We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Irish Pub”
Review of The Celt Irish Pub

The Celt Irish Pub
Ranked #17 of 340 Restaurants in McKinney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Authentic Irish Pub offering a full menu of Irish and Scottish and American menu items. Huge selection of Irish Whiskeys, Scotch and Texas Whiskeys. Large beer selection. Live music 5-6 times each week including two weekly traditional Irish sessions. Pub Poll and Live Trivia played weekly.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Downtown McKinney is a must see for anyone visiting the area. The Celt is a great classic Irish pub, good drinks, good food and the service is usually top notch, but go upstairs. The Upstairs is my favorite: play darts, pool, sit at the bar, by fireplace or get a table and enjoy a good meal. Downtown has a lot of good restaurants, The Celt is my favorite, it's a fun place!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeedaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan P, Owner at The Celt Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so very much for the kind words. So glad that you enjoyed The Celt and downtown McKinney. Hope to see you soon. Slainte. Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

We ate at the Celt on a Friday about 7:30 pm. Got a couple of the last tables upstairs available for a group of seven. I ordered the fish and chips. The fish was good, had a light crispy batter. The chips were just French fries. The Irish band was good and we sat and listened awhile after we ate.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan P, Owner at The Celt Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for the very kind review. Hope to see you soon. Cheers. Stan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My daughter’s birthday falls on St. Patrick’s Day and this year she turned 21. We went to The Celt and had a fabulous time. Yes, we had to wait for a table and wait a while for the food, but it’s St. Patrick’s Day! When it arrived (with huge smiles and great humor from a superb server) the food was excellent. We shared Shepherd’s Pie, Dublin Coddle, and Guinness Beef and Mushroom Pie. On this special occasion the entire crowd was part of the superb experience and the live music made the whole package perfect. A great way to be Irish.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank eimimathetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan P, Owner at The Celt Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for the kind comments and so glad you enjoyed St. Patrick’s Day with The Celt. Safe travels and see you soon. Stan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We met friends for light dinner, one of British heritage. Only half the pub was open and VERY busy. One server volunteered to seat us in a lower section to allow us to visit. The food was very authentic and good. We had the fish & chips while she had cabbage & ???. All loved it. The “stout” was a pleasant change, only one of several beers on draft. The live music drifted down creating a wonderful background. We ended with a “sticky pudding”, code for sinful. A must for each visit to the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MiltonJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan P, Owner at The Celt Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you! Very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to The Celt. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Hubby and I went in tonight after an absence of almost a year. My how things have changed! Drinks were awesome, but the food wasn't. I ordered the Shepherd's Pie, and it was a bowl of chili with mashed potatoes and cheese on top and some pieces of flavorless toasted bread on the side. Hubby ordered the Dublin Coddle which he has had before. It is a casserole and this time it was mostly potatoes and more runny like a stew, and the cabbage was still pretty crunchy.
The sticky toffee pudding is one of my all time favorite desserts and in the past we would never leave without sharing it. This time the bread was swimming in toffee soup. When we poured the cream over it , there was just more soup! The bread part of it was almost too dense to chew and we left without finishing. It was beyond disappointing that one of our favorite authentic places for date night, has changed so much. My last review of The Celt was 5 stars this clearly is not. BTW The girl who served us was friendly, and sweet. No complaints about the service.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katestrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan P, Owner at The Celt Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

So very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at The Celt. Please accept our apologies and be certain that we are already assessing this issue and will be taking corrective measures. This isn’t like us. Very disappointed to hear that you won’t be back. We hope that isn’t the case. If so then we truly wish you happy dining experiences. Thanks for the past support and hoping you’ll change your mind and give us another chance. Stan. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Celt Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Celt Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing