We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for mini-break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Pommeraie
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at the Abbaye for one night only, but thoroughly enjoyed the pre-Christmas atmosphere at the hotel. Since we wanted to avoid the hustle and bustle of Strasbourg and Colmar - which boasts one of the most romantic and quaint Christmas markets - we decided to stay in Sélestat, a choice we didn't regret. While the breakfast buffet and the staff attending to it did not quite compare to other Relais & Chateaux hotels, the 'restaurant gastronomique' clearly surpassed our expectations. The dinner was heavenly, the staff flawless. They made us feel at ease every minute even if we clearly did not belong to the set of regulars present that night. A fantastic gourmet experience, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie de la Pommeraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

A rare treat of an inn! Large, extremely quiet rooms, comfortable beds, great food, and exquisite service make this a property I would recommend unequivocally. The innkeepers took pains to ensure that our stay was relaxing and pleasant in all respects. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. Unlike many Relais Chateau hotels the Abbaye was not stuffy and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is a family business and the owner was very much 'hands on'.

We ate in the dining room each night and the meals were superb - a real delight.

We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We spent a few days at La Pommeraie last november. I chose it because of its position, in fact from Selestat it's easy to drive up to Strasbourg (wonderful city) and around the other alsatian towns. The hotel itself was a nice surprise, with a warm and comfortable feel. We had a nice and quiet room, even if it wasn't huge, on the top floor.
We had dinner at the Apfelstuebel once, and that's the only thing we could have avoided (too sophisticated for me, since I was looking for real local food).
Very good service.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

After a three night stay, we felt that this Relais et Chateaux property is best suited to a one night visit that includes dinner at their Michelin-ranked restaurant, Le Prieure. Although the hotel is charming, its surroundings are not. Anonymous apartment buildings share its tree-lined street and the historic center, on whose edge the Abbaye rests, cannot compete with the storybook quaintness of Colmar or Riquewir. The roads around Selestat are lined with auto shops, office buildings and other workaday structures and the few historic buildings in the core are only mildly interesting. For history buffs, there is the attraction of the city’s incredible humanist library.

Our room, Number 102, overlooked the rear service drive and courtyard and had a very large living area and a raised floor alcove with king-sized bed. The suite’s only toilet was in a closet next to the alcove and featured an old, outswinging door that wanted to pop open if not securely latched. An adjacent “salon” had the room’s one television, a stocked mini-fridge and a pull-out sofa bed. The bathroom with double sinks, tub and separate shower was generally well-lit, but the sink area was served by a couple of halogen lights high in the ceiling that left one’s face in deep shadow; shaving or applying makeup was a challenge. There was a magnifying mirror attached to an adjacent wall, but the internal bulb was burned out and the unit fixed too low for a taller person. There were no full-length mirrors. Although there was more than enough space to spread out, the main room had an odd assortment of furniture that left acres of open floor space. The one desk did not have a lamp and the primary illumination from the central chandelier meant that you could not help but cast a shadow onto whatever was in front of you. Reading a book or map was not easy unless you were in the middle of the room. An ugly and noisy free-standing air conditioning unit whose exhaust hose was fed out of an open window supplied generous amounts of cool air. Note that the attached picture makes the room look more polished than it felt.

At this point in our trip, we had hoped to send out some laundry. The Abbaye, catering primarily to one-night gourmets, did not provide standard hotel laundry service. Indeed, the front desk seemed hesitant to promise the return of our clothes within the 2 days before we left. “I hope,” was the tentative response. We had to provide our own laundry sack and crossed our fingers. The clothes were returned at the end of the second day.

The atmosphere here is decidedly formal, especially in the evening when the staff, dressed in dinner jackets, waited en masse for the arrival of that night’s diners. Service is equally formal in the small L’Apfelsteubel room which looks out onto the front garden. There was a reserved hush throughout each meal relieved only slightly by piped-in classical music.

The Abbaye offers marvelous food, a centrally convenient location and a postcard perfect timber clad, geranium covered architecture in which to sleep. However, we felt that for a longer stay in Alsace it would be preferable to find lodgings in one of the truly quaint villages where, after 6pm, the tour buses have left and the region’s famous fairytale qualities can be experienced in tranquil solitude.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank familytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selestat
3.5 km away
Les Pres d'Ondine
Les Pres d'Ondine
#1 of 2 in Baldenheim
157 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Budget Selestat
Ibis Budget Selestat
#2 of 8 in Selestat
343 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vaillant
Hotel Vaillant
#3 of 8 in Selestat
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,170 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Majuscule
Hotel Majuscule
#6 of 8 in Selestat
172 reviews
24.7 km away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Pommeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Pommeraie

Address: 8 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 67600, Selestat, France (Formerly Abbaye de la Pommeraie)
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Selestat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
Price Range: $202 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de la Pommeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hostellerie de la Pommeraie, the old ownership of the Abbey of Baumgarten, is a beautiful example of Renaissance architecture of the city of Sélestat. Of the Middle Ages until the 19th, the latter prospers thanks to its garrison and to its intellectual brilliance within the Germanic then French Empire. Today, the Hotel situated in the city center is in a few minutes on foot of the Humanist Library, a monument which benefits from an international reputation. It is also the starting point of numerous organised trips in Alsace and on the wine trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hostellerie de la Pommeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing