We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gosh”

La Palapa Beach Club
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

La Palapa, the Beach Club Lounge of the Mare Nostrum hotel complex in Playa de las Americas, promotes themselves as “the place” for the best cocktails in the area.

Despite having been there tonight and despite having tried those famous cocktails, we could not really agree on for what these cocktails are best, someone suggested that the Classic Margarita might be great for washing cars or cleaning clogged pipes, the taste similar to acid dishwater was confusing.

Another particularity of this highly non-recommendable establishment is that these ”cocktails” are served only after the first meals are served, so if you fancy to drink a Piña Colada with your garlic fried shrimps or a Strawberry Mojito with chorizo and manchego cheese, this is the place that has no scruples about what goes well with what.

The main dish to complete the adventures of the evening was grilled langostinos. No doubt, the langostinos were grilled but at least a day or two prior to our visit. After a quick round inside a micro oven, the result was just as expected after such a dreadful process, a totally dry, smelly and hardest ever shrimp meat, like being glued in such away that it was just impossible to peel them.

The Mare Nostrum complex in Playa de las Americas, including Cleopatra Palace and Mediterranean Palace, is a great place to stay, and the inside restaurants are perhaps not that fancy but still correct at all times. The question is how such a good resort keeps and continues promoting such a place like their Beach Club called La Palapa. Our strong advice is that you should not even think of going there.

About the personnel at La Palapa, we can only say that the few we met were nice, service minded and correct at all times, but what does that help when the base line is corrupt?

Thank MH196007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro Cresp... D, Director General at La Palapa Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Costumer,

Thanks for your honest opinion. We have sent your comments to the corresponding department to verify what has happened. These are not the quality standards that we offer. I apologize for this bad experience. It is very disappointing to hear what happened, but we hope you give us another opportunity to show you that we have improved.
Warmest Regards,
Alejandro Crespo,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Fab venue to wine and dine- if you are a Sir Anthony guest then you get 2 for 1 cocktails- which are expertly concocted by the attentive staff- the champagne cocktail and brandy Alexander are superb. Best views of the sunset with relaxing chill out music by Live DJ. Food basic menu but excellent- the burger and fries and pasta are tasty and good value. A must for your visit and am sure you will return!

1  Thank MsSummer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro Cresp... D, Director General at La Palapa Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am very happy to know that our staff, promotion, food and experience made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,
Alejandro Crespo,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

This place is good looking but not fancy even though they want their customer to wear shirt and shorts, Not just swimsuits.
Cocktails are very good and if u stay at Mediterranean palace hotel you will get 2 for 1.
I had the tacos with chicken and pork. Along with it was guacamole- which I thought was great, chicken tacos was too, but was not to big of a fan with the pork one.
Kids had pizza, would not recommend it, for me it was just blaaa.
Husband had rice with sea food that he enjoyed.
Service was okey- not to much attention, and we had to remind staff that we had ordered beverages again.
View was great, looking over the beach, but u don’t see too far because there is a new big house next to it.
Price for this lunch was around €50.

Thank Rakel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

came after good trip on the beach for a lunch. I got rich with king's prawns and a beer, pizza for the boy and taco for the lady. fantastic plays but a little bit to praise. But I will come again.

Thank Guðjón G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro Cresp... D, Director General at La Palapa Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Customer. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Restaurant to other clients. I am sure that all our staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you have enjoyed your experience with us.
Thank you once again very much for your time sharing your experience with us and we say goodbye hoping to have the chance to welcome you again at La Palapa Beach Club.
Kind regards, Alejandro Crespo, General Manager of Mare Nostrum Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

I love this place. Good food great service and good menu.
The localocation is fantastic, service is very efficient...I will recommend it

Thank Marcelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro Cresp... D, Director General at La Palapa Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Mr. Marcelo,
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Restaurant to other clients. I am sure that all our staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you have enjoyed your experience .
Warmest Regards,
Alejandro Crespo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapa Beach Club also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to La Palapa Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing