We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a friend”
Review of Meson Castellano

Meson Castellano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent meal and great service! A great recommendation from a friend and we weren't disappointed! Definitely one to pencil in on returning.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 341 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

Whilst this place is not located centrally and is in effect at the side of a main road, the majority of Spanish diners gives you a clue that it is worth going out of town. We visited 4 years ago and were keen to see if it was as great as we remembered. The meat is of the highest quality and in 2 visits we managed to sample a rib eye steak, mixed meat grill and Paletilla Ibérico, all of which were first rate. Our 4 year old demolished the grilled chicken and chips and whilst it isn't the cheapest eatery in the area it is worth it for the superior quality of the produce. Would return at any point if I am lucky enough to be in the area!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank bertiesmalldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We went to this restaurant on our first evening because it was just across the road from our apartment. It was only early evening but we were asked if we had reserved a table and when we looked inside we could see that the place was very popular. We were found a table and given a basket of love;y bread and a dish of (we found out later) octopus. We both ordered suckling lamb chops from the very extensive menu and what arrived was a plate of about 20 small, thin and perfectly cooked chops on a bed of home made chips - placed on the table between us. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven! The juices of the chops soaked into the perfect chips and the whole dish was absolutely gorgeous. We returned for our last meal of the holiday and had the same dish !

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy_Gary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

This is one not to be missed the food in here is impeccable!! I eat out at some of the best resteraunts there is and this is an absolute gem!! The paella is fresh and cooked perfectly not out in 10 min it takes nearly 45 but good things come to those who wait and we even cam back again for the steak and AGAIN this place is simply fantastic a true quality shines through with amazing staff this place takes my breath away and only a short taxi journey from playa de las Americas you'd be a fool not to come here!! The price is very VERY reasonable!! I can't rate this place highly enough and will be telling everyone I know who visits to come here!!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank KarltonReviewsFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

My partner and I wanted to try this restaurant as it had received really good reviews on Trip Advisor and we also fancied tapas, but this was our worst dining experience ever. It started off good as we were greeted by a friendly waitress who showed us to our table. We were given the main menu, ordered our drinks and we asked to see the tapas menu. Our drinks arrived but no tapas menu. We asked a gentleman, who we assumed was the manager as he wasn't wearing a uniform, for the tapas menu and his response was a grunt but he brought us the tapas menu. We ordered 6 dishes to share. A basket of bread arrived so we tucked into it while waiting for our tapas. Two tapas dishes arrived and but we wanted to wai for the other 4 dishes. After waiting 10 minutes and getting hungry we decided to start eating the first 2 dishes. One of these dishes was marinated salmon, admittedly I should have enquired whether this was a cooked dish as being pregnant I didn't want to take the risk with uncooked seafood. After deciding to avoid it my partner ate half of the salmon. The 'manager' came over and asked why we'd not eaten the whole salmon dish, we explained and he grunted. When we'd finished with the first two tapas a waiter removed them and brought our third and fourth tapas. We gathered at this point that we were only going to recieve 2 tapas at a time, which was disappointing as we wanted to eat them all at the same time. Another basket of bread arrived even though we had not finished the first. We finished tapas three and four and realised one of the final tapas was steak which needs to be cooked through without any blood during pregnancy. We asked the 'manager' if this was ok and he said 'it's too late, it's here now'. He wouldn't allow it to be sent back to the kitchen to be cooked through so I missed out on this dish as it was bloody. Upon receiving the bill we had been charged for 2 baskets of bread, neither of which we asked for and wouldn't have begrudged paying for if we had been given the chance to eat it. My partner had also been charged €4 for corkage on a bottle of house wine that he only had 2 small glasses from. We decided not to leave a tip due to the poor experience and extra charges. We were made to feel out of place and unwanted.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CarlyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meson Castellano also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Arona
Playa de las Americas, Arona
 
Arona, Tenerife
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 

Been to Meson Castellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.