We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here for crab!”

Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 9,037 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: In between Sage and Yorktown
Description: Discover Truluck’s. An escape for the senses, at sensible prices. Savor the freshest Florida Stone Crab direct from our own fisheries, and a fresh-catch seafood menu updated weekly by our chef. Along with tender, juicy steaks grilled to perfection, and over 100 wines by the sampling, glass, and bottle.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

The crab claws are flown in fresh and very good! The ambiance is nice and good service. Nice place for a special meal and if you like happy hours, also good

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Excellent crab - stone and dungeness. An array of sides to share that were good. Obnoxiously noisy, of course. Nice bar. Impossible to park so give up and use the valet.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barrett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is located a couple of blocks from the Galleria and offers a great variety of well prepared and fresh seafood dishes. While expensive, their signature dish - Stone Crab Claws - are delicious and fresh. Service is very good and I was very surprised by it. There is a full restaurant option and a bar section with live music which allows for the enjoyment of its great food in a less formal setting. Valet parking is available.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ecestafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Food was great. Our waiter was Rose who did a good job of suggesting wine and selling us on some great options. We never had stone crab she suggested a couple great options and it is hard to say no with the presentation they have with the displays.

I wasn't drinking but she brought me a sample of a delicious German wine that I wound up ordering. The only disappointment is we did opt to substitute our sides at $25 bucks a side for the crab mac n cheese and the lobster mashed potatoes. which were both disappointing. (could have bought more booze!) But to be fair we like our food with a Cajun flare and they were pretty bland for our taste.

In addition to the stone crab we stared with two crab cakes which were great! The complimentary Baked Alaska Flambe was a great touch and much appreciated. Again our waitress Rose was great and friendly. Will be back for all you can eat stone crab on Mondays!

As far as value for the money I don't even know anymore every where we go similar to this costs about the same. Either they're overpriced or my salary isn't keeping up with inflation! =^D

PS add some salt, pepper, paprika, and cayenne pepper to your sides! =)

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TOSHBLAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Located in the Galleria area off Westheimer, this is one of the top Houston restaurants.

A very large space, lots of tables that can still provide some privacy.

A classy restaurant, don’t show up in shorts or a t-shirt. I had a golf shirt on and felt somewhat under dressed.

Lots of comments about service in other posts, I found the service to be professional, friendly, helpful and on point.

The food is amazingly good, their specialty is stone crab.

I did not realize that the stone crab is actually an appetizer, it is so good, absolutely delicious. Served cold, with all the shells cracked, it’s so tasty, with large, generous pieces of crab.

Filet steak was on for the entree, perfectly prepared and presented. The steak was a great cut and they certainly deserve their reputation for steaks.

Dessert was layered ice cream, flambeed with a lemon crust, very cool when they flambé it in front of you.

Drinks are plentiful and varied, they have a fantastic wine selection.

Overall a very enjoyable evening, certainly not inexpensive, but one of the best restaurants in Houston.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank TheDude1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Truluck's Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing