We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colroy la Roche
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my parents for just one night (unfortunately). Everything about this hotel was perfect - the location, the rooms, the food, the spa etc. However, it was the quality of the staff that really blew us away - the perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness. I would not hesitate is recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    436
    130
    34
    13
See reviews for
139
1,570
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The grounds and access are gorgeous. Our room had a lovely balcony and was well laid out. But no bath only a shower.
Staff were exceptionally helpful in every regard. The real negative was the pool which was tiny and very crowded. There is no separate spa (just massage rooms) and the sauna is next to the pool.
Restaurant had short but interesting menu, however was expensive and the service was overly slow (not enough servers).
Fine for a one night visit but nothing (other than the very good staff including the charming Sebastien) that would make us rush back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanrenegrau, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
We have well received your remarks & comments and we thank you very much for it.

We do have rooms with shower or bathtub in the bath room, we invite our guests to let us know if they have any preferences.

We are also sorry to hear that the service in the restaurant for your diner was quite slow,
The reason was that one of our employee was on a last minute sick leave and had nobody at this time to replace him, but it is not an excuse.

Regarding your concern about our pool, sauna and Jacuzzi, we are building a 1500 m² brand new Spa opening by the end 2012.

We will forward your kindly words to our team and we hope to welcome you again at “La Cheneaudière”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Excellent traditional country hotel with good food and a traditional style matching the surroundings. Friendly, welcoming service. Some shortcomings in maintenance, such as broken fixtures and grimey pool loungers in dire need of a good scrub. Restaurant service tries hard but is not on the same level as the very good food, which is probably the only reason separating the place from a Michelin star. Overall very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leiria,portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

One of the best hotels I have stayed!!!
Apart from the beauty of the place, the personall service is remarcable!!!
Don´t miss it!!
Jorge and Paula, from Portugal

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofaria1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanrenegrau, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Your comments & remarks touch us very deeply, this our best reward.
Thank you so much and we really do hope to see you again at “La Cheneaudière”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here for one night with another couple whilst driving through Europe. Reception was excellent and effortless and we were shown straight to our rooms on the ground floor of the extension, overlooking the herb garden and a view of rolling hills and forest. The rooms were very nice and light each with their own balcony and were well equipped as were the shower rooms.
We went for the inclusive half board deal which gave a 5 course dinner with a half bottle of wine per head included in the deal. The food was excellent if not outstanding and the Alsace wines of very good quality and a real treat. The next morning after a short walk to raise an appetite, we had a very good breakfast with a wide choice of delicious things to eat and drink - even "Crement d'Alsace" if you could face it at breakfast in Bucks Fizz.
Sadly we had to get on our way so didn't get a chance to try the very nice looking pool and spa or go for more adventurous walks in the area. I think it would make the most splendid base for a few days walking and exploring the Alsace area - if the waist line could take it.
The staff were charming and helpful - one tiny criticism was that there could have been more staff on duty at dinner but we weren't in any hurry to go anywhere anyway!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George-the-Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colroy la Roche
19.1 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
25.8 km away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,045 reviews
22.6 km away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
7.3 km away
Hotel Neuhauser
Hotel Neuhauser
#1 of 2 in Schirmeck
96 reviews
20.0 km away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 3 rue du Vieux Moulin, 67420 Colroy la Roche, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Colroy la Roche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colroy la Roche
Price range (per night): $299 - $835
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the respect of family traditions, Mireille FRANCOIS and her son Nicolas DECKER are your hosts today. This 38-room charming house, located between Strasbourg and Colmar, welcomes you warmly for a peaceful and gourmet stay, true to the spirit of the Relais & Chateaux. Enjoy our fine-dining, innovative yet generous cuisine... La Cheneaudiere also features a 2,000 sq. m. SPA featuring state of the art facilities such as 3 pools, 4 saunas, 1 beehive steam room, a wood-bath, a micro-bubbling beach, a sensory shower walk... Discover the unique ambiance surrounding you: water, air, light ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Otel, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais And Chateaux
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Colroy La Roche
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere Colroy Roche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing