We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel and great food”
Review of Auberge d'Illwald

Auberge d'Illwald
Ranked #12 of 82 Restaurants in Selestat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: nstallez-vous à la table de notre auberge, reliée à l’hôtel par une cour verdoyante. Dans un décor traditionnel de boiseries associées à des fresques peintes, vous dégusterez une cuisine gourmande et authentique dans une ambiance conviviale « comme à la maison ». Concoctée à base de produits frais bio et locaux, notre carte se renouvelle au fil des saisons.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We are three retired friends spending every year
a 2 nights stay in Alsace .On 26th July 2018 we stayed in this beautiful domain. All our rooms were
Air contitioned, comfortably furnished and
had spacious bathrooms.( 3 categories of rooms: standard100 Euros,Elegance 120E and Luxe 160 E).Rooms towards the back
of the building are very quiet,one of us had a less
peaceful sleep due to a noisy street in front of the building. Beautiful garden with swimming pool in the back.Very friendly reception.Excellent cuisine with
efficient service and rather low prices.Good and
extensive wine list. Hotel is located 8 km or 5 miles
from Selestat,City worthwhile visiting with nice
Shopping center,a Cathedral with very old stained
glass windows,restaurants with terraces.Although the Hotel is located on the outskirts of the route
du vin,it has the advantage to be located within
a vast area of woods under environmental protection.

Thank MARC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Propriétaire at Auberge d'Illwald, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear guests.
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your nice comments. We remain at your disposal to fully satisfy you on a next stay. It will be a pleasure.
Yours sincerely.
Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

Great food and wines at a lovely venue. Offering classical but not too classical alsace kitchen to a modest price with a great wine list. Also nice and flexible for kids that does not eat a 3 course menu. All in all a great evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Propriétaire at Auberge d'Illwald, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear guest.
Thank you very much for your nice comments that we read always with great attention. We are pleased that you have been seduced by our establishment. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again in our region.
Yours sincerely.
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The perfection of Auberge d'Ill is the result of loving attention to the smallest details both in the restaurant and the residence.
The mission of the entire staff is the satisfaction of their guests. Their knowledge and expertise is impressive and equally impressive is their genuine desire to discover an answer rather than pretending to know something.
This is definitely a family enterprise that has succeeded in extending it's dedication to hospitality and excellence through three generations.
Guest are made to feel like privileged members of that extended family. This doesn't happen by accident and was a joy to experience.

1  Thank ParisMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This hotel is quaint, almost medieval with its timber doors and walls, dark corridors and painted timber ceilings whilst being a modern hotel. The rooms are simply furnished, spacious and well appointed.
The Restaurant is something else! The service and food are delightful. The chef is a gem, his food is not only tasty, varied and of good portion it is also beautifully presented. When the restaurant fills with locals it is testimony to a good chef and good service. Both are very evident here. The young waitress was buzzing around very efficiently serving meals and ensuring everyone was properly looked after. Service from the kitchen was amazingly speedy with no compromise on standard. We had the Sauerkraut main corse which was absolutely delicious and the Mille Feuille was the best dessert ever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flipper_3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely building with interesting wall designs. We were made to feel very welcome. A good varied menu, catering for all tastes. We all had something different and everything was absolutely perfect. There was also a good selection of desserts.
A large selection of wine reasonably priced.
One the best restaurants I have been to in France.
Very modern toilets.

Thank bikerchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge d'Illwald also viewed

 
Selestat, Bas-Rhin
 
Selestat, Bas-Rhin
Selestat, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Auberge d'Illwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing