We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Rental!”
other travellers have booked this property
Boardwalk to beautiful beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boardwalk to beautiful beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Boardwalk to beautiful beach
The kids all love this room!
Don't miss going for a ride on the public ferry in town! You'll see sunsets and dolphins!
A playful dolphin by the ferry landing
Two twin beds in second room
1 King bed in master bedroom.  Sliding glass door for direct access to balcony
one of the public ferry's
Looking back at La Mirage from the beach
The Beach on a foggy morning...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Aransas, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy R
Abilene, Texas
1 review
“Great Rental!”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This rental was exactly as described. The ocean view was great, very close to the beach. The rental itself was fully stocked with what we needed. It was very relaxing and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to the beach
Liked least: The shower stall was very small, definately made for children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Well-Decorated Unit but Building Maintenance Issues”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Many Positives But Quite a few Negatives

POSITIVES: Short well-lit well-maintained boardwalk (as pictured by owner) to the beach--MUCH SHORTER WALK TO BEACH than most places. Also has a place to wash off with fresh water.

CLEAN, very nice Unit interior with lots of fish/shore decorations. New Appliances, Well stocked kitchen. Lots of room in the common area. Comfortable beds and furniture. Well Better than most

FAMILY ATMOSPHERE--Other guests were generally quiet and friendly even on Saturday night. Small Newer flat screen TV in Kids room and working WIFI. Small box TV in master bedroom which we didn't use. Lots of nice patio furniture on the deck. Southish facing deck meant that the hot sun didn't bother you either early morning or late afternoon so nice to sit out there.
BASKETBALL COURT-- my son really enjoyed using the court. TWO POOLS. The water was very hot so we didn't use the pools but many other guests seemed to be enjoying them. AWAY from the auto traffic of downtown--the beach was only quite crowded on Saturday (However beach sign said free parking between beach markers 58&62 which may increase cars on beach near hotel). La Mirage is at Marker 62.

NEGATIVES: ELEVATORS were atrocious. On Sunday morning--At least three nearest elevators, possibly all were out simultaneously for more than 90 minutes requiring traversal of 3 flights of stairs carrying luggage. Someone across the court yard was trapped in the elevator for at least 5-10 minutes and was continually ringing the alarm bell. The elevators and stairs are very hot and humid and extremely basic--no AC-so that must have been an unpleasant experience for those trapped. The elevators were very slow the rest of the time even when they were working.
DOORS Almost every door in the unit had a problem. 1) The front door was cracked on the edge and presumably had expanded in the humidity. As a result a) the deadbolt would not work from the outside b) the door stuck in the frame making it hard to even know whether the small push button lock was actually locked. c) This lock also started getting loose like it too would break, It rattled in the door and the lock had tilted 20 degrees off vertical by the end of our stay with only a tiny bit of wood to keep the lock engaged . In short very poor door security. Hopefully the owner will fix this.

2) the "sliding" door to the balcony from the master bedroom was immobile even after removing the security stick and unlocking it--presumably due to the huge amount of condensation that seemed to collect in the lower track.

3) The second glass door to the balcony from the living room also doesn't slide. You had to physically lift this heavy glass door with both hands and try to move it just above the bottom of the track a foot or two and then squeeze through to the balcony. Make sure you have a stronger person in your group do this if it isn't fixed.

4) The master bedroom door to the closet swings open and wont latch which is a problem because there is a ticking A/C noise coming from inside it. (see other review mentioning A/C noise below). It isn't incredibly loud just annoying while sleeping--I wore ear plugs but noise didn't bother my wife--A/C Noise would be a lot quieter if you could close the closet door--we put a suitcase in front of the door to almost close it.

VIEW FROM BALCONY-- the unit doesn't really directly face the ocean like the other portion of Mirage but faces south down the island. You CAN however easily see the ocean a ways off to the left and the bay very far off to the right. However there is a building right in front of the balcony which other units in Mirage do not have to worry about. Also a large tall condo unit far to the left nearer to the beach partially obscures the beach view. However on the happier side you can definitely see the waves crashing at a distance unlike units on the lower floors which would be blocked by the high dunes.

BUILDING REPAIR The Mirage building closer to the beach which you walked through & under needed lots of repair, including missing a 2' by 2' wall panel near the elevator exposing a large hole and insulation. A piece of wood was also missing from the edge of the exterior hallway between 325 and that building. Numerous 18 inch square ceiling tiles were missing from the roof that you walked under to reach the beach and your car. There was an incredible stench from the trash can at the base of the elevator nearest the beach--which persisted for several days and could even be smelled from within the elevator. My wife would walk up to the first floor and take the elevator from there to 3rd floor to avoid the smell.

PARKING-- there was a difficult to navigate narrow U-Turn through stone pillars to access the reserved parking. The guy with the larger truck near us was not happy. However there is un-reserved parking nearby that could be used to avoid this problem. Someone was parking in our spot for about 20 minutes one morning but they finally moved and the front desk was sympathetic to our concerns.

CONCLUSION: So--hopefully the owner will fix the door problems after reading this (we also emailed her) and presumably the elevators were repaired later on Sunday after we left. If these items were fixed the positives would outweigh the negatives. Right now it's a balance. I chose "Yes" below based on the doors and elevators being fixed

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanceanda...
1 review
“Great place to stay in Port A”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a well maintained condo just near the city limits from Port Aransas. That means fewer crowds at the nearby stretch of beach (only steps away at the end of the boardwalk). The kitchen has all the utensils we needed and the W/D worked fine for us. The girls were thrilled to have a tv in their room that they could watch when we napped. The salt air has taken a slight toll on the sliding doors to the balcony (the one in the master works better), and I could not get the key to turn completely in the deadbolt due to arthritis; my husband had to do it. But overall this was a great place to hang out and relax after a day of excitement on the beach. I absolutely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S
1 review
“Average rental”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our family of 4 (2 adults & 2 school age kids) stayed a week in unit 325. The unit is kept pretty clean - minus the excessive dust build-up on the ceiling fans and the patio door that you couldn't see out of for the great ocean view. The kitchen is well equipped, but there is so much stuff in the cabinets that you have no space to put groceries. This made it difficult to prepare a meal when the counter space was used for keeping groceries. The A/C unit was also VERY loud in the main bedroom. Woke us up every time it came on, which made for poor sleeping. The unit worked for our week there, but it could definitely use updating or painting at the least.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
We are sorry your experience was not a 5 star. Our unit is normally in tip top shape, I will issue a work order for the AC unit noise you mentioned and will make sure the maid is aware of the other issues you brought to my attention. There are generally two full size cabinets that are empty for guest groceries, sometimes though during the summer rentals, other guests may move dishes around in places they do not belong. I will have the maid also check on this for me as well. Thank you for your comments and input!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie D
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This condo left me speechless. Very well stocked, very well kept, and the balcony was amazing!!!! Pools and hot tubs were very nice to have close and the beach was steps away. The only downside was the washer would not start for me, and the door was very hard to open/shut. Other then that - this condo has everything you could possibly think you would need for a quick vacation getaway. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: wifi was very slow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so glad you enjoyed our home away from home! I am sorry the washer would not start, it is new and I will have maintenance check on it as well as the door sticking. Thank you for choosing our condo for your vacation in Port Aransas!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing