We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, an enjoyable experience.”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #13 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. We were on the Concierge Level, which was great. The bed was very comfortable and the twice daily housekeeping/turndown service was excellent. The room was a bit on the small side, as was the bathroom as other reviewers have commented on, but it wasn't a problem.

What was a problem, was the number of unsupervised children being disruptive during our stay. Children would run up and down the halls yelling, the "adult"/garden pool was overwrought with noisy children and even the Concierge Suite was full of children. At one point, during the afternoon hors d'oeuvres, a child, unsupervised by a parent, went up to the veggie tray and proceeded to cough DIRECTLY on all of the food! It was vile. One evening, a group of children had gathered in the hallway right outside our room and were literally yelling and screaming at each other. My husband had to step outside to ask them to keep their voices down. I assumed that at this price point, we would have avoided these sort of experiences, despite the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 551 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I visited the Houstonian this past Labor Day weekend. We very much enjoyed our stay in the hotel and use of the amenities (Pools/Gym). My wife found the room to be cozy and comfortable. The rooms are kept very clean and the staff comes through twice daily, with an evening turn down service.
The location was also perfect for our trip to Houston. The Galleria was only a mile away and access to the paths at memorial park was right up the street.
Overall, I would recommend this to anyone traveling for both business or pleasure. I think families would really enjoy taking advantage of the 3 pools and water slide.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agreen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Agreen23, Thank you for your recommendation of The Houstonian. I am pleased you enjoyed the pools, Club and nightly turn down service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

If your looking for a quick get away, pampering and exercise included then this is the place. Don't let the location fool you, stuffy and pretentious are not their style. The staff make you feel at home. Start with a massage at Trellis, ask for a recommendation, not all massuses are alike. Have lunch at Olivette, the Tres Leches or Chocolate lava desserts are decadent. Pair with any alchohol infused coffee beverage. Relax in The Bar, order a drink, dessert and read your book, that's right a bar so quiet you can read there! When your traveling solo this is a plus. Take a walk early morning on the outdoor track. Then take a yoga class with their exceptional instructors. The Tension Body wrap is a great way to end the stay. Room service was prompt and food was good. Four rating instead of five was only because the bed sheets were not soft and a former military must have made the bed, and the rug in the room was dated. But minor details! I live in Houston, wanted a getaway weekend that was not pricey or awkard for being solo, but polished! Got it!

Room Tip: The rate was excellent because the room was small and only deserving of that rate so I was glad I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria5107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear maria5107, I am pleased you enjoyed Trellis, Olivette and The Bar and found the staff to be welcoming during your visit. Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Houstonian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife, two kids (2 and 4 yrs old), and I spent the week here as evacuees from Isaac. For a large facility it has a surprisingly intimate, personal feel. Like a club. Definitely worth the extra for the concierge level. My wife loved the spa, the gym is great, the kids liked the waterside at one of the three pools. Grounds are immaculate. And though it's centrally located in Houston, the property is quiet and unhurried. Service was excellent. We have no complaints. This is what a 5 diamond hotel should be.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Patrick H, I am happy to know we could accommodate your family during the storm. I hope you returned home to minimal damage. We look forward to seeing your family again soon under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is also a private club for Houston's elite which is great because otherwise it would be difficult to maintain such a massive property in this area of Houston. The gym is gigantic and has everything you could want including a jogging trail through the grounds. There are 3 pools..olympic size, resort style with slide and standard hotel type pool. The grounds are well maintained as are the rooms and interior. The walkways between all the buildings are old and wood and some show their age but I would bet most people don't even notice. The location is also impressive. You are possibly 10 minutes from the galleria and even closer to Uptown Park. If you have the opportunity to stay here, I would certainly do so.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Houstonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear SouthernSass, Thank you for your comments regarding the Houstonian property. The hotel offers experiences unmatched in any other Houston hotel by providing guests an urban retreat of 18 acres with towering pines and majestic oaks, while also providing access to the member-only Houstonian Club, one of the country’s top fitness clubs. I am pleased you enjoyed the many services available to hotel guests and found our location to be ideal. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 517 in Houston
814 reviews
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 517 in Houston
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Houston

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $227 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston
The Houstonian Houston, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing