We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“beautiful gardens and nice boat ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center

Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens and nice boat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lots of egrets are nesting now (April). We even saw baby egrets in the nests. My husband and spotted four alligators as well. The gardens and ponds were beautiful. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They were eager to tell us about the gardens. The boat ride was fun. The price of $10 for adults was a bargain.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    29
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Earth Day Butterfly Release”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a great place to visit. We took the kids to the FREE Annual event for Earth Day @ Shangri-La - (usually there is a nominal fee) http://www.shangrilagardens.org and all the children and adults were given envelopes with butterfly's to release at a specific time. It was a wonderful and educational way to spend a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The gardens are spectacular and the children loved to see the birds, fish and wildlife. We will definatley visit again soon!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank racethis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

They always have something blooming. Overall they are an enjoyable experience with nature at her best. Always having new things learn.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Queenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauriceville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I cannot say enough about Shangri La. We visit often and enjoy it each time we visit. The volunteers and staff are courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable. The grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained. You can truly spend hours here. The children's garden is educational and fun. My daughter has attended camps and programs hosted at Shangri La and has enjoyed each one immensely. Make sure to bring sunscreen, a camera and walking shoes. If you're local it is well worth it to purchase a season pass.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful nature walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Love the nature walks & bayou boat rides. Impressively all green structures as well.

Helpful?
Thank dhickey924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center also viewed

Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
Orange, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shangri La Botanical Gardens and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing