We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Double Barr Cottages
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We stayed in one of the beach side cottages in January with our three teenage kids. We were about 200 yds from the water Not luxurious by any means but we had plenty of space for all of us. Nice to have the kitchen area for cooking and snacking. If you plan on staying for a couple of days and plan on using the kitchen be sure to stock up on your own necessities like dish soap and coffee. There were plenty of dishes for us to use.The place was nice and clean but the coffee maker was old and disgusting.The weather was in the 30s during our stay and the wind blew under the front door like crazy but was not that big of deal to us. The heater worked great! We would definitely stay here again hopefully with nicer weather and for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: We stayed at 826 room 2. Not a view of the water from that room so I would try to get the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Cant express how gross it was-Blood on shower curtain, stains all over the beds, windows-ref-floors-filthy. Had to wear flip flops in shower /and on floors! Decorative hand towel after unfolding was filled with dirt and hair. Used cup filled with black stuff under bed. Rooms never cooled. Doesn't look anything like pics.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sam10443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We traveled to port Aransas on a very busy/booked weekend. Luckily we found the Double Barr Cottages had an availability. I thought the only cottages they had were in their main lot but we were surprised to find that our cottage was on another property. It was awesome --- quaint and quite. We had the place all to ourselves. Full kitchen/fridge/utensils ... The only thing missing were the amenities like shampoo/conditioners/soaps --- but it was literally 1 block away from the local grocery store so that was a quick fix! We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful front office person named Suzy, who was fantastic. Places are cute and add charm from normal sterile hotel rooms. Our unit was clean and Suzy had turned the AC on to cool and accommodated our late arrival. Having a kitchen for making meals was a plus, but the unit could use some better pots, pans, and some kitchen knives. Enjoyed our outdoor grill. Overall great place. Will be back.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank GGRN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Words cannot express how awful this place is. The "cottages" are really just little shacks that are very dirty, and very old. They smell of cockroaches, and roach activity is evident. The bathroom fixtures are rusted and dirty, there were no towels. The bunk bed was broken, and the bedspread had unidentified stains on it. I plugged in my phone charger and the wall socket was dead. The whole place was just awful. We were back at the office within 30 minutes to check out and the office refused to cancel our reservation or refund our money. The booking was done through Booking.com and the office lied outright to them about the situation, causing Booking.com to also refuse to stop the charge to our credit card. Now we have to dispute the charges through the credit card company. The place was a nightmare.

Room Tip: If you want a "good room", choose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milady P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
2 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.3 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
361 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
556 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.2 km away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Barr Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Barr Cottages

Address: 415 Ave G, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range: $222 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Double Barr Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 rentals on 1 acre a short 2 blocks from the beach. Natural gas BBQ pits, lots of outdoor seating, fully equipped kitchens, sleep 4-6 people, boat parking and a lit fish cleaning facility! Pet friendly rentals available for an additional fee. Call for a daily and weekly vacation rates available. Let Double Barr Cottages be your home away from home in Port Aransas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Double Barr Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Barr Cottages Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing