We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bucksgirl32
Buckinghamshire

Lovely Hotel and Staff- Check the location!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Feb 2023
The hotel is a very comfortable boutique hotel, clean and modern. We agree with previous reviewers that upgrading your room is a good idea as the standard rooms are small.

We stayed on a half board basis. The meals were very good. The breakfast included hot options of boiled eggs, bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs as well as an array of bread pastries, cheese, hams, fruit, yoghurt etc.. The dinners were good restaurant standard with a varied and innovative menu. The only small gripe we had about the food is that it could do with being hotter.

The staff are fantastic- friendly, helpful and professional. Special mention to the lovely concierge and barman (sorry I didn't get your names) Head receptionist Mylene and the wonderful waiter Alex! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel.
Only one comment- about the spa- it is just a sauna and jacuzzi and there was a 15 euro per person charge for 45 mins- I think that is a bit excessive considering the hotel is not cheap.

Just a couple of word about the location- it is ski in ski out- you just walk across the car park and ski down an easy piste to Pontrillas gondola. The only problem is that the gondola only goes 3/4 of the way up the mountain and goes not connect to any other lifts. Therefore, you have to ski down (almost to the bottom) in order to get over to the main ski areas. This loses you around half an hour every morning. It is not a problem for a good intermediate skiier as the run down (and back in the afternoon) is a fairly tricky Red run (Bez). There is a (long) Green forest track but you have to do bits of the Red to access it. In addition, if the snow conditions are poor the green becomes unusable. In a nutshell only really suitable for intermediates and above.

The nearest bars/shops etc. are in Villeneuve village about a 10 min walk away
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms Check the location
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Dear Madam, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. However, we were sorry to learn that you were disappointed by the spa. Indeed our spa is not included in the price of the room and is on reservation. About the pontillas lift, the lift will be destroyed. A bigger lift will be opened in December 2023, the lift will arrive at 2255 m of altitude. For your next stay with us, there will be a ski lift serving the entire ski area right next to the hotel. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. Best regards Maelenn Front Desk Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$181
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • StayForLong
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$174
0.7 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$277
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$277
  • Expedia.com
    AU$307
  • Hotels.com
    AU$307
1.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$138
  • Agoda.com
    AU$138
  • Vio.com
    AU$138
  • eDreams
    AU$138
1.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$85
  • Hotels.com
    AU$84
  • Vio.com
    AU$119
0.1 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$174
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
AU$220
  • Trip.com
    AU$220
  • StayForLong
    AU$216
  • Vacances Bleues
    AU$219
2.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
No fees just great deals
  • Vio.com
    AU$175
  • eDreams
    AU$174
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
l'immeuble
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
chambre classique
AU$207
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
    AU$214
  • Priceline
    AU$207
0.0 km from Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in La Salle les Alpes
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
449
321
104
52
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
449
321
104
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski room ski holiday red run half board hams breakfast buffet boot warmers roaring fire hotel management mountain hotel euros per person boiled eggs easy access snow conditions yogurt min walk great holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2023

After spending a week in this hotel with a small group of friends I can’t recommend it highly enough. The staff were absolutely outstanding, so friendly and helpful they literally couldn’t do more for you. We were made so very welcome. The hotel itself was very comfortable and very clean and well placed for our ski holiday. The food was excellent as were the cocktails! We had a brilliant stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ady F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Dear guest, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. We stay at your disposal Best regards Maelenn Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2023

We had a lovely holiday in Serre Chevalier and stayed for a week at Le Grand Aigle. A nice bottle of champagne and macaroons were waiting in the room upon arrival which was a really nice touch. We had a lovely view from our room and it was wonderful to wake up every morning with a view of the beautiful snow covered mountains and the slowly moving Pontillas gondola.
The absolute highlight and strength of this hotel is its restaurant. We had half-board and it was absolutely worth it. The 4-course menu was outstanding, prepared with care, quality and impeccable presentation. The staff at the restaurant deserve every praise, their positive attitude and mood was so uplifting.
The bar was cosy and really tastefully designed and decorated and the last few nights we also enjoyed the roaring fire.
Our only complaint would be about the spa - even hotel guests have to pay for accessing it - at 15 euros per person we thought it's somewhat overpriced for a jacuzzi and a sauna so we went twice to the Grands Bains in Monetier - strongly recommended. Perhaps the hotel management could reconsider at least offering one free access to the spa per stay, that would be fair. At times it felt the hotel was understaffed especially at breakfast.
It is not really a ski in / ski out hotel as the closest gondola only take you up to rejoin a red piste and doesn't connect to any other ski or chairlift - really bizarre ski infrastructure planning decision. So we walked every day to the Frejus gondola and from there you can also ski to the Aravet gondola.
Overall, we had a great holiday, merci!

Room tip: Worth upgrading to a bigger room as generally they are small, especially the bathrooms.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Dear guest, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. The Pontillas gondola will be destroyed and rebuilt, to allow access to the beguinner area at 2255m altitude. The gondola will be operational in December 2023. During your next stay, the Pontillas cable car will give you access to the entire ski area. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. We stay at your disposal Best regards Maelenn Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2023

We had two 4 bedrooms and the rooms are very nice. In the morning we took the elevator to the lower floor to the ski room and then we just walk across the parking lot to access the ski slope. The food in the evening was very good and the atmosphere is very nice and relaxed.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petter2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
direction Grand Aigle, Directeur général at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your stay in Serre Chevalier. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know your overall satisfaction. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive positive feedback. We will share it with our teams and it will serve as an encouragement to all of them as we strive to continuously improve the quality of the service we are providing. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Aigle in the near future. We stay at your disposal Best regards Maelenn Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2022

Nicely renovated hotel with an excellent ski-room. Lockers with boot warmers for the skis. Easy access to the rooms by lift. Nice lounge bar with a fireplace and very helpful bar-staff. Great breakfast for skiers, everything you could hope fore (rare in France). Had a half-board stay. Dinners were ok but deserts great. There is a spa in the hotel, but it was fully booked and we were not able to get a sauna booking during our stay there. However I managed to book a massage. Waited for 15 minutes, no staff around. After questioning staff showed up, but started cleaning the treatment room as they arrived! Who is running this kind of spa? Go really annoyed, since I was late from my dinner engagement. The lift capacity of the village is poor and the ski lifts are old. Especially getting up to the mountains from the village.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank Pirjo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Aigle, Service clients/Réception at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2022

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your latest stay in Serre Chevalier.

Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
Please be assured that we have noted your positive annotations with great interest and we thank you.

However, we were sorry to learn that you were disappointed by the spa.

So, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please be assured that your remarks have retained all our attention and have been discussed with the manager of the service concerned.

I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.

Apologizing again, we hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Aigle and allow us to demonstrate a level of service much improved.

Assuring you of our best care and attention, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

Mylene
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2022

Very unhappy about this hotel. Bad experience every day for different reasons (bad welcome when arriving, kids playing in the jacuzzi, phone not working in the room (must used personal one to call reception), cleaning not done while requested, same breakfast buffet every single day...

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeremisc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Aigle, Service clients/Réception at Le Grand Aigle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2022

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Grand Aigle Hôtel & Spa for your latest stay in Serre Chevalier.

However, we are sorry to read you were disappointed with our hotel.

I would like to have a better understanding about your "bad" experience.
Could you please send me an email at chefreception@hotelgrandaigle.com?

As the spa is privatized for 45 minutes for each booking, only the guests who booked the access can enjoy it, so we are surprised to read that kids annoyed you while you were relaxing in it.

I also would like to find out if you requested a specific time to have your room cleaned; as our rooms get cleaned every day between 9.00am and 5.00pm. But as every room cannot be cleaning as the same time, our housekeeping team if following a daily schedule following guests' requests.

Did you ask the reception to come and check your phone? We do have a technician onsite who is every day answering and repairing issues guests may encounter during their stay.

To finish, we have a breakfast buffet, split in different areas such as the mountain corner, the healthy corner, the hot breakfast corner... which is really appreciated by our guests.
Feel free to let us know how we could improve it to meet your expectations?

All our apologies again for not meeting your holidays expectations, we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Aigle to offer you a level of service much more appreciated.

Kinds regards,

Mylene
Font Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews