We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
63
40
11
10
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
40
11
10
26
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Cant express how gross it was-Blood on shower curtain, stains all over the beds, windows-ref-floors-filthy. Had to wear flip flops in shower /and on floors! Decorative hand towel after unfolding was filled with dirt and hair. Used cup filled with black stuff under bed. Rooms never cooled. Doesn't look anything like pics.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room here!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sam10443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We traveled to port Aransas on a very busy/booked weekend. Luckily we found the Double Barr Cottages had an availability. I thought the only cottages they had were in their main lot but we were surprised to find that our cottage was on another property. It was awesome --- quaint and quite. We had the place all to ourselves. Full kitchen/fridge/utensils ... The only thing missing were the amenities like shampoo/conditioners/soaps --- but it was literally 1 block away from the local grocery store so that was a quick fix! We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful front office person named Suzy, who was fantastic. Places are cute and add charm from normal sterile hotel rooms. Our unit was clean and Suzy had turned the AC on to cool and accommodated our late arrival. Having a kitchen for making meals was a plus, but the unit could use some better pots, pans, and some kitchen knives. Enjoyed our outdoor grill. Overall great place. Will be back.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank GGRN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Words cannot express how awful this place is. The "cottages" are really just little shacks that are very dirty, and very old. They smell of cockroaches, and roach activity is evident. The bathroom fixtures are rusted and dirty, there were no towels. The bunk bed was broken, and the bedspread had unidentified stains on it. I plugged in my phone charger and the wall socket was dead. The whole place was just awful. We were back at the office within 30 minutes to check out and the office refused to cancel our reservation or refund our money. The booking was done through Booking.com and the office lied outright to them about the situation, causing Booking.com to also refuse to stop the charge to our credit card. Now we have to dispute the charges through the credit card company. The place was a nightmare.

Room Tip: If you want a "good room", choose another place to stay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milady P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at the Double Barr a few years ago, but this was our first time with new management. The staff was nice and helpful and even put in an extra A/C unit to help cool the room with the 100 heat index. The room was clean and spacious with room for a pack n play and x-large kennel, but there wasn't much comfort in the chairs to relax in the room. We made due with our camping chairs instead. I was surprised to find that the pet fee was per pet, per day upon arrival. I had assumed it would be a one-time/flat fee. All in all, our family enjoyed our stay at the Double Barr and would stay again. It was perfect for our family fishing trip!

Room Tip: Food and shopping in walking distance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews