We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and close to all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottages at Seashell Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottages at Seashell Village
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and close to all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having never stayed in Port Aransas, we were not really sure where we should stay. I did not want to do the usual hotel room and instead, opted for a cottage. I chose The Cottages at Seashell Village and I am glad I did. We stayed in Cottage #2 and it was clean, comfortable and has a beachy charm that was right on target. The grounds were super clean, and the staff was super friendly. A short walk to the beach and a short drive to anywhere else. This will be our go to place when traveling with our pet to Port A.

Room Tip: Security lights were a problem in Cottage #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vis78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The cottage we rented, #5, was exactly what we were hoping for. The grounds and building itself were really clean, and the staff was great and extremely helpful. The kitchen is well stocked and had everything we needed to cook the fish we caught. I would highly recommend this location for families or couples looking to get away to a place with the amenities of home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allisonpaige0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

They told us if we don't take out our trash, and clean the room they are going to charge us a fee. They even brought us a vacuum! This is insane, we are doing their job! One of our fold out couches was totally broken too. Don't stay here if you don't like paying to clean up after youself at a hotel. Thanks for nothing seashell hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jordanmp627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I’m so glad we found this place, thanks to TA reviews. The staff here are so nice: We arrived in town earlier than expected and because guests hadn’t checked out yet, we went to lunch and later got a call from reception that our room was ready (way before the official check-in time). Shelly and Martha were not only welcoming but also accommodating and helpful throughout our brief stay. I have to say, staff are an equally important factor when we think about returning to a particular hotel/property - They were awesome!

Our cottage was towards the end of the driveway between the pool and common BBQ area. It was nice and quiet and, as others have mentioned, the cottages have fully-equipped kitchens. I never know how “fully-equipped” is defined from one property to the next but this place had it all (e.g., dinner plates, cups and saucers, 3 different types of beverage glass sets, full set of pots and pans, utensils, baking sheet, colander – even a plastic pitcher if you want to sit outside with your cold drink!).

Our room was spacious with queen bed, dresser, full-sized sofa, TV, and a breakfast table in the kitchen area. There were extra blankets and towels if you needed them, plus an ironing board in the open closet; there’s a towel warmer in the bathroom (neat!).

There is no full maid service – that is, only your towels and other linen are replenished daily and if you need your sheets changed, you’ll have to make a request. There’s a coin-operated laundry room on site, which is convenient.

Loved our stay here. There are other options in Port A but considering the location, great value (we went midweek post-Labor Day), nice accommodations and friendly staff, we’ll be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

After having a bad experience at another hotel, Seashell Village came to the rescue! This place is nice and very clean!! The staff is also very nice and they are always having specials on their prices. I signed up to receive emails so I'm always getting updates on upcoming specials. My family will be staying here from now on!!! :) The newer complex is where we stayed and it would be perfect for honeymooners! The only complaint that I do have is that other people satying on the island that don't have a pool...may cruise over and use Seashells. The pool here is not very big so it makes it hard to enjoy when there are a bunch of people in it that aren't paying customers! They do it when the office closes so I don't know what the staff can do about it. But otherwise...GREAT PLACE!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tera010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.3 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.1 km away
Double Barr Cottages
Double Barr Cottages
#34 of 42 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea and Sand Cottages
Sea and Sand Cottages
#37 of 42 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Seashell Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Seashell Village

Property: The Cottages at Seashell Village
Address: 506 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5747 (Formerly Gulf Beach Cottages)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price range (per night): $52 - $104
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Seashell Village Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing