We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gill L
Brighton, United Kingdom

Great value, fab team, lovely ski area

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 July 2017
Took a last-minute ski trip in March. Really was last minute, and struggled to find somewhere to stay. Luckily we found the lovely people at Pinewood Chalets.

The team (Dave and Christine, Joe and Josie, and Aiden) were fab. Easy-going yet professional – and very passionate about their business. There are no ‘buts’ in our review ‘but’ it’s important to understand that if you want rates as great as these guys are offering, you’re not getting luxury. Petit Sporting really doesn’t win prizes for beauty - there’s nothing ‘chocolate box’ or Alpine about it! The rooms (in HPS, at least) are clean and warm but pretty basic. Ours was small, but with enough storage space to stash stuff away. You’ll need to like the social aspect as meals are served at two long dining tables. Great for meeting fellow guests, but pretty loud – especially once the wine has been flowing and tales of the day’s skiing come out!

High scores for attentive team, plenty of food, and a great atmosphere. Oh, and tea and coffee, and toast, butter and jam available all day long (bring your own marmite). In summary, if fancy accommodation and facilities are a key part of your holiday experience, then Le Petit Sporting is not for you. However, if you’re going to Serre Chevalier to ski (cycle, explore, etc) and want somewhere decent to call home for your stay, want to make your holiday money stretch, and are after a team who will put their hearts and souls into making your holiday fabulous, then Pinewood Chalets ticks all those boxes.

FYI we didn't use the coach service as were staying for less than the whole week. Instead we flew to Milan-Malpensa (no flights to Turin on the days we wanted), and the drive was really straight-forward, about 2H 30M. Flights and car hire were also quite a bit cheaper than going via Grenoble or Geneva, so Italy seems a good option for SC for independent travellers.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
0.2 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
Free Wifi
Pool
l'immeuble
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
Ambiance hivernale
    0.1 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    chambre classique
    AU$252
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$252
    0.6 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    • Hotels.com
    • StayForLong
    • eDreams
    0.9 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    0.4 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$324
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.0 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$85
    • Priceline
    0.5 km from Hotel Petit Sporting
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in La Salle les Alpes
    Reviews (11)
    Filter reviews
    11 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 11 reviews
    Reviewed 8 May 2017

    Stayed here on a ski trip with friends. We had a great time. Staff were super friendly and took really good care of us all week. It was super quiet, clean, warm and cozy.

    Food was spot on. Breakfast and dinner served with a smile and the food was hearty just what you wanted after a day on the slopes.

    If you did manage to get off the slopes early there was tea and cake for those who made it back in time to grab some.

    Perfect location for the village, hot tubs and Grand Bains.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank roxxmo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 March 2017

    Stayed at this chalet at the beggining of march 2017.Although the chalet is old and a bit tyred this was a great base for a great skiing holiday.Run by two young couples,who worked there socks off to make shore we had a great time .they food was plentiful and very good.Just what you need on a ski holiday.Ok there is not the luxury of a posh hotel.this was a great budget chalet extremely good value.rooms are basic but clean,again all you need for a base for a ski holiday.the chalet is about a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest lift.or there are buses that stop reguarly,which will take you to many lifts in the serre chevalier area.so to Josy ,Joe,Christine and Dave.thanks for looking after us so well, including skiing with us.A great base for a great ski holiday.Can be booked through pinewood chalets or hucksters.ideal for people who love to ski.Serre chevalier has a great ski area.I believe it is quite popular in the summer as well.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    1  Thank chris h
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 March 2017

    The guys running the Chalet are the nicest lot you can hope to meet they are very welcoming, extremely helpful and enthusiastic. I would highly recommend booking here and if like us you are unfamiliar with the area the guys will be more than happy to point you in the right direction.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank CTerry1981
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

    Incredible hosts. Really welcoming and helpful at all times of the day. The food was 👍👍 top notch 👍👍.
    Location is perfect for walks, ski lifts and towns! Lots to see and do. Chalet really homely! Massively recommend to everybody.

    Date of stay: December 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Danjhod
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

    My daughter and I had a wonderful week at Hotel Petit Sporting during October half term. Staff are very welcoming, friendly and so knowledgeable about the area and things to do. The Autumn colours throughout the scenery were beautiful.

    Don't be put off by the exterior of the chalet as once you step inside you won't be disappointed. Bedrooms are basic but so warm and cosy, beds may initially appear low but are extremely comfortable. The dining area is spacious and it's lovely to be able to chat to the chefs as they are cooking their delightful meals. The food is exquisite, 3-course dinners each night were always to die for, a special mention for the baked Camembert and also French onion soup starters, chicken leek and bacon pie, lasagne and tarteflette main courses, mango cheesecake and apple croissant pudding desserts. They were some of our favourite meals. Thank you for a wonderful stay we thoroughly enjoyed it. We said we would return and we did two months later in December! See my next review.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Daughtrey61
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews