We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither service nor facilities are 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

As others have stated, the hotel has all the ingredients for a golfer: You take an elevator to the garage, pick up your bag and a GPS-equipped buggy and are almost instantly on the "Las Americas" course. An 18-hole-round is, including buggy, € 68.-: pretty good value.
However, not all is as good as it seems: The course is tightly booked, so if you start after 11, you're in for a 5 to 6 hours round with a lot of waiting. The greens are bumpy, the fairways rather dry.
And then the hotel: the first impression is that of an nice oasis in the concrete ugliness of Las Americas. Alas, the bed sheets were ripped and stained (each single night), the towels stained, the room 107 very noisy (garbage trucks come at 03:30 and you will hear them). And don't get me started on the shower: facing the wrong way (cold curtain shower clinging to where it shouldn't be), not enough water pressure and deliberately switching between scalding and cold...
Pool was cold and therefore largely unused. The breakfast buffet offered a rather limited choice, in fact poor for a five-star-hotel, with 2nd quality cold cuts.
The restaurant was OK and we enjoyed sitting al fresco under the gas heaters. You'll get however better service and better food for a comparable price at the other posh hotels at the costa Adeje.
We've brought our iPhones with us in order to stay in touch with friends and business. The WLAN however didn't work and we had to go to other hotels' lobbies to get our things done. The concierge told us that they know of the problem and will get someone "next month" to fix it. WRONG answer for a hotel of this category, and no, I didn't check my business mails on the public PC in the internet room.
Fast and free valet parking, friendly porters.
Summary: decent for golf as long as long as you get one of the quiet rooms. Otherwise seriously lacking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank molar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

Just back after a weeks golfing holiday staying in Las Madrigueras and playing Las Americas. I was part of a group of 8 males and arrived to find that we had a double bed. After complaining and being persistent I was eventually given another room for one night only. Not a great start ! Received an apology from Director in the morning and that was that. Breakfast was an adventure each morning. Frequently got the order wrong or stood about for a few minutes until staff eventually noticed us and allocated a table. (Perhaps it was because we were not German!)The Hotel itself is 5 star and the food was excellent. Staff have a bit to go before they will be worthy of their surroundings !
The golf course is an excellent layout but the greens were absolutely shocking ! Very slow, lots of bare patches and require a considerable amount of work to bring them up to a half decent standard.
Overall, a good facility but staff certainly need further training if the hotel is to be truly 5 Star.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tom_porter444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This is a fabulous hotel. The manager is superb, as are his statff. A proper 5 star hotel with beautiful rooms and attention to deatil.............and the golf if wonderful too. We stayed in May this year and loved it so much we are going back with 4 of our friends in October 2010. We booked through Elegant Golf Resorts ( Highy recommended for anywhere in the world) who meet and greet at the airport and also pick up for the return flight. This hotel offers excellant service and great value.We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You would not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianecat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This hotel is definitely 5* with beautiful rooms and elegant common areas. The service was excellent and the hotel and grounds clean and well maintained. it is very well set up for golf with a short buggy ride to the Las Americas course. We played golf 4 out of 6 days and the course is fairly open albeit a fair number of holes with water coming in to play.
The hotel was very empty though which meant there was very little atmosphere. We were almost the only people by the pool and the restaurants and bar areas were deserted. This was fine for us as we wanted a quiet week but it did seem like there were more staff than guests, and this would not suit everyone.
Overall, thoroughly recommended for a luxury trip with good golf and plenty of sunshine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ferrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

One of the best hotel I have ever come a cross for people to enjoy golf. The facilities offered are unique. Take the lift to -1 floor and there you have the golf Buggy waiting, and as well lockers that you can store all your golf gear during your stay. The hotel staff is very correct and extremely positive and helpful. Due to the fact the golf course and the hotel is owned by the same person, getting tee times accoding to your need is very seldom a problem. On the golf course all the staff is very friendly, and as a guest of the hotel you get really a royal treatment.
The restaurant is exelent, both food and service so there is no need to go elswhere looking for quality menu's.
Other facilities like pool, spa etc are very relaxing and comfortable.You return home really rested and fully prepared for new challenging tasks at work.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HJohannsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
2.2 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
1.5 km away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
690 reviews
4.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,003 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
620 reviews
0.6 km away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#7 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Playa de las Americas

Been to Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Golf Las Americas | Playa Las Americas, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $288 - $1,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa is a 5* small luxury boutique hotel located in Playa Las Americas (Tenerife), with three-storey colonial style, blends perfectly into the landscape, offering a panoramic view over the golf course "Golf Las Americas" and the island of La Gomera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing