We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Double Barr Cottages
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Cant beat the location. It's in the middle of everything and only three blocks from the beach. Quiet family place to spend the night. Served our purpose, but would have liked a little more refinement.
The downside was: A/C is a window unit, insufficient to cool down the entire place. Rust coming though fresh painted window trims, dated appliances. Matresses were terrible, feels like a water bed.

Room Tip: Location and quietness is it's only attribute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guillermo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages.

Our cottages are quaint at 450 sq ft. This is why we keep the occupancy at 6 people including children. Too many people in a cottage makes for a cramped unpleasant hot vacation.

Due to the excessive heat this summer we have added second ac units to many of our larger cottages. The beach creates its own rust within days at the beach.

I wish you had let us know while you were here since it takes guest feedback for me to determine which beds need replacing and what we can do to improve our little cottages. Thank you for staying at Double Barr. Come see our improvements after the off season I'm sure you'll love what we have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016

I have left several previous reviews of this property over the years and I am thoroughly impressed with managements ability to address the issues reviewers comment about on TripAdvisor. Previously, I had mentioned that the grills on the property were unusable. Their response: brand new natural gas grills that are piped in so that residents need only turn a valve to grill away. I had also mentioned the lack of storage space and chairs. Their response: new shelving and a comfortable futon (replacing the Adirondack chairs.)

The coffee pot in our room and the oven did not work correctly, but it was too hot for coffee and we managed to everything on the grills just fine.Biggest complaint would be that management is not reliably available throughout the day. They are currently renovating another property and it seems that this may be causing issues regarding time management. Several times, we witnessed people trying to check in only to find the office door locked and no one available to let them in their cabin. Fresh towels, toilet paper, trash bags, etc were also not always easily accessible due to management being out of the office.

Room Tip: If you are in Cabin 6, watch out for the bed frame in the private room. Our ankles and toes are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. Our guests' feedback is the best way for us to know how we are doing.

We are sorry you feel we were not accessible. We are not usually off the property but just not always in the office. Most of your party was in my office or at the front palapa every morning and I exchanged towels for them myself. We do ask that guest do ask for towel exchange or other items by NOON. The standard office hours are 9-5. There were a few after hours incidents you may have witnessed such as locked out and a maintenance issue- these guest called and we were quickly on property helping them. We love seeing our guest enjoy the property and all it has to offer.

See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We recently spent 4 nights at the Double Barr Cottages in Port Aransas. The cottages are rather small, but do offer a separate bedroom with door. The cottage came with a large refrigerator / freezer, full size range, microwave, and sink as well as some dishes to cook with.
The property is older and the bathroom was very small. There is not much room to move about in the cottage as the space is maximized for sleeping. There were (2) full / queen beds and a couch that turned into a bed for sleeping additional kids. If your looking for a room to spread out in or spend a lot of time in then this probably isn't the place for you. If you on the other hand are in Port Aransas to enjoy the beach, fishing, restaurants, and nightlife and just need a place to sleep and eat (if you care to cook) then this place is actually a good fit for a family on a budget as the rates were very reasonable considering the number of places to sleep and the fact that you could actually cook a meal if you wanted to.
The lady in the office was nice and helpful. I believe she said there is a pool at an adjacent property that you can use with the rental but we preferred the beach.....
We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank jameswvlcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages.
I am excited to tell you we have remodeled and made the showers larger and brighter.
Stay at Double Barr Cottages this year and I'm sure you will love the changes too.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I got a great last minute deal on the deluxe cottage. The ladies at check in were very nice and helpful. Once we got to the cottage though there were a decent amount of mosquitos inside that we had to continually swat throughout the night. While sleeping though, I didn't get too many bites. The location of this place is perfect! We walked down to the beach as well as to Allister street area where lots of restaurants are. The walk to the beach was about 10 minutes and it was about a 25 minute walk to Allister street. Beds were nothing special but got the job done. I will say that the place smelled clean when we first walked in and we got what we paid for. We were in the cabin farthest away from the office so the wireless didn't work :(

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages.

Thanks to the Texas rains, mosquitoes have arrived in Port Aransas. The City sprays several times weekly and we spray our property but when going in out of cottages they do their best to get inside. I am glad they were under control by that night.

Our wifi extender is not working as it should. We should have wifi throughout all cottages no later than July. It is available in common areas near the front of the property. Just bring your laptop and enjoy the palapa outside. Thank you for your patience as we work through this issue.

Our housekeeping works hard and I am glad you noticed the extra effort they make in our rentals.

Come again soon. Do not forget it is still hot in Texas in September and October!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Customer service was great, they waited for us because we were running late to check in. We were in their trailer rooms, I had told them how many people were with us and they put us in perfect size. Clean, cold, cozy, had full kitchen, rooms were cozy, except our bed had permanent indentation so was uncomfortable about middle of the night. Only stayed one day but it was a perfect for last minute. Price was good compared to others for last minute and amount of people.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lorena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy W, General Manager at Double Barr Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you for staying at Double Barr Cottages. We love being a go-to place for you and your family. We are researching units to replace beds and the trailers are at the top of my list. Next time do not forget to ask about your 2nd location to use the pool.

Again thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
2 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.3 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
362 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.2 km away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Barr Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Barr Cottages

Address: 415 Ave G, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: $227 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Double Barr Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 rentals on 1 acre a short 2 blocks from the beach. Natural gas BBQ pits, lots of outdoor seating, fully equipped kitchens, sleep 4-6 people, boat parking and a lit fish cleaning facility! Pet friendly rentals available for an additional fee. Call for a daily and weekly vacation rates available. Let Double Barr Cottages be your home away from home in Port Aransas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Double Barr Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Barr Cottages Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing