We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
View from the private pool, looking across the gardens. Fenced with lockable gate. The dining area - comfortably seats eight. WiFi and iPod dock.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
View from the private pool, looking across the gardens. Fenced with lockable gate.
The dining area - comfortably seats eight. WiFi and iPod dock.
The kitchen - with microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, gas hob, electric fan oven.
The kitchen has a good range of tools to suit the adventurous chef, including local cookbooks.
also has two stackable single beds used as a divan.
Bedroom 1 - both bedrooms have fans in case of very hot weather.
Bedroom 2 - has 3 x single beds. There are also 2 x travel cots available.
Living room - with freeview TV (BBC, CBeebies etc), DVDs and wood burning stove for winter rentals.
Upstairs mezzanine landing, looking towards master bedroom. Lots of books for holiday reading!
Downstairs bathroom - the barn has two modern bathrooms with shower, basin, toilet.
Le Bugue market - every Tuesday and Saturday. Wonderful world-famous regional food and wine!
The beautiful Dordogne valley from Chateau de Beynac, one of many local chateaux. Worth a visit!
Canoeing on the Dordogne  - a cheap, relaxing and child-friendly day out.
Floating downstream past La Roque-Gageac - voted one of France's most beautiful villages.
Proumeyssac, one of the numerous local caves. Quite breathtaking on entry!
Castelnaud - local chateau with lots of activities for children and adults alike. Good restaurants.
Marqueyssac - stunning local gardens with lots of shade. Very accessible (pushchairs etc).
A frieze of bison - some of the prehistoric cave paintings found locally at Font de Gaume.
Garden furniture and BBQ, perfect for al-fresco dining.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona K
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday!!!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have recently returned from a fantastic 2 weeks holiday staying at the beautiful La Guillarmie. Honestly, the photos don't do this place justice!!!
The area is excellently placed for exploring, canoeing and shopping. There are so many areas of interest. La Guillarmie provided a haven for relaxation after full days of activity. The pool was loved by young and old alike. Le Bugue is a lovely little town full of restaurants and bars, providing delicious food and exceptional wines.
Alex ( & Jackie) couldn't have been more helpful, answering any queries we had.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that your family had a good holiday at La Guillarmie and that you also enjoyed exploring the local town, Le Bugue. There seems to be something going on every evening this summer - we're staying at the house now and saw a fantastic free fireworks display last night! Good to hear you also sampled the local food and wine...always a particularly rewarding experience!!! We do hope that you'll return to the area. If so, it would be a pleasure to have you come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york7
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful week at La Guillarmie and couldn’t fault a thing! The house is extremely well-equipped and the owners really have thought of everything....no sooner had we uttered the words “I wonder if there’s a....”, we always found it! We experienced extremely hot weather so the bedrooms were understandably very hot but downstairs was lovely and cool, and we spent lots of time cooling off in the pool, my 6 year old’s favourite thing about the whole holiday!

Lots to see and do within about half an hour of the house too, including Les Jardins de Marqueyssac (the net walkway through the trees was a real hit with the kids), Chateau de Castelnaud (my boys loved the weapon room!!!) and La Roque de Saint Christophe. Other than that, we loved popping into Campagne for an ice cream or to Le Bugue for a wander around.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us! I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you for the review! It's so nice to hear you've enjoyed staying at La Guillarmie and had what sounds like a wonderful holiday! Marqueyssac keeps getting better and better each year and the net walkway must be a new addition to these stunning gardens which are always well worth a visit. Each evening they also light the paths with thousands of tea lights and put on a huge variety of entertainment - musicians, stilt walkers, street theatre, arts and craft activities - all great fun. Wandering around Le Bugue is also one of our favourite things to do - we hope you caught the market! Great to hear the pool was also a big hit! You'd be very welcome to come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Third Visit Just As Perfect As The First”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Location, location, location - set in a private and secluded spot of a black oak forest, so peaceful and relaxing.

The barn is well equipped and maintained with the bonus of being very pretty. It is ideal for couples (like us) or families, with lots of space and a superb pool.

We enjoyed all the usual stuff, canoes, food, night markets, and particularly a walk through the woods to a view point above Campagne and the Chateau.

Being so close to the forest fox, badger, deer and stone martins can be seen most nights.

This is our third visit to the barn and we loved it just as much as previous visits. Thank you Alex and Ben and we will be in touch soon to book for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you for leaving another positive review and we're so happy to hear you've had another enjoyable holiday at La Guillarmie. There is a magic hour in the Dordogne as the sun sets and the shadows lengthen, when the heat of the day subsides and everything is wonderfully calm. This is the perfect time to sit outside on the lawn with an aperitif and enjoy nature at its best, although you seem to see more of it than we do...probably because our children are noisy and scare the wildlife away! Thank you also for leaving the barn so beautifully tidy which is really very helpful! We're looking forward to you returning again next year - as ever, you will be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueNick16
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a stunning location with a lovely property and pool and lots of quant villages with markets to visit plus canoeing nearby. Everything was as described or better. The owner was really helpful when we had a 24 hour power cut in the region after a storm. Strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thank you for such a positive review! And for being so lovely and equally helpful in the aftermath of what turned out to be the Dordogne's worst storm for 30 years. Extremely unusual weather! Great to hear that you explored the local attractions. We do hope you come and stay again - you would be very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
1 review
“Beautiful, quite, secluded barn - with a pool.”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful family holiday. It was super hot during the week we were there and the kids loved the pool. The Barn is beautiful with everything you need and lots of space. It is so quiet, the silence in the evening (apart from the grasshoppers) was amazing. Lots and lots to do nearby, Chateau de Commarque is brilliant for young children, ours loved running around the ruins and playing the medieval games.
The only reason I have given 4 stars rather than 5 is that the bedrooms were very hot, but that was more a reflection of the outside temperature, I'm sure most of the time they are absolutely fine. We will definitely think about visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for the review which, as ever, is much appreciated. It has been many years since we last visited Chateau de Commarque and it sounds like nowadays it's much more of an interactive experience - good to know! Great to also hear the weather was super hot! Unfortunately, this can sometimes make the nights uncomfortable and we hope you found and used the electric fans in each bedroom. We have discussed sourcing portable air conditioners to help with the very hot periods, and further to your feedback, will continue to explore this. Please do come and stay again - we would be delighted to have you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing