We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but too hectic for lunch”
Review of Refuge de Miage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refuge de Miage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stopped here for lunch and admired the beautiful view at the base of a glacier. There was a wedding party and the servers devoted the bulk of their attention to taking care of the wedding party. We were served fairly quickly but it took 45 minutes to get our check and when we asked the server for the 3rd time she just shrugged and gestured toward the wedding party. I know that Americans are always in a hurry and I try not to be that person but we had miles to walk and big, dark clouds were piling in where we needed to go. Great place if you don't have any plans for the afternoon, but this was the last lunch we had in a refugio, preferring to bring a sack lunch to enjoy on our own timetable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank IngasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

The food was overall really tasty and the dining area very cosy. For dinner we were served soup, a lovely salad, a gigantic omelette and nice cheeses. Only the fruit tart for dessert was not so good. The dorm was pretty standard, with big shared beds. For what it was, it was fine. This refuge does a busy daytime trade with people out for the day but things settle down toward evening time.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gwilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on our trip along the GR5 from Les Houches to Modane. We were late arriving due to the hot day but we had reserved our demi pension. The owners were brilliant and put back dinner until 7pm. And what a dinner it was. Wonderful four course meal. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Hiked here with family & friends and stayed for one night on Tour du Mont Blanc hike. Easily among the best food we got during our 5 nights along the TMB and nice facilities. Beautiful setting. It would be good if they finished the walls in the dorms -- they are completely open at the top, making every conversation by the 10 people on the other side seem like they are in your room (keeping you and your kids awake).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tripping_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Spectacular view, authentic, excellent local cooking, very very nice service. I have been there several times during the summer. Each time it is a perfect stop. Friends who stay overnight tell it is a great refuge, one of the best or the best in the French side.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
6.1 km away
La Melusine
La Melusine
#2 of 13 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
43 reviews
6.8 km away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#8 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
248 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
#10 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
139 reviews
5.9 km away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#15 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
49 reviews
6.9 km away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge de Miage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge de Miage

Address: 1276 route des Contamines, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing