursday in January, since the calendar had been published and we didn't want to confuse anyone. Your site deposit was not refunded, per the agreement you signed. The site electric deposit (you called it hydro) was refunded, minus your electric use. At least twice, we asked you to leash your dog during your stay. This was the reason for the note on your door. We enforce this rule for the benefit of all of our guests, especially the many children who stay with us. Our owner was not hiding from you. While he comes and goes from the park, he is always willing to take calls on his personal cell phone when he's away. Wintertime is slower for our outdoor maintenance team. The people you saw on golf carts were most likely doing security checks. During that season, our team is typically indoors doing bathroom renovations, painting, etc. Most importantly, we have no reason to threaten our guests or be unkind. Besides the fact that behavior isn't acceptable, the fact is we stand by our campground policies and enforce them fairly across the board. It's unfortunate that you didn't find what you were looking for here, but we wish you the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

What a great place to set up your traveling home.

We set up tents along the river and they all had water and electricity nearby.

A quiet place and visitors are screened.

Caters to groups of well behaved people.

There is access to the river to enjoy.

You will not hear traffic.

You may have deers visiting you.

A great place to have your kids explore.

Beautiful views and serenity.

Try and get in you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank hpresas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PecanPark2013, Owner at Pecan Park Riverside RV, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hypresas, thank you for the kind review! While we don't have tent camping here (RV sites only), we have had guests set up shade canopies down on the riverbank. It is so peaceful to spend a day by the water. Happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

wonderful.shady.polite. friendly Live live live live live live a wonderful fabulous right by the river Can't say enough about it I wanna come every month save me space. Friendly people lots of friendly dogs real short distance to the water

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PecanPark2013, Owner at Pecan Park Riverside RV, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Love your excitement, Danielle! It is a beautiful, peaceful place, especially for those who love to be by the river (and who wouldn't?). We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

The park staff are friendly & very helpful. Our Deluxe site was wide and provided shade most of the day. Access to the San Marcos River is a short walk with ample shoreline to put chairs & some even had pop up canopies bot provide shade.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PecanPark2013, Owner at Pecan Park Riverside RV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Marian, thank you for your review and for staying at Pecan Park. Happy trails until your wheels bring you to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews