We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week in La Guillarmie - would...”
other travellers have booked this property
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
View from the private pool, looking across the gardens. Fenced with lockable gate. The dining area - comfortably seats eight. WiFi and iPod dock.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
La Guillarmie viewed across part of the large secluded garden - family owned since 1986
View from the private pool, looking across the gardens. Fenced with lockable gate.
The dining area - comfortably seats eight. WiFi and iPod dock.
The kitchen - with microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, gas hob, electric fan oven.
The kitchen has a good range of tools to suit the adventurous chef, including local cookbooks.
Living room - with freeview TV (BBC, CBeebies etc), DVDs and wood burning stove for winter rentals.
Upstairs mezzanine landing, looking towards master bedroom. Lots of books for holiday reading!
Bedroom 1 - also has two stackable single beds used as a divan.
Bedroom 1. Fans available for both bedrooms for when the weather is very warm.
Bedroom 2 - the barn also has two travel cots.
Downstairs bathroom - the barn has two modern bathrooms with shower, basin, toilet.
Le Bugue market - every Tuesday and Saturday. Wonderful world-famous regional food and wine!
The beautiful Dordogne valley from Chateau de Beynac, one of many local chateaux. Worth a visit!
Canoeing on the Dordogne  - a cheap, relaxing and child-friendly day out.
Floating downstream past La Roque-Gageac - voted one of France's most beautiful villages.
Proumeyssac, one of the numerous local caves. Quite breathtaking on entry!
Castelnaud - local chateau with lots of activities for children and adults alike. Good restaurants.
Marqueyssac - stunning local gardens with lots of shade. Very accessible (pushchairs etc).
A frieze of bison - some of the prehistoric cave paintings found locally at Font de Gaume.
Garden furniture and BBQ, perfect for al-fresco dining.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_gail_cou...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week in La Guillarmie - would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at La Guillarmie towards the end of July and thoroughly enjoyed our week there - we would not hesitate to recommend it.

The gite was absolutely charming, in a secluded and peaceful setting with some lovely woodland walks on the doorstep (early evening best for deer spotting!) A fantastic retreat, very well equipped inside, super swimming pool and a lovely shady garden in which to enjoy a leisurely lunch and make the most of the beautiful Dordogne sunshine. A decent barbecue, table tennis and a huge selection of board games (Monopoly Paris version - brilliant!) meant we didn't need to go far to enjoy a totally chilled-out week.

At the same time, we found that the gite is ideally situated for the huge variety of attractions and visits on offer in this fascinating part of France. Our favourites were canoeing (taking the scenic route past the magnificent chateaux of Castelnaud and Baynac and the very pretty town of Roque Gageac - great fun); a visit to nearby Font de Gaume to see amazing pre-historic cave paintings; morning market in Le Bugue and a magical candlelit evening walk in the Jardins de Marqueyssac.

All in all a really excellent week - thank you so much. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful and relaxing setting, close to all the best attractions and amazing pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. We're really pleased to hear that you discovered and set up the table tennis - thank you! It has remained set up since then and when we visited last week, we really enjoyed rediscovering our long-lost skills! Regarding the canoeing, there are so many companies operating on different stretches of the river, but the route you opted for is, without doubt, by far the most scenic and enjoyable one. You certainly ticked all the boxes in terms of seeing the local sites and it sounds like you had a great holiday. Please do come and stay again - you would be very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing (mosquito's had be locked out at night though)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for such a positive review - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Guillarmie! We're very fortunate that our neighbours are so lovely and it's nice to hear you met them. They can be very helpful in terms of offering useful local knowledge! The people who help us manage changeovers also commented that the barn was left extremely tidy. Thank you for this - it makes the process of changeover much easier. You would be very, very welcome to come and stay again and we look forward to seeing what wildlife you spot on your next visit. A polecat is a new one for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristina...
2 reviews
“Lovely peaceful holiday in beautiful location with plenty to do.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The barn is in a rural location; very peaceful. We particularly enjoyed star gazing at night while the bats flitted about. The accommodation is comfortable and well equipped and the information supplied is very useful. The pool is a real bonus as is being able to watch UK TV. We enjoyed a couple of meals out in Les Eyzies. There are numerous chateaux to see in the area although it is worth getting out and about early ish to avoid the crowds in August. We also enjoyed seeing the troglodyte settlements, Bastide towns and also had a go at canoeing. We were sad that our week flew by so quickly. Thanks for a great holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for such a positive review - we're pleased to hear that the information we provide is useful and that La Guillarmie met your needs in terms of being well equipped and comfortable. We hope to have you stay again on a return visit to the area. The advice you offer about getting out and about early to avoid the crowds when sightseeing is advice worth taking note of, particularly when visiting during late July / August. This also means you get to avoid the hottest part of the day, which is best reserved for spending time in the pool!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooty2
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful barn in secluded location but very close to all the Dordogne sights”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A wonderful barn in a first class location. We really couldn't think of anything more we could want. Beautiful barn conversion, all the facilities you'd expect; brilliant swimming pool; secluded location so you can escape all the tourists, yet bang in the middle of the best part of the Dordogne/Vezere valleys to visit the touristy things without driving more than 15-20 mins for most things - the river, canoeing, the castles, the caves, Le Bugue market and other night markets like St Cyprien and Audrix, etc, etc. Perfect for families. And close to Bergerac airport too. What more could you want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded location yet in the heart of the Dordogne
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for the feedback - it's lovely to hear that the barn offered all you needed and that your family enjoyed their stay. The local markets, including the wonderfully enchanting night markets, offer a fantastic opportunity to buy some of the delicious local food and wine. Great to hear you experienced this!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
1 review
“Beautifully located gite with stunning pool.”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved the gite. the location was private with lots of walks on your doorstep.
The downstairs was always cool and had plenty of space. The upstairs was very hot at times, but the fans helped. Personally I could have done with a much thinner duvet on the double bed. The bathrooms were well appointed and it was nice to have a TV and wifi.
The pool was glorious, and a wonderful refuge on boiling hot days. We all swam about 3 to 4 times a day.
The kitchen was well equipped and useful to have the dishwasher, although we didn't need to use it. The washing machine flummoxed us at first, but Alex was very quick to respond and informed us that the knob needed to be pulled out. Something I had never encountered before!
The rooms could have done with a more thorough hoover (into the corners and under furniture), but we weren't really bothered, although this could have been a problem for asthmatics. Alex tells me this is in hand and shouldn't be a problem in future.
Overall, a fantastic gite and a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool.
Liked least: The heat upstairs.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at La Guillarmie, with what sounds like some exceptionally hot weather. Great to hear you made full use of the pool! The suggestion you make about thinner duvets is very helpful and we have now purchased these. Thank you for the feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing