We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
USD 120
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 138
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 135
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 187
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 166
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 178
USD 158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 152
USD 140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Whitehall Houston(Houston)
USD 161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,313)
Filter reviews
1,313 results
Traveller rating
803
331
98
42
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
331
98
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank buildingdowntown houstonvault doorjetted tubfront deskbeautiful hotelrain showerlarge showerthe penthousebars and restaurantsmetro raillight railroom servicecorner roommarriott propertyvalet parkingthe theater district
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,313 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed at the Icon for one night as we were transitioning out of the Houston area. The staff was excellent, the room super comfortable, roomy and lovely. We utilized room service for the evening, our order was delivered quickly and was hot and tasty. I would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again if the situation arises.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell R, Front Office Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Houston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I stayed overnight (just one night) at the ICON in downtown Houston. I was very pleased with the experience. The staff were very friendly. I loved the historical atmosphere and styling of the hotel and rooms. Our tub had jets and was just large enough to fit 2. The shower was spacious. The pillows were wonderfully soft, although the bed was much more firm than I prefer. The only drawback that I had was the level of noise from outside. There were a couple of festivals going on - the Palestinian Festival and the Art Festival. It could have been more noisy due to an elevated level of activity. However, I wish that there could have been something done to muffle that noise. I was on the 11th floor and it was difficult to sleep until the noise died down around 4 am. Our room did have one inner window that was missing the top piece. There were 2 layers of glass on the windows and the upper portion of one of the interior glass panes was missing. That could have been the reason that it was so noisy for us even on the 11th floor.

Room Tip: Check your inner panes of glass and make sure that they are both intact to ensure that the outside noise is muffled.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jenniferstell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell R, Front Office Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Houston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the hotel in room 808. We travel very often and had a wonderful experience at this hotel, specially made possible by the wonderful help of staff member Marianela Riesner at the front desk. All additional staff members were professional and helpful. Friendly people are our top priority when rating. Lovely room layout, lots of natural light and very comfortable as well! Thank you!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank VVC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell R, Front Office Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Houston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We're local residents, but we've stayed at the Icon a few times for events downtown. It's a lovely hotel, filled with old charm and a good amount of opulence. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right on Market Square and very close to a light rail stop.

The rooms tend to be pretty tight and often awkwardly laid out, but they are comfortable. The elevators are slow--very slow--but one manages.

The breakfast buffet is okay, but the omelettes are fantastic. Get an omelette!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Doak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell R, Front Office Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Houston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Great hotel. Rooms very large and decor really nice. Staff friendly with great happy hour with reasonable prices and free snacks. Had one evening meal which was lovely. Breakfast not so good food Luke warm.
Again handy location maybe a bit of care needed at night if venturing out.
Apart from that would recommend and stay again
Spent two further nights at the Whitehall hotel and it was not a patch on the icon

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank tesslewis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell R, Front Office Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept our apologies for the lukewarm food at breakfast, we have passed your comments to our food & beverage department to ensure this is corrected moving forward. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Houston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews