We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not True Mexican”

Mamacita's Restaurant-Cantina
Ranked #25 of 306 Restaurants in New Braunfels
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Started with chips that have a decent salsa but lacks real zest - requested Salsa Verde in hope of more Mexican flavor but none to be had, given a picante sauce with jalapeño just added to bring up fire but no real taste (has sweet picante taste too - boo!). The green sauce with chips is really just some kind of spinach & artichoke dip; ok but certainly not a Mexican staple.
The worst part is the Bacon grease in the beans which overpowers all other tastes and should be excluded unless requested and made known at time of ordering! not assumed that all are going to appreciate the artistic license taken.
Due to this bacon grease use the meal was inedible but was still required to pay. Last time ever to do that!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrReview671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

To was great and hot!Very good and everyone was really nice on the phone and at register.Ill go back for sure!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Food and service was Amazing! My husband and I sat at the bar and had their homemade chips and salsa. Then we split a single order of steak and shrimp fajitas that feed 2 people very easily. All the tortilla are made fresh. Amazing Mexican Food!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank allison1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Best green sauce in Texas! You cannot go wrong with this place! They give you so much food for the reasonable prices! You might as well not even order a meal because the green sauce and hot sauce are so dang delicious and the staff will keep you refilled! But if do get something definitely get the quesadillas... you can't go wrong with those!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Kaila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Walked in at 9pm in a Friday night and was told it would be a 25 minute wait. They text you when your table is ready and that 25 minute wait, was only 5 minutes!
Service was excellent. The waiter has a helper who kept our drinks and chips full. The salsa is so so good! My daughter and I split the beef fajitas with all the trimmings for $14.00. They were great! Wasnt crazy about the peppery rice. An extra side of beans for chips dipping was $2.00. My son had 3 crispy beef tacos with rice and beans for $10.00 and he could only eat 2 of them. He said they were good. My daughter had 3 cheese enchilada dinner at $11.00 and said it was good. My husband had a combo plate at $13.00 and said it was good too. No complaints from us. We will always stop here when in town.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kferrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamacita's Restaurant-Cantina also viewed

 
New Braunfels, TX
New Braunfels, TX
 

Been to Mamacita's Restaurant-Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing