We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very warm and comfortable for February!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm) the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm)
the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
sun-trap terrace in all seasons
dining table (4 chairs are provided for bookings of 4!)
breakfast on the terrace
aerial view showing Lou Messugo front door, terrace, garden and pool
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
compact but functional kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, oven, hob, kettle, toaster and microwave
double aspect living area looking on to south-facing terrace and garden
this sofa opens out to be a comfy 140 cm wide double bed
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
the pool
the garden, large lawn and shady spots for aperitifs
looking out to the garden
bathroom with wide, open shower
pretty modern bathroom fittings
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
the drive where you can park your car directly outside the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
NorfolkHo...
Blofield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very warm and comfortable for February!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This gite is in a very peaceful place but about 7 mins by car from a supermarket and one can walk to the nearest bus route in less than 10 minutes. Buses run between Grasse and Nice for the surprisingly cheap price of 1.50 euros.
The gite itself is immaculate with a lounge/kitchenette, shower room and bedroom. The lounge has comfortable seating, television, dining table and chairs. The kitchenette corner has a fridge, dishwasher and microwave oven (which can be used as a "normal" oven), with additional hotplates. The shower room is lovely with a roomy walk-in shower, toilet, washbasin and heated towel rail. The bedroom is well furnished with wardrobe, drawers, bedside cabinets and a very comfortable bed.
The gite has no carpet or rugs but there is underfloor heating and even in February we were able to walk around comfortably in a stockinged feet!
There are double glass doors opening onto a paved terrace with furniture and there is a big sheltered garden - complete with a child's trampoline. This garden is private for the gite but there is an outdoor pool in the owners' garden which they are happy to share in warm weather.
The owners, living above and at the back of the gite (the property is built on a hillside) are very pleasant, welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places to visit, when asked, but are non-intrusive otherwise.
The car park, shared with the owners, is quite big, and private.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite's location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamukitte...
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rosé, lavender and autumn sunshine!”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

What a fabulous stay - too cold for the swimming pool although the weather was unseasonably warm. We really enjoyed visiting the amazing Foundation Maeght, which is full of fantastic paintings and sculpture. The house is set in beautiful gardens and perfect for children to run around so fun for all the family. We were also lucky to get a table at the Colombe D'Or, which was a real treat - great food and wine as well as walls full of art.

The owner at Lou Messugo is very friendly, a fountain of local knowledge and willing to help make your stay as perfect as possible. The accommodation is extremely clean, comfortable, well equipped and peaceful! Highly recommend it and hoping to go back in August when we can use the pool!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owner, the property & garden.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We'd love to see you back here in the summer to enjoy the pool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and very relaxing”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the house and really loved the space. The garden, pool, terrace and BBQ area were really lovely. The children spent most of the time in the pool and really enjoyed it! The location is well situated for trips into Grasse, Nice and Cannes and Roquefort itself has everything you could need in terms of food shops as well as restaurants. We would definitely recommend Lou Messugo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and terrace area as well as the open plan house itself.
Liked least: Because the weather was exceptionally hot, air con in the bedrooms would have been good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, we're so pleased to hear your kids loved the pool; happy kids = happy parents.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united4ev...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended Base to Explore the Region”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed with my wife and 2 young children for 5 nights. Kids loved the trampoline and pool and the garden is a great size too with lovely flowers and privacy as well. It was glorious to have dinner on the terrace on the light evenings and drink wine and relax. Inside, the apartment had everything we needed and it was really clean. In terms of value and practicality it suited our family so much better than a hotel. I haven't stayed in many villas/gites to compare to but we will definitely choose this type of accommodation when we next look for a holiday. Suffice to say I was impressed with this place.

The location is a great base to explore the region. We hired a car and you can get to some of the cities on the coast and a whole host of beaches and pretty mountain villages within an hour....it's also handy for Nice airport 20 minutes or so away. Just a few minutes drive away there is also a supermarket and some local places to eat and get provisions.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saebb
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent to explore Côte d'Azur”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I have stayed for a week at Lou Messugo. It is a perfect and very clean apartment for two. Beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you need.
There is a large barbecue which we used nearly everyday. As a bonus you can enjoy your meal on the really nice located patio with a beautiful view into the typically french garden.
We didn't get to use the pool (too cold outside) but that's a bonus as well as the table tennis, Petangue and boule.

The apartment is perfectly located to explore the Côte d'Azur because you can reach nearly every city or village in about half an hour.
Phoebe is very helpful with tips and recommendations regarding activities, sights and of course restaurants.
I would recommened a stay at any time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing