We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Owlswood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinbane, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kevinchri...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and great location”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The property is recently refurbished to a high standard and is in a great location for touring Skye. Phil and Karen were helpful and always eager to answer any questions we had. We were comfortable through our stay and thankful that we decided to stay here.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for a week with my family and a friend. The house is beautiful, comfortable and convenient. The hosts were friendly and helpful when needed. Hope to come back one day when the b&b is completed! Phil has his work cut out for him.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaR...
1 review
“An excellent venue, with a spacious well equipped and comfortable house: a real home-from-home.”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Arriving at Owlswood; the hospitality from Phill and Karen was excellent, with plenty information about sites and venues off the beaten track, which we took on many occasions.
Conveniently situated between Portree and Dunvegan on the Isle of Skye, Edinbane is an excellent location for exploring the north of the Island. A short walk down to the loch furnishes the eye with great views and a plethora of photo opportunities. Once these delights have been savored, then its was off to one of the local pub for refreshments. On occasions,we were entertained by local musicians.
A must return to this well equipped house - with the comforts of home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank_Cas...
Oxford, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great House - Great Location - Great Value”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The other reviews give a better description of the place, but I can give a few of my favourites:
- Walking distance to 2 pubs
- Park for kids within walking distance
- Great house with modern conveinences and no problems during the week
- Owners checked in to make sure everything was to our liking
- Great location to explore Skye
- Wood burning stove keeps the house very warm

I highly recommend this house if you are visiting Skye. It is a great value and you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
needabeer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Owlswood. The cottage has been recently renovated and is finished to a really high standard. It was so easy for the family to make ourselves at home. If you cant live without technology, the living room has a massive TV with cinema speakers and large DVD selection and the wifi is excellent. Also an added bonus was a signal booster for EE in the house (there is no mobile signal otherwise!). The kitchen has everything you could possibly need including two fridges and two freezers, dishwasher etc. There is also washing and drying facilities. Bathroom and ensuite are both very nice with excellent showers. The bedrooms are large and comfortable with tons of cupboard and drawer storage. Patio doors both in the living room and kitchn lead out onto a patio with seating and BBQ and a large contained woodland garden.
The cottage is ideally placed to explore the north of Skye. Portree for main shops was about 20minutes away. Edinbane itself is small and quiet. There is a good pub 100yds away and we went in to see live music and enjoy a drink. 100yds in the other direction is an excellent kids play park. Across the road is Edinbane pottery studio. This was well worth a visit and the kids enjoyed watching the work.
The owners, Phil and Karen live locally and are on hand should there be any problems (we didn't have any!). They have the personal touch just right and clearly take a lot of pride in the service the provide.
I couldn't fault Owlswood at all and hope to visit again one day. Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing