We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat - could have been better!”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday treat - could have been better!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Hotel - When you arrive at this hotel it has the wow factor for sure. Stunning attention to detail with imitation wood, suspension bridge, clear glass lifts, aviary and turtle section. For some reason the hotel was so cold (Feb 2012). Either they were saving money by not running the heating or had the air con running. Either way we were grateful for the heating in our room and sadly as no entertainment was put on that is where we spent most of our time whilst at the hotel. On our second day we had to report that a bird had passed away in the aviary having got its foot stuck in the black lining they had put around the edge.
The reception staff were friendly and happy to assist us when we asked where we could go for some entertainment (as the hotel had none). When we checked in I did ask if we could have a jacuzzi room but were told that these were fully booked for the weekend. Instead we had a room overlooking these rooms and observed only two occupants of the 6 rooms on view from our balcony. Not sure why the hotel were holding these back as this would have been a nice birthday treat and travel agents didn't seem to offer these as part of online booking. The outdoor pool was cold and the kids pool and jacuzzi had not been cleaned in some time. The smell was unbearable and therefore no guests stayed very long within this area of the hotel (this is also where the childs play area is). The train line runs right next to the sun terrace but they only run every now and again so not a big problem. Our room was nice and kept fairly clean during our stay. Unfortunately our balcony was closed off unlike some which are glass fronted so we were not able to enjoy the view without standing up.

Location -The hotel is located between Torremolinos and Fuengirola. Both can be visited by bus or taxi. Taxi costs around e14. You can walk along the beach to Fuengirola, the beach starts just up the road from the hotel. The hotel is quite remote and located at the top of a steep hill. The hotel runs a bus service but this will only take you to the parameters of the hotel and back.

Food - The food was ALWAYS cold with the exception of the cooking station where fish/meats are cooked. Sadly on our third night I choose salmon which had been seared only and the inside was raw. I am faily tolerant but the microwave was a godsend as the food was unusually cold. I have eaten buffet meals all over the world and no-where has been as bad as the Polynesia. The all inclusive white wine option was as good as paint stripper in my opinion and various other guests seemed to agree judging by the left overs. On the plus side saturday night came out a chocolate fountain, marshmallows and profiteroles (very nice indeed). I had expected a bottle of water to the room each day but this was limited to one on arrival only. No self serve areas exist for soft drinks within the all inclusive option. No mugs or cups were provided in our room so we requested these at reception and were delivered to our room quite quickly. The kettle was little use without these.

Entertainment - If sitting in a cold room with a keyboard and karaoke singer are your thing then you will love the entertainment. As an alternnative we got a cab to Fuengirola one evening. We did make use of the bowling facilities in the hotel for one game as there was nothing else to do but this is all charged additionally. There is a club house but this was closed for our entire stay. No sign of any club reps and trips were not actively offered to keep guests entertained (maybe just because our stay was out of season but it was half term).

Amenities - The beach club was closed and I imagine this would be nice when in season. The hotel had an indoor pool and sauna + gym (which other guests can look in on whilst you work out - attractive). The hotel charges by the half day or full day for these facilities and closes part way through the day. We had intended to book some beuaty treatments to celebrate my birthday but the recpetionist/therapist did not make an impression and the costs were too high in my opinion (having had treatments elsewhere both at home and away). The restaurant can only be accessed by walking through a passage within the hotel going outside and walking along the side of the pool. This could be quite slippery and cold. Don't expect to be greeted at dinner pull up a seat and if you are lucky a waiter may come to offer you a drink before you finish your meal. The hotel plays loud music around the restaurant and outdoor area by the pool. Sadly this can be heard as farr up as the 4th floor (our room). It starts at 8am yes 8am and isn't turned off until 12 midnight. I guess they call this the entertainment.

Flight - We flew with Monarch airlines. Overhead cabins were rammed full of people's travel cases so my bag and my travel companions ended up on the floor. We experienced heavy turbulance coming in to land and our plane was hit by lightening. When we got our transfer from the airport the heavens opened and we feared our holiday was doomed. Due to the number of bags in overhead lockers it took some time to depart the plane. On our return flight a dog could be heard barking from storage most of the journey and the family in front of us didn't think their child needed earphones to watch/listen to Dora the Explorer for most of the flight.

Weather - Despite a rainy and stormy first day the sun came out duing our stay and we enjoyed some lovely and much needed sun. Temperatures ranged depending on where you were and if you could find a wind break managed to get up to 23c.

Shopping - Torremolinos was best for shops. Be warned that street sellers are everywhere I always find the best approach is to ignore if you are not interested. Make any form of noise and conversation persists until you buy or lose your temper. Lots of tourist type trinkets to choose from and tobaconists.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixFosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    912
    453
    183
    101
See reviews for
1,563
467
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I write this while I'm here. (wifi is 12€ for the week).

We booked for half term and paid the price for it too. Having stayed at the holiday village over the road (same company) 2 years ago we knew the beach club would be closed. For all those who book this hotel from April the club is open and from past experience it's brilliant. But the following is our experience of our time:
We arrived on a Sunday and the check in was quick. We got to our room earlier than expected and it was clean and spacious enough for 2 and a little one. There was a 2l bottle of water in the fridge. This didn't get replenished during the week- to my surprise. Anyway, massive hotel with about 20 guests! Like a ghost town. All inclusive isn't all inclusive as we got a list in an envelope saying what things were not. Quite a bit wasn't included!!
There was 1 bar open and on an evening the 'entertainment' was either a man playing a piano or dancing etc... It was ok but being out of season (despite during the week the hotel filled with kids from half term) there was no entertainment for them. The food was repetitive but that's what happens on all inclusive buffets. Please read previous reviews about the food- IT IS LUKE WARM!!! The rep also said that that the hotel is renowned in the area for being appalling. We did see someone fiddling with the buffet units but they never got warm. There is 1 microwave which we use a lot!!! But not what you pay for is it?! The trips out are good- Gibraltar is not far and we did a day trip there- good value too! All in all, not bad, better in the busy season and no doubt there'll be more for kids to do but if it's school holidays- it is probably going to be more ££ for the value you actually get. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjblamires1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Having phoned the Hotel several times prior to arrival to double check that there would be entertainment over the Christmas period we arrived to a desserted Hotel!! We were 2 families with children, the youngest being 10 and they were bored for the whole 5 days we were there! There was no entertainment for 'older' children, no entertaiment for adults, there was nothing! The pool was freezing, my 10 year old was to young to use the spa pool, he could use the baby section were the water didnt even reach his ankle! The staff were rude and very unhelpful, the food was the same every day and cold most of the time. Worst Holiday I have been on. I was more annoyed that each time I phoned the Hotel prior, I was told there would be lots going on!! There would have been more life in a morgue! We wished we had stayed at Home. It was a complete waste of money!!!

Room Tip: Don't go at Christmas .. save your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall/Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Reading some of the reviews really helped us choose this hotel. We were very impressed, as was our 2 year old, whose only word as she walked into the reception was "Wow"
Food was plentiful but slightly repetitive - but over a week, there was still new things to try. Breakfasts were the best! Lots of choice.
Beach club was great fun but make sure you book early as otherwise it means a walk/bus back up the hill (steep) for lunch in the hotel.
The surrounding area doesn't offer much; for someone who knows Costa Del Sol relatively well there are better towns. Benalmadena Pueblo, a short bus ride up the hill however was delightful. We'd go back just to explore it more!

Room Tip: Away from the pool will be quieter, although the view is not quite as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaptianRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed at the Polynesia the year it opened.
Hotel was immaculately clean obviously as it was new.
Main restaurant buffet style was very average for breakfast and dinner, typical version of an english breakfast with streaky greasy bacon and hot dog sausages but it was just ok and could be greatly improved.
There was always a queue for entry to main restaurant at breakfast and dinner so this was probably worse in high season (we went june).
Lunch only available from pool bar which are snacks like toasties, burgers etc served in small portions but adequate for lunch.
Water attractions are at holiday village beach club a ten min down hill walk, shuttle bus runs every ten mins from hotel which is much more ideals for returning as that is one steep hill.You can hav e a buffet lunch at the beach club as well where there is a good selection.
The pools.. all of them were absoulutely freezing which was such a shame when there weer so many and so many slides.
Staff dont speak the best english but are efficient but not friendly- again could be due to hotel just opening.
Drinks at Polynesia were great, poolside bar was great at night for drinks and a good variety of branded drinks.
Kids mini disco every night goes down well, childrens club looked ok but son was four and they didnt speak good english so was wary of leaving him and he of us, understandable due to language barrier, perhaps this will have improved over time.
A La Carte Oriental was quite good, you choose what meat and veg and sauce to have and they stir fry it for you but the raw meat you helop yourself to to take it to the chef to wok fry is a bit off putting it being left out, tasted good though.
Overall a decent place for a family holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HDW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
4.4 km away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,725 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
921 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,206 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
10.3 km away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price range (per night): $155 - $2,236
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Spain - Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing