We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Small but free and interesting railway and electrical museum

This is a really small museum, free admission, focuses on the old Texas Interurban Railway, with... read more

Reviewed 24 July 2018
Ron C
Great Look Into The Past

After living in the area for decades, we finally stopped in to gather information for our... read more

Reviewed 24 May 2018
SeaDays22
,
Plano, Texas
Read all 51 reviews
  
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
26
20
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
20
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train car historical information rapid transit interesting exhibits downtown plano guided tour kids and adults great place denison electricity haggard era railcar texas topic donation park
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

I've visited the museum on multiple occasions, alone and with friends over a period of four years. A few thoughts:

MUSEUM: It is not a large museum, but is very immersive, explaining through exhibits not only the way trains at the turn of the century operated, but the history of rail travel, as well as local rail history. It is located in what used to be an actual station and is very charmingly maintained. Both child-friendly and fascinating for adults.

STAFF: Knowledgeable and passionate. I wound up speaking to one gentleman for over an hour about electrical currents, which just goes to show how much these folks really know about their topic!

LOCATION: Within walking distance of a lovely park, a gorgeous downtown area, and a delightful farmer's market. It is easy to make a whole day out of a trip to the museum by visiting surrounding areas.

PHOTOS: I actually had some shots taken here for graduation and a few other events. The large red train car outside is a stunning backdrop - we even ran into a wedding party once!

All in all a fun, family-safe experience for inquiring minds of all ages.

Thank Moriah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkdotwell, Public Relations Manager at The Interurban Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoy our museum....and that you come back again and again! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

this is a nice way to entertain your little ones. it's free and there is a large playground near the museum. the dart rail is also right there so you could take them on a real train after seeing the models in the interurban railway museum.

Thank alitt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkdotwell, Public Relations Manager at The Interurban Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our museum! Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Good time here verry educational close to restaurants and shopping nice park also to relax and enjoy the weather

Thank 0000071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkdotwell, Public Relations Manager at The Interurban Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

This is a fun place to learn what travel was like in the early 1900's. The Interurban Railway provided transportation, delivered mail, and moved crops, supplies and other goods between Denison and Dallas. Parents will appreciate the historical information and realize what an important boon this must have been to the economy, not to mention being able to travel to other cities. There's information on Plano's history as well. Kids will like being inside a train car, seeing how mail was sent by train, and seeing the model train exhibit. It's a small museum, but several nearby options could extend the outing. It's located in Haggard Park, with plenty of shade and seating for a picnic or just to enjoy the park. Across the street is historic downtown Plano with shops, restaurants, etc. It's also next to a Dart Rail stop (red line) so kids could ride a train of their own. I would recommend it as a fun way to spend the day. There is no charge for the museum and it is open Monday thru Saturday. Hours vary by day, so check the website.

Thank RovingCriticDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkdotwell, Public Relations Manager at The Interurban Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Interurban Railway Museum. Stop by and see us again soon, and don't forget...we have children's story time every Friday at 10:30 a.m. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Little museum tells the story of Plano. Surrounding area has restaurant and night life. Only need to plan for an hour visiting time.

Thank Firsttimer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkdotwell, Public Relations Manager at The Interurban Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews