We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, peaceful location - total relaxation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La fermette

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
sitting room
kitchen
main floor kitchen
bedroom 1 main floor
bedroom 1 main floor
main floor bathroom with large shower area fits 2 people
main floor bathroom shower pic 2
room#2 double second floor
bedroom 2 second floor
bedroom 3 second floor
upstairs bathroom bathtub
upstairs bathroom pic 2
upstairs bathroom pic 3
our little pond with fish
pond interior courtyard
outbuilding interior courtyard
terrace 2 north facing interior courtyard
terrace 2 north facing interior courtyard
terrace 2 north facing interior courtyard
pool area patio with outbuilding unused
pool area patio
above ground pool 5 m and 1m20 deep
view from pool
barn and pool terrace
land
source at the end of property
back trail leading to the source
source lavoire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
idolexplo...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful location - total relaxation!”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 2 weeks staying at Le Fermette.
The location is perfect if you like staying in quiet locations, but with the local market town just 5-10 minutes away by car. It is set well back from a no through road, so virtually no traffic to be heard.
We all enjoyed the small, but very clean pool, perfect for sitting on our lilo reading a book in the sun, we were lucky to have good enough weather to use it everyday and it was kept clean throughout our stay. There was also a huge trampoline, which provided much entertainment. The house is on about 1-2 acres of land so plenty of room to play ball and for the kids to run around and have a sense of freedom. Lovely BBQ area, which we took full advantage of.
We loved the chickens and were lucky enough to have fresh eggs everyday - which to us was a real bonus and a great education for the children.

With the house having 3 bedrooms, it definitely felt very large and a real feeling of space. It was very clean and had everything we needed to cook with. We had an initial hiccup with the Wifi, but Elisya had it all sorted out very quickly and it worked quicker than our wifi at home!

The market town of Le Bugue was 10 minutes drive, which has a market, supermarket, mini golf and tourist office. So many attractions to visit, such as Domme, Les Eyzies and La Roque-Gageac , all 15-30 minutes away, so easy to get to. Would highly recommend hiring canoes for the day at La Roque-Gageac and spending the day floating down the river.

This was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in years!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious, relaxing, quiet and a hidden gem in Le Muscle - simply beautiful.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from this amazing rental property having spent two glorious relaxing weeks vacation here. As we drove down the long driveway we were greeted by the lovely and friendly Elisya who made us feel very welcomed into her home. There are two properties, Elisya lives in one (but she did not stay here whilst we were there) and we were in the other property.

The first thing that struck me about this property was just how much space there was. I ran around the front garden, which was a quarter of a mile just to give you an idea of how much space there is.

There were three areas in which you could sit and relax. One was in the front area which was great for sunbathing, reading a book and you could keep an eye on children playing. The second was by the pool area. The pool was clean and is about chest deep and about 10 x 10 feet. It was plenty big enough to either splash around in or float on a big rubber tyre to read a book (which was done on a daily basis) and it had a great view of the Dordogne valley as we were up on a hill. The third area was out the back of our property and had a very comfortable seating area which was covered over to get out of the sun which offered great shade and was situated by the outdoor BBQ area. Being up on the hill also gave so much more light in the evenings so we tended to sit outside just relaxing in the evenings.

There seemed to always be something new to discover. There are two lovely cats on site which my daughter loved. There is a rabbit, some fish and two chickens as well. My daughter just loved feeding the chickens and then going in to pick up the freshly laid eggs (on average 2 a day). We also saw a couple of deer which were sitting in the shade just a little way down the garden.

We were allowed to eat the plums from the plum tree and the grapes from the vines that were growing around the premises, just delicious and sweet.

As a keen runner, I really enjoyed the location of the premises which gave me a chance to explore the area on a fairly undulating course but so enjoyable running through country lanes, discovering the area and seeing all the beautiful houses that were around.

The property itself had all the amenities that you would need and it was very well kitted out for all your home comforts. There was a large kitchen/diner, a large bedroom, a WC and a separate wet room - shower downstairs which all felt very homely in its décor style. Upstairs there were two large bedrooms - one had a double bed and the other two single beds, a separate WC and a bathroom and again all very spacious and décor lovely.

The property was in a great location and as we had a car found that all the places that we wanted to visit and see were no more than 30 to 40 minutes (max) and many more closer than this.

I can't remember the last time I have felt so relaxed on a holiday. it all seemed so tranquil and restful/peaceful and just listening to the countryside sounds just felt special. if you had a dog then this would be a dogs dream place for sure.

The online photos do NOT do this place justice. I could go on and on about this place but really, you can't go wrong in staying in this most wonderful place and I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of staying here. It really does have everything that you could possibly need and more. This was an extremely child friendly place and plenty of room for a family to stay.

They say there is no place like home but this comes as close as it can to being just that. Thank you Elisya for letting us stay in this most amazing property of yours, it was a fantastic vacation for the whole family and I can honestly say that I feel like I've had just the best holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawsonRes
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Le Bugue - Tranquil, cosy and close to good restaurants!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The gite was spotlessly clean and quaint and with all the mod cons. WiFi not good but if you want to get away......
The dog accompanied us on walks and the deer made a regular appearance in the early morning and late evenings.
About 50 minutes from the airport and within 1 hour of large towns and tourist places. The prehistoric caves and museums are within 20-30 minutes and are all around.
Great place to stay, lovely people and beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perigord Noir
Liked least: 43DegC so a bit too hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely place in a tiny hamlet. Excellent accomodation in an excellent position to see local sites. Friendly dog and cats on site plus chickens. Be aware to take supplies as shops open on sunday are few and close midday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite, once there were low flying fighter planes.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMG223
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a fabulous house in a quiet, peaceful setting & near to some fantastic sites”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at La Fermette (with our children aged 10 and 12) and were made to feel very welcome. The house is extremely spacious and comfortable; the numerous outdoor areas meant we happily spent many hours relaxing at the house (enjoying the plunge pool amongst other things!). The local area has a plentitude of possible activities and excursions - canoeing, visiting caves, shopping at the local market, and visiting the nearby aqua park were some of the things we enjoyed. We hope to return to La Fermette again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the different outdoor spaces
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing