We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tasos L
Athens, Greece

Family ski trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2024
We came back after a few years. The quality of the good has declined. Otherwise spacious room, polite personnel, nice location, ski in ski out. One of the best choices in Serre Chevalier, reasonably priced. Would come back
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Hello,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and are delighted that your stay lived up to your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
The Grand Aigle team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
l'immeuble
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
AU$280
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$280
1.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
0.7 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ambiance hivernale
    0.6 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$89
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    1.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$222
    • Vacances Bleues
    2.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.5 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in La Salle les Alpes
    Reviews (948)
    Filter reviews
    948 results
    Traveller rating
    449
    321
    104
    52
    22
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    449
    321
    104
    52
    22
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ski room ski holiday red run half board hams breakfast buffet boot warmers roaring fire hotel management mountain hotel euros per person boiled eggs easy access snow conditions yogurt min walk great holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 948 reviews
    Reviewed 7 January 2024

    The only good point is the ski in, ski out. No room service, no lunch, a very average breakfast. We paid 400 (four hundred) € per night! Thry accept dogs, but you can't take them to the restaurant or bar (bar after big negotiations). Ehy would you accept dogs in this scenarios?! You can't leave them alone in the room, you can't take them for dinner downstairs. There are tonns of accomodations in the town, so go for them. 15€/day parking. Btw, a big shout-out to the guys from the bar, a great place, good drinks, very nice spot in the whole bad hotel experience.

    Date of stay: December 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank ccarlo106356
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

    Hello,
    Thank you for your feedback.
    We are delighted that you were happy with the hotel's location, just a few steps from the ski slopes.
    It is right that your pet is not accepted in our restaurant areas. This is primarily a question of hygiene and safety, but also out of respect for other guests who may be allergic or cynophobic.
    We'll pass on your feedback to our barkeepers, who will be delighted to hear from you.
    The Grand Aigle team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 August 2023 via mobile

    Wonderful place, very refined. Rooms are very comfortable with great attention to details. very warm welcome. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices. pricing is very reasonable for the quality. the owners clearly love their place. highly recommended

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Cruiser08395427680
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023
    Google Translation

    Bonjour,

    Nous tenons d'abord à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de poster une note sur le Grand Aigle et SPA ****.

    Toute l'équipe de l'hôtel est ravie que l'accueil et le petit déjeuner aient étés à la hauteur de vos attentes.

    Nous vous invitions à renouveler l'expérience de notre accueil en hiver pour profiter de notre proximité avec les pistes.

    Toute l'équipe vous remercie de nous aider à nous améliorer chaque jour.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 February 2023

    Great hotel, stayed for a skiing holiday, there’s a bus that stops outside to take you to the ski lifts but you can also ski in/out. The staff are lovely and always happy to help.The breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh breads/pastries, fruits and cheese/cold meats. The restaurant also was lovely. All the staff were friendly and helpful always with a smile.

    Date of stay: February 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank Amanda B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Dear Sir, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. We stay at your disposal Best regards Maelenn Front Desk manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 February 2023

    The hotel is rated higher than I think it is supposed to.
    The food experience was very disappointing, and the quality of the food was to no more than 2 stars. Messy, cold and without taste. Visual display was horrible.

    The hotel is a non smoking hotel, but the hallway was smelling of cigarettes and the guy below us, smoked weed for 3 days. The personal supposedly tried to stop it, after we complained, but it was unsuccessful.

    Date of stay: February 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank 430kasperm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Dear Sir, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your latest stay in Serre Chevalier. We are surprised by your comment, you have dinner in our restaurant every night and according to the restaurant you have finished your plates every night. We want have a gourmet cuisine, maybe the meal were too elaborate for you… About the smell of the smock, the customers were smocking on his balcony. Our team discuss with the other cutomer to inform that other customers were bothered by the smell. The customer was on his right to smoke on his balcony. Our team has done is best for this. We remain at your disposal. Best regards Maelenn Front desk Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2023

    The hotel is a very comfortable boutique hotel, clean and modern. We agree with previous reviewers that upgrading your room is a good idea as the standard rooms are small.

    We stayed on a half board basis. The meals were very good. The breakfast included hot options of boiled eggs, bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs as well as an array of bread pastries, cheese, hams, fruit, yoghurt etc.. The dinners were good restaurant standard with a varied and innovative menu. The only small gripe we had about the food is that it could do with being hotter.

    The staff are fantastic- friendly, helpful and professional. Special mention to the lovely concierge and barman (sorry I didn't get your names) Head receptionist Mylene and the wonderful waiter Alex! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
    Only one comment- about the spa- it is just a sauna and jacuzzi and there was a 15 euro per person charge for 45 mins- I think that is a bit excessive considering the hotel is not cheap.

    Just a couple of word about the location- it is ski in ski out- you just walk across the car park and ski down an easy piste to Pontrillas gondola. The only problem is that the gondola only goes 3/4 of the way up the mountain and goes not connect to any other lifts. Therefore, you have to ski down (almost to the bottom) in order to get over to the main ski areas. This loses you around half an hour every morning. It is not a problem for a good intermediate skiier as the run down (and back in the afternoon) is a fairly tricky Red run (Bez). There is a (long) Green forest track but you have to do bits of the Red to access it. In addition, if the snow conditions are poor the green becomes unusable. In a nutshell only really suitable for intermediates and above.

    The nearest bars/shops etc. are in Villeneuve village about a 10 min walk away

    Room tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms Check the location
    Date of stay: January 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Bucksgirl32
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

    Dear Madam, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. However, we were sorry to learn that you were disappointed by the spa. Indeed our spa is not included in the price of the room and is on reservation. About the pontillas lift, the lift will be destroyed. A bigger lift will be opened in December 2023, the lift will arrive at 2255 m of altitude. For your next stay with us, there will be a ski lift serving the entire ski area right next to the hotel. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. Best regards Maelenn Front Desk Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews