We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really NEAT!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gristmill

Gristmill
Ranked #5 of 253 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, this spectacular restaurant nestled under the shade of towering oak trees has been the perfect getaway for a unique casual dining experience for thirty years. Located in the historic district of Gruene just beneath the famous Gruene water tower, we opened in 1977, serving steaks and hamburgers from a tiny kitchen in the corner of the building. Our menu still features thick steaks and large hamburgers, but the restaurant also serves up popular South Texas fare like chicken fried steak, fried catfish, grilled chicken, enormous sandwiches, fresh fish and special dishes like tomatillo chicken and bronzed catfish. Fudge pie, the enormous strawberry shortcake and our signature Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie are famous desserts. A full bar with a good wine list and fresh squeezed lime margaritas are also big hits.
Fort Smith,Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really NEAT!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very attractive and unusual interior!! Food is good-

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    657
    206
    49
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They Can Do Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Recommended by the good citizens of New Braufels, the venue is lovely as is the ambiance. The staff are mostly disinterested young people who look tired of the whole business.

The margarita might have been made with fresh limes, but maybe not. The nachos might have been local, but maybe not. The nachos and the dip were unispiring. The salad was uninspiring, as was the blue cheese dressing. The steak was tasty and cooked correctly. The pasta special with jumbo shrimp wrapped in bacon was the very best of the three dishes, but the pasta portions were quite overwhelming. The sauce and pasta were well prepared.

The pepper steak was competent. The ribeye was competent. The round fries were competent. The cole slaw was surprisingly good, and seemed locally made fresh. The coffee was luke warm, and the server was amenable to fixing something that should not have to be fixed.

If I had to symbollically summarize the experience, I would point to the utensils which were cheap (the fork bent in use). Yes, the restaurant was reasonably competent, but they really can do better.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyMarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've been coming to Texas for more than 30 years and we always make a point of visiting Gruene, and the top places are the Gruene Hall and the Gristmill. What was once a small old mill/restaurant in a sleepy little town is now a bustling restaurant in a very busy town. It is popular with tourists and locals alike. We were there on a Saturday eve and it was an hour wait. Once we got our table, the service was very good, the food just as good and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjf36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma city
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great afternoon shopping and eating.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great afternoon shopping. Decided to eat at the Gristmill while it was raining. Great atmosphere, huge restaurant. Fun for the Family. Big Menu. Food was very good. we were right in front of the fireplace with a view of the river. Service was Fantastic. Seemed to be a young crowd of college age workers. negatives would be its a little pricey and no where to wait on table but basically outside (which depending on day is ok). Overall definitely would go back if I'm in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The restaurant is amazing. Its in a refurbished gristmill with lots of history, but completely updated. It sits on the river and you can watch it while enjoying a delicious dinner sitting by their huge fireplace! Service was great too, even with a large group including kids! Prices were also reasonable. For such a restaurant I'd have expected to pay a lot more! I highly recommend it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbieTheHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gristmill also viewed

 

Been to Gristmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing